Wheelers Books
Islands
 

Islands (Paperback)

By Frew, Peggy

  • RRP: $22.99
  • $17.24
  • Save $5.75
  • Pub Date
    2 Jul 50

There was a house on a hill in the city and it was full of us, our family, but then it began to empty. We fell out. We made a mess. We draped ourselves in blame and disappointment and lurched around, bumping into each other. Some of us wailed and shouted; some of us barely made a... sound. None of us was listening, or paying attention. And in the middle of it all you, very quietly, were gone. Helen and John are too preoccupied with making a mess of their marriage to notice the quiet ways in which their daughters are suffering. Junie grows up brittle and defensive, Anna difficult and rebellious. When fifteen-year-old Anna fails to come home one night, her mother's not too worried; Anna's taken off before but always returned. Helen waits three days to report her disappearance. But this time Anna doesn't come back ... A spellbinding novel in the tradition of Helen Garner, Charlotte Wood and Georgia Blain, Islands is a riveting and brilliant portrait of a family in crisis by the breathtakingly talented author of House of Sticks and Hope Farm. 'Peggy Frew is an amazing writer...Elegant, tender and very wise.' Chris Womersley, author of Bereft on Hope Farm 'Peggy Frew's novel, Hope Farm, tells an original tale, drawing into the body of Australian literary fiction, a world between the cracks. Peggy's voice is contemporary, her observations sharp and sensitive. Hope Farm describes the cycle of loss and damage when there are no boundaries to protect us.' Sofie Laguna, author of The Eye of the Sheep, 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award winner 'Brilliant. Peggy Frew is a superb writer, and this is a remarkably confident debut.' Clare Bowditch on House of Sticks
Read more

ISBN 9781760878047
Published NZ 2 Jul 2050
Publisher Allen & Unwin
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (4 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Available for pre-order, ships once released

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781760878047
Stock Release date is 2 July 2050
Status Available for pre-order, ships once released
Publisher Allen & Unwin
Imprint Allen & Unwin
Published 2 Jul 2050
Publication Country Australia Australia
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Frew, Peggy
Category Award Winning
Modern Fiction
Australian
Number of Pages 320
Dimensions Width: 128mm
Height: 198mm
Dewey Code Not specified
Weight Not specified - defaults to 600g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP