Wheelers Books
The Girl from the Corner Shop

The Girl from the Corner Shop (Hardback)

By Hughes, Alrene

  • RRP: $47.99
  • $35.99
  • Save $12.00
  • Pre Release Local

A heartbroken young widow joins the police force during World War Two in Manchester.

ISBN 9781788543996
Barcode 9781788543996
Published 18 October 2019 by Head of Zeus
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Available for pre-order, ships once released

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781788543996
ISBN-10 1788543998
Stock Available
Status Available for pre-order, ships once released
Publisher Head of Zeus
Imprint Head of Zeus
Publication Date 18 October 2019
International Publication Date 11 July 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Hughes, Alrene
Category Romantic Fiction: Historical
Sagas
Historical Fiction
Number of Pages 448
Dimensions Width: 145mm
Height: 228mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 1,000g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress World War, 1939-1945 - Fiction - England - Manchester
NBS Text Romance & Sagas
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 997106

Description of this Book

A heartbroken young widow joins the police force during World War Two in Manchester. Perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe and Dilly Court. Widowed early in World War Two, heartbroken Helen Heaton is working in the family corner shop, trying to rebuild her shattered life. When the shop is robbed, she meets Matthew, a young police contable and he inspires her to join the Women's Auxiliary Police Corps. Despite resentment from male colleagues, Helen throws herself into the work, dealing with evacuees, the destitute and vulnerable. But a tragedy closer to home makes Helen realise there's still something missing in her life and before the war is over, she will have to choose between two very different men vying for her heart.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review PRAISE FOR THE GOLDEN SISTERS: 'A heart-warming novel of family bonds' Ulster Star. 'A great story that brings the reader all the atmosphere of the early 40s in Belfast' Belfast Times. 'With meticulous research, the author has brought Belfast to life ... Descriptions are lovely' Irish News.
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 2 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Alrene Hughes grew up in Belfast and has lived in Manchester for most of her adult life. She worked for British Telecom and the BBC before training as an English teacher. After teaching for twenty years, she retired and now writes full-time.

^ top