Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Ruta Sepetys

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 25 jump to: go ‹ previous123next ›
              The Fountains of Silence

              The Fountains of Silence (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Sepetys, Ruta

              • RRP: $30.00
              • $22.50
              • Save $7.50
              • In Stock At Publisher

              From carnegie medal winning author Ruta Sepetys. Madrid, 1957. Tourists and foreign businessmen flood into Spain under the welcoming guise of sunshine and wine while Spanish citizens are gripped by a dark secret. Daniel Matheson, the son of an oil tycoon, hopes to connect with th...e country of his mother's birth through the lens of his camera. Photography -and fate - introduce him to Ana, a hotel maid, whose family is suffering under the fascist dictatorship of General Franco. Daniel and Ana's lives and hearts collide as they unite to uncover the hidden darkness within the city - a darkness that could engulf them all . . . Master storyteller Ruta Sepetys once again shines light into one of history's darkest corners in this epic, heart-wrenching novel about identity, unforgettable love and the hidden violence of silence.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780241422236
              Released NZ 15 Oct 2019
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age Children / Young Adults
              Availability
              633 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
              View details for this title
              The Fountains of Silence
                

              The Fountains of Silence (Paperback)

              By Sepetys, Ruta

              • RRP: $25.99
              • $19.27
              • Save $6.72
              • Pub Date
                1 Jun 21

              FROM CARNEGIE MEDAL WINNING AUTHOR RUTA SEPETYS Madrid, 1957. Tourists and foreign businessmen flood into Spain under the welcoming guise of sunshine and wine while Spanish citizens are gripped by a dark secret. Daniel Matheson, the son of an oil tycoon, hopes to connect with the... country of his mother's birth through the lens of his camera. Photography -and fate - introduce him to Ana, a hotel maid, whose family is suffering under the fascist dictatorship of General Franco. Daniel and Ana's lives and hearts collide as they unite to uncover the hidden darkness within the city - a darkness that could engulf them all. . . Master storyteller Ruta Sepetys once again shines light into one of history's darkest corners in this epic, heart-wrenching novel about identity, unforgettable love and the hidden violence of silence. **PRAISE FOR THE FOUNTAINS OF SILENCE** 'Captivating, deft, and illuminating historical fiction.' Booklist 'Gripping.' Publishers Weekly 'A stunning novel that exposes modern fascism and elevates human resilience.' Kirkus 'An exemplary work of historical fiction.' The Horn Book
              Read more

              ISBN 9780241421857
              Released NZ 1 Jun 2021
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age Children / Young Adults
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 1 Jun 2021
              View details for this title
              Between Shades Of Gray
               

              Between Shades Of Gray (Paperback)

              By Sepetys, Ruta

              • RRP: $25.99
              • $19.27
              • Save $6.72
              • In Stock UK

              One night fifteen-year-old Lina, her mother and young brother are hauled from their home by Soviet guards, thrown into cattle cars and sent away. They are being deported to Siberia. An unimaginable and harrowing journey has begun. Lina doesn't know if she'll ever see her father o...r her friends again. But she refuses to give up hope.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780141335889
              Released NZ 18 Dec 2010
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age Children / Young Adults
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Salt to the Sea

              Salt to the Sea (Paperback)

              By Sepetys, Ruta; Designed by Jones, Matt

              • RRP: $24.00
              • $18.00
              • Save $6.00
              • In Stock At Publisher

              When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned.

              ISBN 9780141347400
              Released NZ 16 May 2016
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age 13+ years
              Availability
              52 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Out of the Easy
               

              Out of the Easy (Paperback)

              By Sepetys, Ruta

              Josie Moraine wants out of The Big Easy - she needs more than New Orleans can offer. Known locally as a brothel prostitute's daughter, she dreams of life at an elite college, far away from here. But then a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie caught between her ambition a...nd a clandestine underworld.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780141347332
              Released NZ 24 Apr 2013
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age 13+ years
              Availability
              Not currently available
              View details for this title
              The Fountains of Silence
               

              The Fountains of Silence (Hardback)

              By Sepetys, Ruta

              • RRP: $48.50
              • $36.15
              • Save $12.35
              • No availability locally

              FROM CARNEGIE MEDAL WINNING AUTHOR RUTA SEPETYS Madrid, 1957. Daniel, the heir to an American oil dynasty, views the city through the lens of his camera. Ana is a hotel maid whose family is suffering under the fascist dictatorship of General Franco. Lives and hearts collide as th...ey unite to uncover the hidden darkness within the city. A darkness that could engulf them all. . . An epic, heart-wrenching novel about identity, unforgettable love and the hidden violence of silence.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780241421871
              Released NZ 15 Oct 2019
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age Children / Young Adults
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
              View details for this title
              Between Shades of Gray
                

              Between Shades of Gray (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Sepetys, Ruta

              • RRP: $23.99
              • $18.62
              • Save $5.37
              • Backorder US

              Sepetys presents a powerful and haunting novel based on a little-known real-life event in history. In terrifying detail, Ruta Sepetys re-creates a World War II coming of all all too timely today. Between Shades of Gray is a document long overdue.--Newbery Medalist Richard Peck.

              ISBN 9780142420591
              Released NZ 3 Apr 2012
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age Children / Young Adults
              Availability
              Internationally sourced (on backorder); allow 4-8 weeks
              View details for this title
              Salt to the Sea
                

              Salt to the Sea (Hardback, Large type / large print edition)

              By Sepetys, Ruta

              • RRP: $76.50
              • $43.22
              • Save $33.28
              • In Stock US

              As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war's final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull --

              ISBN 9781410492876
              Released NZ 3 Aug 2016
              Publisher Thorndike Press Large Print
              Interest Age 13+ years
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Salt to the Sea
                

              Salt to the Sea (Library Binding, Bound for Schools & Libraries ed.)

              By Sepetys, Ruta

              • RRP: $55.99
              • $42.84
              • Save $13.15
              • In Stock US

              As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war's final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull --

              ISBN 9780606404921
              Released NZ 1 Aug 2017
              Publisher Turtleback Books
              Interest Age 13+ years
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Penguin Minis: Between Shades of Gray
               

              Penguin Minis: Between Shades of Gray (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Sepetys, Ruta

              • RRP: $25.99
              • $20.33
              • Save $5.66
              • In Stock US

              From New York Times and international bestseller Ruta Sepetys comes a story of loss and of fear -- and ultimately, of survival. Now in a revolutionary new mini format, this read is more portable than ever. Carnegie Medal winner Ruta Sepetys's debut is now available as a Penguin M...ini edition. Complete and unabridged, the book's revolutionary landscape design and ultra-thin paper makes it easy to hold in one hand without sacrificing readability. Perfectly sized to slip into a pocket or bag, Penguin Minis are ideal for reading on the go. Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both. --The Washington Post * A New York Times bestseller * A New York Times notable book * An international bestseller * A Carnegie Medal nominee * A William C. Morris Award finalist Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life -- until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive? A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief. Praise for Between Shades of Gray Superlative. A hefty emotional punch. --The New York Times Book Review Heart-wrenching . . . an eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart. --The Los Angeles Times At once a suspenseful, drama-packed survival story, a romance, and an intricately researched work of historial fiction. --The Wall Street Journal * Beautifully written and deeply felt . . . An important book that deserves the widest possible readership. --Bo
              Read more

              ISBN 9780593114476
              Released NZ 30 Sep 2019
              Publisher Random House
              Interest Age Children / Young Adults
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Total 25 jump to: go ‹ previous123next ›