Wheelers Books

The Lost Night

The Lost Night

The feeling of dread when you can't remember what you did last night is taken a terrifying step further in this addictive thriller with a twist - for readers of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn. Edie was once the shining star in her 20-something circle in New York's coolest neighb... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781760851064
Barcode 9781760851064
Published 1 March 2019 by Simon & Schuster Australia
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Bartz, Andrea
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $35.00 Retail price
  • $27.30 Wheelers price
  • You save $7.70!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781760851064
ISBN-10 176085106X
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Simon & Schuster Australia
Imprint Simon & Schuster Australia
Publication Date 1 March 2019
Publication Country Australia Australia
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Bartz, Andrea
Category Modern Fiction
Australian
Number of Pages 320
Dimensions Width: 153mm
Height: 234mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 600g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code 967487

Description of this Book

The feeling of dread when you can't remember what you did last night is taken a terrifying step further in this addictive thriller with a twist - for readers of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn. Edie was once the shining star in her 20-something circle in New York's coolest neighborhood. Like Andy Warhol's muse, the seductive, beguiling and mercurial party girl had the social world in her thrall. Every girl wanted to be Edie, every boy wanted her, and she and her clique treated their slice of the city like a playground. When Edie committed suicide at the end of a long, drunken night, no one could quite believe it. An overwhelming mix of grief, shock and resentment drove each of her `devoted' friends into their own corner and, for years, that's where they stayed. Ten years later a chilling chance reunion forces Edie's best friend to wonder if there was more to her friend's death. Lindsay has come a long way from being Edie's chief acolyte in the drug-addled world of Calhoun Lofts and her troubled childhood. She carved out a career as a chief researcher on a cool magazine and has a carefully curated life. But when a deeply unsettling video from that wild and terrible, hazy night emerges she starts to wonder if Edie was actually murdered - and, worse, if she herself was involved. As Lindsay turns detective on her own life, using her expertise as a fact checker to rifle relentlessly through those wild months-combing through case files, unlocking old technology, revisiting memories her friends would rather forget and interrogating her own fractured memory-she is forced to confront the demons of her past. In a shocking twist, the truth emerges of what really happened that night ... ADVANCE PRAISE FOR THE LOST NIGHT: `Andrea Bartz casts a nostalgic, misty haze over this story about a meticulous-minded woman playing detective with her own life. If you've ever woken up unsure of what happened the night before and then proceeded to do it again...oh my, this is your book.' Caroline Kepnes, bestselling author of You and Providence `Bartz has crafted a terrifying and delicious narrative in the vein of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins. A compulsively readable journey into the dark corners of memory.' Jo Piazza, bestselling coauthor of The Knockoff `Exciting, gripping, disquieting-The Lost Night is more than a thriller. It's a magnificent examination of the dark corners of our souls. Andrea Bartz has written this season's must-read novel.'Rene Denfeld, bestselling author of The Child Finder `This suspenseful, twisty thriller is the perfect book if you're in the midst of your invincible twenties, or if you've ever looked back on that ephemeral time in your life and thought, how in the world did I live to tell the tale?' Camille Perri, author of The Assistants and When Katie Met Cassidy If The Girl on the Train had been a Brooklyn party kid, she'd feel right at home in The Lost Night: A juicy thriller wrapped up in a vivid nostalgia trip. -Janelle Brown, bestselling author of Watch Me Disappear `I loved this very cool thriller that puts you bang in the middle of New York's hippest crowd. The damaged narrator will keep you second-guessing all the way. I read it in two days!' CJ Tudor, author of The Chalk Man and The Hiding Place

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review `This suspenseful, twisty thriller is the perfect book if you're in the midst of your invincible twenties, or if you've ever looked back on that ephemeral time in your life and thought, How in the world did I live to tell the tale?' -- Camille Perri, author of The Assistants and When Katie Met Cassidy `I loved this very cool thriller that puts you bang in the middle of New York's hippest crowd. The damaged narrator will keep you second-guessing all the way. I read it in two days!' -- C.J .Tudor, author of The Chalk Man and The Hiding Place `Exciting, gripping, disquieting-The Lost Night is more than a thriller. It's a magnificent examination of the dark corners of our souls. Andrea Bartz has written this season's must-read novel.' -- Rene Denfeld, bestselling author of The Child Finder 'If The Girl on the Train had been a Brooklyn party kid, she'd feel right at home in The Lost Night: A juicy thriller wrapped up in a vivid nostalgia trip' -- Janelle Brown, bestselling author of Watch Me Disappear `Bartz has crafted a terrifying and delicious narrative in the vein of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins. A compulsively readable journey into the dark corners of memory.' -- Jo Piazza, bestselling coauthor of The Knockoff 'Andrea Bartz casts a nostalgic, misty haze over this story about a meticulous-minded woman playing detective with her own life. If you've ever woken up unsure of what happened the night before and then proceeded to do it again...oh my, this is your book.' -- Caroline Kepnes, bestselling author of YOU and PROVIDENCE

^ top

Author's Bio

There is no author biography for this title.

^ top