Wheelers Books

Animal Heart: Stories by Paul Luikart

Animal Heart: Stories by Paul Luikart
  

The stories in Paul Luikart's Animal Heart address lives in transition, focusing on raggedy characters in need of redemption-whether they realize it or not. Fans of Nelson Algren, Denis Johnson, Donald Ray Pollock, and Jess Walter (particularly We Live In Water) will appreciate t... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – Title is in stock with supplier internationally

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781988292007
Barcode 9781988292007
Published 3 May 2016 by Hyperborea Publishing
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Luikart, Paul
Availability Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $27.99 Wheelers price
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781988292007
ISBN-10 198829200X
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Hyperborea Publishing
Imprint Hyperborea Publishing
Publication Date 3 May 2016
International Publication Date 17 May 2016
Publication Country United States United States
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Luikart, Paul
Category General & Literary Fiction
Modern Fiction
Short Stories
Christian life & practice
Family, Home & Self Help
Number of Pages 174
Dimensions Width: 127mm
Height: 203mm
Spine: 10mm
Weight 195g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

A cabbie with a booze problem pities a murderer and helps him flee into the desert. A homeless woman teaches a businessman how to dance. A bank robber on the run does the only compassionate thing he's ever done in his life when he encounters a band of wild horses. A man hunts and kills his romantic rival, then presents the love of his life with a grisly token of his affection. The stories in Paul Luikart's Animal Heart address lives in transition, focusing on raggedy characters in need of redemption--whether they realize it or not.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Here we have one of my favorite writers whose endings leave me happily breathless. There is no fluff or prettying here. There is grit and dirt. Tragedy. Hunting and betrayal. Violence and release. Fully animal, fully human. Be warned. It gets you. Thwack! Right through the heart. - Leesa Cross-Smith, author of Every Kiss A War This debut collection of short fiction took me places I've never experienced. It introduced me to pimps, prostitutes, junkies, alkies, and others who have simply lost their way. In riveting and often beautiful prose, Luikart forced me away from what's easy and comfortable into a world that has changed my sense of who I am as a human being. These stories aren't for the faint-hearted, but they are always honest and filled with compassion and humanity. Animal Heart is an experience not to be missed. - Gary D. Wilson, author of Getting Right and Sing, Ronnie Blue

^ top

Author's Bio

There is no author biography for this title.

^ top