Wheelers Books
These Violent Delights
  

These Violent Delights (Paperback)

By Gong, Chloe

  • RRP: $19.99
  • $14.99
  • Save $5.00
  • Pub Date
    16 Nov 21

The brilliantly imaginative New York Times bestselling fantasy retelling of Romeo and Juliet set against the immersive backdrop of 1920s Shanghai. In glittering Shanghai, a monster awakens . . . A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city in the grip ...of chaos. At its heart is eighteen-year-old Juliette C ai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang - a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette's first love . . . and first betrayal. But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns - and grudges - aside and work together, for if they can't stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule. Filled with romance, intrigue and betrayal, this heart-stopping debut is perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane. 'Heady, smart, and vicious' Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear 'Deliciously dark' Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire 'Dark and beautiful' Emiko Jean, author of Empress of all Seasons 'A terrific, deliciously unputdownable read' June Hur, author of The Silence of Bones
Read more

ISBN 9781869714703
Published NZ 16 Nov 2021
Publisher Hachette
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (5 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
999 Available for pre-order, ships once released

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781869714703
Stock Release date is 16 November 2021
Status Available for pre-order, ships once released
Publisher Hachette
Imprint Hachette Aotearoa New Zealand
Published 16 Nov 2021
Publication Country New Zealand New Zealand
Format Paperback
 › 5 other possible formats available
Author(s) By Gong, Chloe
Category Historical Fiction
Fantasy & Magical Realism
NZ, Maori & Pasifika
New Zealand
Number of Pages 478
Dimensions Width: 132mm
Height: 197mm
Spine: 29mm
Dewey Code Not specified
Weight 290g
Interest Age Children
Reading Age Children
ONIX Text Children/juvenile

TOP