Wheelers Books
Frankly in Love
 

Frankly in Love (Hardback)

By Yoon, David

  • $40.99
  • In stock

High school senior Frank Li takes a risk to go after a girl his parents would never approve of, but his plans will leave him wondering if he ever really understood love--or himself--at all --

ISBN 9781984812209
Barcode 9781984812209
Published 10 September 2019 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Y
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (4 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Usually ships 6-12 working days – Title is in stock with supplier internationally

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781984812209
ISBN-10 1984812203
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Y
Imprint G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication Date 10 September 2019
Publication Country
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Yoon, David
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Teenage Romance
Number of Pages 432
Dimensions Width: 145mm
Height: 213mm
Spine: 36mm
Weight 540g
Interest Age 14+ years
Reading Age 14+ years
Library of Congress California, Friendship, Schools, Family life, Dating (Social customs)
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

This smart, romantic, and totally original coming-of-age YA contemporary debut about a Korean-American teen falling in (and out) of love is perfect for fans of The Sun is Also a Star, Eleanor & Park, and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. High school senior Frank Li is a Limbo--his term for Korean-American kids who find themselves caught between their parents' traditional expectations and their own Southern California upbringing. His parents have one rule when it comes to romance-- Date Korean --which proves complicated when Frank falls for Brit Means, who is smart, beautiful--and white. Fellow Limbo Joy Song is in a similar predicament, and so they make a pact: they'll pretend to date each other in order to gain their freedom. Frank thinks it's the perfect plan, but in the end, Frank and Joy's fake-dating maneuver leaves him wondering if he ever really understood love--or himself--at all.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Praise for Frankly in Love A Junior Library Guild Selection A Summer/Fall 2019 Indies Introduce Title I loved, loved, LOVED this book, which miraculously manages to be a love story, a treatise on racism, a peek into adolescence, and a welcome to Korean-American culture, all at once. Frankly, Frank Li is a character you need to meet. --Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Small Great Things and A Spark of Light I fell fast for David Yoon's masterful debut that's big-hearted, honest, hilarious, and achingly romantic. I smiled, I laughed, I cried, and I closed this book wiser. Get ready to fall in love with Frank, world! --Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at The End In the tender and funny Frankly in Love, David Yoon gives us some of the truest and most lovable characters I've read in a long time. This book is pure joy. --Deb Caletti, Printz Honor Recipient for A Heart in a Body in the World and National Book Award Finalist for Honey, Baby, Sweetheart Frankly in Love shines with an incredible voice and a searing, honest, and deeply human story about what it means to love someone. David Yoon isn't afraid to confront every angle, both the beautiful and the ugly, but he tackles it all with great care. This is a classic in the making. --Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Warcross

^ top

Author's Bio

David Yoon grew up in Orange County, California, and now lives in Los Angeles with his wife, novelist Nicola Yoon, and their daughter. He drew the illustrations for Nicola's #1 New York Times bestseller Everything, Everything. Frankly in Love is his first novel. You can visit him at davidyoon.com.

^ top