Wheelers Books

Dear Vincent

Dear Vincent
  

Powerful YA fiction about a teenager coming to terms with the suicide of her sister. Tara, the main character, is a blossoming painter who loves the work of Vincent Van Gogh, and his story is used as a counterpoint to her own. It is also a novel about the power of love, and how t... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781775533276
Barcode 9781775533276
Published 7 June 2013 by Random House
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Hager, Mandy
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $19.99 Retail price
  • $14.99 Wheelers price
  • You save $5.00!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781775533276
ISBN-10 1775533271
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Random House
Imprint Random House New Zealand Ltd
Publication Date 7 June 2013
Publication Country New Zealand New Zealand
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Hager, Mandy
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Award Winning
Fiction Dealing With Family Issues
Suicide, Death & Bereavement
NZ, Maori & Pasifika
New Zealand & Related
LIANZA 2014 Children's Book Awards Finalists
LIANZA Young Adult Fiction Award
Number of Pages 288
Dimensions Width: 130mm
Height: 198mm
Spine: 22mm
Weight 278g
Interest Age 13+ years
Reading Age 13+ years
Library of Congress Family problems, Loneliness, Grief, Suicide, Young adult fiction
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 823.2
Catalogue Code 322962

Description of this Book

Powerful YA fiction about a teenager coming to terms with the suicide of her sister. Tara, the main character, is a blossoming painter who loves the work of Vincent Van Gogh, and his story is used as a counterpoint to her own. It is also a novel about the power of love, and how the acquisition of inner peace requires forgiveness of ourselves and others. 17 year old Tara McClusky's life is hard. She shares the care of her paralysed father with her domineering, difficult mother, forced to cut down on her hours at school to help support the family with a part-time rest home job. She's very much alone, still grieving the loss of her older sister Van, who died five years before. Her only source of consolation is her obsession with art and painting in particular. Most especially she is enamoured with Vincent Van Gogh: has read all his letters and finds many parallels between the tragic story of his life and her own. Luckily she meets the intelligent, kindly Professor Max Stockhamer (Jewish refugee and philosopher) and his grandson Johannes, and their support is crucial to her ability to survive this turbulent time.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

Awards Winner of LIANZA Children's Book Awards: Young Adult Fiction Award 2014

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Mandy Hager has been awarded the Katherine Mansfield Menton fellowship for 2014, and she was the 2012 recipient of the New Zealand Society of Authors Beatson Fellowship. She won the Esther Glen Award for Fiction for her YA novel Smashed and Best Young Adult Book in the NZ Post Book Awards 2010 for The Crossing. The Nature of Ash won the LIANZA YA Fiction Award in 2013 and was shortlisted for the 2013 NZ Post Children's Book Awards. Hager has a MA in Creative Writing from Victoria University and an Advanced Diploma in Applied Arts (Writing) from Whitireia Community Polytechnic, where she now works as a tutor and mentor. She lives with her partner on the Kapiti Coast. She has written novels for adults and young adults, short stories, scripts, and non-fiction resources for young people. See more at www.mandyhager.com, and on her Facebook pages for the Blood of the Lamb trilogy and for The Nature of Ash. Internationally acclaimed writer Margaret Mahy proclaimed The Crossing as being like '1984 for teenagers - direct, passionate and powerful', while in the Otago Daily Times children's writer and reviewer Tania Roxborogh similarly drew comparisons between this 'important book' and other literary classics, declaring it 'utterly compelling ... very much in the vein of Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale or Lowry's The Giver'. The New Zealand Listener identified The Crossing as 'classic young adult fiction', describing it as 'fast-paced, moving and the personal is always political ... tracking the journey from childhood to adulthood ... [with] an authentic, fully realised sense of place'. The second title in the Blood of the Lamb trilogy, Into the Wilderness, was described by the Listener as a 'sustained, gripping piece of writing, a visceral battle against the elements'. The trilogy concluded with the 'gripping, futuristic'Resurrection. Stand-alone thriller The Nature of Ash received a glowing review from Zac Harding of Christchurch City Library: 'Mandy Hager has set a new standard in thrilling, action-packed stories for NZ teens with her new book, The Nature of Ash, and I'll say it can proudly stand alongside these international, best-selling dystopian thrillers ... The Nature of Ash is an exciting, explosive, action-packed thriller that had me on the edge of my seat from start to finish ... Ash is one of the most authentic male teen characters in New Zealand fiction. ' Graham Beattie on Beattie's Blog, concurred: 'It is not often you would describe a YA novel as a blockbuster but in this case it is totally appropriate ... This 364-page totally gripping Wellington-set thriller has been getting rave reviews around the country and now having read the story myself I am not at all surprised. Action-packed, fast-paced stuff ... Watch out for it in next year's book awards. ' Pip Cole in Tearaway declared herself 'enthralled', while Diane McCarthy commended the real, contemporary settings of this 'political ... futuristic' novel, saying they gave 'some real grit and realism'. She praised Hager for being 'very brave' - 'I don't know of many authors who write political thrillers for teens. ' The Saturday Express saw The Nature of Ash as having wider appeal than the average teen novel, 'part coming-of-age novel, part future warning of where we could end up, politically and socially'. The reviewer noted the 'strong underlying themes of accepting those who are different, standing up for what you believe is important, and self-acceptance', concluding 'Hager could well be New Zealand's answer to Aussie writer John Marsden'.

^ top