Wheelers Books
The Dover Cafe On the Front Line: A dramatic and heartwarming WWII saga

The Dover Cafe On the Front Line: A dramatic and heartwarming WWII saga (Paperback)

By Bell, Ginny

  • RRP: $22.99
  • $17.24
  • Save $5.75
  • To Order

The second book in an emotional and heartwarming WWII saga series. For fans of Ellie Dean and Annie Groves. Dover, 1940 As the Battle of Britain rages, the Castle family are standing their ground at the heart of the community, running Castle's Cafe. German guns across the Channel... start to shell the town and danger lurks around every corner. But despite this, Lily Castle is excited to be starting her official nursing training at last. When Lily is asked to help set up a secret military hospital on the cliffs above Dover, she is thrilled. That is until she realises that she will be working with Dr Charlie Alexander, a man who is less than fond of her. And when a German pilot escapes from the hospital, Lily is accused of helping him. With the only job she's ever wanted in jeopardy, Lily must do whatever she can to find out the truth. And prove her innocence. 'Brilliantly written and researched . . . I loved it.' Rosie Goodwin on The Dover Cafe at War Readers love The Dover Cafe at War: 'A brilliant evocation of a family and community pulling together in wartime. Full of drama, laughter, and nail biting cliff hangers. A triumph!' Annie Clarke, author of The Factory Girls series 'Well-researched and expertly written . . . Perfect for those days when all you want is a book to lose yourself in.' Fiona Ford, author of The Liberty Girls 'A joyous read, the sort of book to read in one sitting.' Kitty Danton, author of A Wartime Christmas 'A rattling good novel that gives the reader a front seat at the Dover cafe during World War 2 . . . a really good start to what looks to be a fascinating saga.' Shirley Mann, author of Lily's War 'Brilliantly researched, written with warmth and insight, brimming with emotion and drama, and starring a cast of superbly drawn characters who are guaranteed to touch the hearts of readers everywhere.' Lancashire Post 'What a brilliant book . . . can't wait to read the next one.' Netgalley reviewer 'This book is such a joy to read.' Netgalley reviewer 'This was a wonderful read. Looking forward to the next in the series.' Netgalley reviewer
Read more

ISBN 9781838773748
Released NZ 23 Sep 2021
Publisher Bonnier Zaffre
Format Paperback
Availability
Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781838773748
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
Publisher Bonnier Zaffre
Imprint Bonnier Zaffre
Released 23 Sep 2021
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Bell, Ginny
Category Romantic Fiction
Romantic Fiction: Historical
Sagas
Historical Fiction
Second World War fiction
World History: Second World War
Local History
Military History
Battles & Campaigns
Places & Peoples: General Interest
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 198mm
Spine: 30mm
Dewey Code 823.92
Weight 394g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress World War, 1939-1945 - Fiction - Social aspects - England - Dover, Dover England - Fiction - History - 20th century
NBS Text Romance & Sagas
ONIX Text General/trade;College/higher education

TOP