Wheelers Books

Into the Wilderness

Into the Wilderness
  

Maryam, Ruth and Joseph have fled Onewere, accompanied by Joseph's troublesome cousin, Lazarus. They arrive at Marawa Island, filled with hope for rescue and reprieve. But the island appears to be solely populated by birds, and all that remains of its once sophisticated culture a... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781869793296
Barcode 9781869793296
Published 1 April 2010 by Random House
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Hager, Mandy
Series Blood of the Lamb (part: 2)
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $19.99 Retail price
  • $14.99 Wheelers price
  • You save $5.00!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781869793296
ISBN-10 1869793293
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Random House
Imprint Random House New Zealand Ltd
Publication Date 1 April 2010
Publication Country New Zealand New Zealand
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Hager, Mandy
Series Blood of the Lamb (part: 2)
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Award Winning
NZ, Maori & Pasifika
New Zealand & Related
Number of Pages 288
Dimensions Width: 107mm
Height: 194mm
Spine: 24mm
Weight 330g
Interest Age 13+ years
Reading Age 13+ years
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code 823.2
Catalogue Code 89623

Description of this Book

Maryam, Ruth and Joseph have fled Onewere, accompanied by Joseph's troublesome cousin, Lazarus. They arrive at their destination, Marawa Island, filled with hope for rescue and reprieve. But the island appears to be solely populated by birds, and all that remains of its once sophisticated culture are crumbling buildings adorned with strange pagan carvings. Perhaps the Apostle's dire warnings about the fall-out of the Tribulation were true after all? Meanwhile, Maryam and Joseph are in the topsy-turvy grips of first love, filled with all the misunderstandings and sexual tension this entails. When Maryam flees from a passionate late-night encounter with Joseph he is left confused and stung. He sets off to scale the island's volcanic peak, exhausting what little physical reserves he has left, and it triggers a recurrence of the deadly plague Te Matee Iai. The antagonism between Maryam and Lazarus reaches explosive proportions with this additional strain. Meanwhile, Joseph's health deteriorates at such an alarming rate the other three, despite Ruth's resistance and apprehension, decide to venture onwards to seek a cure for Joseph's ills. What will become of them?

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

Awards Short-listed for Storylines Notable New Zealand Books: Young Adult Fiction 2011 -- Short-listed for Sir Julius Vogel Award for Best Novel (Young Adult) 2011

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Mandy Hager has been awarded the Katherine Mansfield Menton fellowship for 2014, and she was the 2012 recipient of the New Zealand Society of Authors Beatson Fellowship. She won the Esther Glen Award for Fiction for her YA novel Smashed and Best Young Adult Book in the NZ Post Book Awards 2010 for The Crossing. The Nature of Ash won the LIANZA YA Fiction Award in 2013 and was shortlisted for the 2013 NZ Post Children's Book Awards. Hager has a MA in Creative Writing from Victoria University and an Advanced Diploma in Applied Arts (Writing) from Whitireia Community Polytechnic, where she now works as a tutor and mentor. She lives with her partner on the Kapiti Coast. She has written novels for adults and young adults, short stories, scripts, and non-fiction resources for young people. See more at www.mandyhager.com, and on her Facebook pages for the Blood of the Lamb trilogy and for The Nature of Ash. Internationally acclaimed writer Margaret Mahy proclaimed The Crossing as being like '1984 for teenagers - direct, passionate and powerful', while in the Otago Daily Times children's writer and reviewer Tania Roxborogh similarly drew comparisons between this 'important book' and other literary classics, declaring it 'utterly compelling ... very much in the vein of Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale or Lowry's The Giver'. The New Zealand Listener identified The Crossing as 'classic young adult fiction', describing it as 'fast-paced, moving and the personal is always political ... tracking the journey from childhood to adulthood ... [with] an authentic, fully realised sense of place'. The second title in the Blood of the Lamb trilogy, Into the Wilderness, was described by the Listener as a 'sustained, gripping piece of writing, a visceral battle against the elements'. The trilogy concluded with the 'gripping, futuristic'Resurrection. Stand-alone thriller The Nature of Ash received a glowing review from Zac Harding of Christchurch City Library: 'Mandy Hager has set a new standard in thrilling, action-packed stories for NZ teens with her new book, The Nature of Ash, and I'll say it can proudly stand alongside these international, best-selling dystopian thrillers ... The Nature of Ash is an exciting, explosive, action-packed thriller that had me on the edge of my seat from start to finish ... Ash is one of the most authentic male teen characters in New Zealand fiction. ' Graham Beattie on Beattie's Blog, concurred: 'It is not often you would describe a YA novel as a blockbuster but in this case it is totally appropriate ... This 364-page totally gripping Wellington-set thriller has been getting rave reviews around the country and now having read the story myself I am not at all surprised. Action-packed, fast-paced stuff ... Watch out for it in next year's book awards. ' Pip Cole in Tearaway declared herself 'enthralled', while Diane McCarthy commended the real, contemporary settings of this 'political ... futuristic' novel, saying they gave 'some real grit and realism'. She praised Hager for being 'very brave' - 'I don't know of many authors who write political thrillers for teens. ' The Saturday Express saw The Nature of Ash as having wider appeal than the average teen novel, 'part coming-of-age novel, part future warning of where we could end up, politically and socially'. The reviewer noted the 'strong underlying themes of accepting those who are different, standing up for what you believe is important, and self-acceptance', concluding 'Hager could well be New Zealand's answer to Aussie writer John Marsden'.

^ top