Wheelers Books

The Crossing

The Crossing
  

The Crossing, the first of the 'Blood of the Lamb' trilogy, is set on a fictional Pacific island, approximately three generations after an apocalyptic event (a solar flare) in 2012 threw the world into complete chaos. The trilogy follows the fate of fifteen-year-old Maryam and th... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781869791506
Barcode 9781869791506
Published 4 September 2009 by Random House
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Hager, Mandy
Series Blood of the Lamb (part: 1)
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $19.99 Retail price
  • $14.99 Wheelers price
  • You save $5.00!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781869791506
ISBN-10 1869791509
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Random House
Imprint Random House New Zealand Ltd
Publication Date 4 September 2009
Publication Country New Zealand New Zealand
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Hager, Mandy
Series Blood of the Lamb (part: 1)
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Award Winning
NZ, Maori & Pasifika
Young Adult Fiction Finalists
New Zealand & Related
Number of Pages 288
Dimensions Width: 134mm
Height: 198mm
Spine: 19mm
Weight 270g
Interest Age 14+ years
Reading Age 14+ years
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 823.2
Catalogue Code 93066

Description of this Book

The Crossing, the first of the 'Blood of the Lamb' trilogy, is set on a fictional Pacific island, approximately three generations after an apocalyptic event (a solar flare) in 2012 threw the world into complete chaos. At that time, a large cruise ship 'Star of the Sea' had just foundered at the entrance to the main lagoon. This cruise ship, and her accompanying crew, forms a temporary sanctuary for the island's inhabitants. Over the intervening years, the descendants of the original ship's captain and officers manipulate Christian texts to implant themselves as 'gods'. With greater resources and reserves than the islanders, this white elite re-builds a society that is predominantly designed to meet its own needs - especially one specialised 'need'...the need for blood. A leukaemia-related disease (attributed to the radiation from the solar flare) has reached epidemic proportions, with few able to escape its grasp. As pharmaceutical intervention is no longer an option, the elite have developed a method of maintaining their strength and prolonging their lives once diagnosed. The trilogy follows the fate of fifteen-year-old Maryam and three other main characters - Joseph, Lazarus and Ruth. It's a fast-paced, suspenseful action story that also features a stong, realistic and dramatic love story.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

Awards Winner of New Zealand Post Children's Book Awards: Senior Fiction 2010 -- Short-listed for LIANZA Children's Book Awards: Young Adult Fiction Award 2010 -- Short-listed for Storylines Notable New Zealand Books: Young Adult Fiction 2010 -- Short-listed for Sir Julius Vogel Award for Best Novel (Young Adult) 2010

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Mandy Hager has been awarded the Katherine Mansfield Menton fellowship for 2014, and she was the 2012 recipient of the New Zealand Society of Authors Beatson Fellowship. She won the Esther Glen Award for Fiction for her YA novel Smashed and Best Young Adult Book in the NZ Post Book Awards 2010 for The Crossing. The Nature of Ash won the LIANZA YA Fiction Award in 2013 and was shortlisted for the 2013 NZ Post Children's Book Awards. Hager has a MA in Creative Writing from Victoria University and an Advanced Diploma in Applied Arts (Writing) from Whitireia Community Polytechnic, where she now works as a tutor and mentor. She lives with her partner on the Kapiti Coast. She has written novels for adults and young adults, short stories, scripts, and non-fiction resources for young people. See more at www.mandyhager.com, and on her Facebook pages for the Blood of the Lamb trilogy and for The Nature of Ash. Internationally acclaimed writer Margaret Mahy proclaimed The Crossing as being like '1984 for teenagers - direct, passionate and powerful', while in the Otago Daily Times children's writer and reviewer Tania Roxborogh similarly drew comparisons between this 'important book' and other literary classics, declaring it 'utterly compelling ... very much in the vein of Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale or Lowry's The Giver'. The New Zealand Listener identified The Crossing as 'classic young adult fiction', describing it as 'fast-paced, moving and the personal is always political ... tracking the journey from childhood to adulthood ... [with] an authentic, fully realised sense of place'. The second title in the Blood of the Lamb trilogy, Into the Wilderness, was described by the Listener as a 'sustained, gripping piece of writing, a visceral battle against the elements'. The trilogy concluded with the 'gripping, futuristic'Resurrection. Stand-alone thriller The Nature of Ash received a glowing review from Zac Harding of Christchurch City Library: 'Mandy Hager has set a new standard in thrilling, action-packed stories for NZ teens with her new book, The Nature of Ash, and I'll say it can proudly stand alongside these international, best-selling dystopian thrillers ... The Nature of Ash is an exciting, explosive, action-packed thriller that had me on the edge of my seat from start to finish ... Ash is one of the most authentic male teen characters in New Zealand fiction. ' Graham Beattie on Beattie's Blog, concurred: 'It is not often you would describe a YA novel as a blockbuster but in this case it is totally appropriate ... This 364-page totally gripping Wellington-set thriller has been getting rave reviews around the country and now having read the story myself I am not at all surprised. Action-packed, fast-paced stuff ... Watch out for it in next year's book awards. ' Pip Cole in Tearaway declared herself 'enthralled', while Diane McCarthy commended the real, contemporary settings of this 'political ... futuristic' novel, saying they gave 'some real grit and realism'. She praised Hager for being 'very brave' - 'I don't know of many authors who write political thrillers for teens. ' The Saturday Express saw The Nature of Ash as having wider appeal than the average teen novel, 'part coming-of-age novel, part future warning of where we could end up, politically and socially'. The reviewer noted the 'strong underlying themes of accepting those who are different, standing up for what you believe is important, and self-acceptance', concluding 'Hager could well be New Zealand's answer to Aussie writer John Marsden'.

^ top