Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Cary Fagan

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 32 jump to: go ‹ previous1234next ›
              The Collected Works Of Gretchen Oyster

              The Collected Works Of Gretchen Oyster (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Fagan, Cary

              • RRP: $17.99
              • $17.09
              • Save $0.90
              • In Stock At Supplier

              Hartley Staples, near-graduate of middle school, is grappling with the fact that his older brother has run away from home when he finds a handmade postcard that fascinates him. And soon he spots another. Despite his losing interest in pretty much everything since Jackson ran away..., Hartley finds himself searching for cards in his small town at every opportunity, ignoring other responsibilities --
              Read more

              ISBN 9780735266230
              Released NZ 3 May 2022
              Publisher Prentice Hall
              Interest Age Children / Young Adults
              Availability
              126 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Bear Wants To Sing

              Bear Wants To Sing (Hardback)

              By Fagan, Cary; Seiferling, Dena

              • RRP: $35.00
              • $28.70
              • Save $6.30
              • To Order

              Bear wants to sing his song, but the other animals won't give him a chance to perform his masterwork in this delightful picture book companion to the critically acclaimed King Mouse. A bear finds a ukulele in the woods. It makes a nice sound -- PLINK! -- and inspires him to write... his own song. His friend Mouse would love to hear it. But Bear isn't the only animal in the forest to find musical inspiration that day, and Snake, Crow and Tortoise keep taking his turn to perform. When they finally give him the opportunity and meet his song with less enthusiasm than he'd like, the discouraged bear shelves his music career forever . . . but the kindness, empathy and appreciation of his best friend will prove that his art deserves recognition and can even inspire others. This dryly humorous and sweetly profound collaboration between two critically acclaimed children's book creators, a follow-up to the masterful King Mouse, has the makings of a modern classic.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780735268036
              Released NZ 14 Dec 2021
              Publisher Tundra Books
              Interest Age 3-7 years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              Little Blue Chair

              Little Blue Chair (Hardback)

              By Fagan, Cary; Illustrated by Kloepper, Madeline

              • RRP: $37.00
              • $27.75
              • Save $9.25
              • Back Order Indent title

              When Boo outgrows his favorite chair, it embarks on an adventure around the world where it is put to many uses.

              ISBN 9781770497559
              Released NZ 15 Feb 2017
              Publisher Tundra Books
              Interest Age 3-7 years
              Availability
              Back Order Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
              View details for this title
              Water, Water

              Water, Water (Hardback)

              By Fagan, Cary; Illustrated by McNaught, Jon

              • RRP: $37.00
              • $35.15
              • Save $1.85
              • To Order

              One morning Rafe wakes up to discover his bedroom is floating in a vast sea of water. An unforgettable middle-grade novel with elements of James and the Giant Peach meets Waterworld and The Road. One morning Rafe wakes up to discover his bedroom is floating in a vast sea of water.... Alone with only his dog for company, Rafe adapts to this strange new world by fishing cans of food out of the water and keeping watch. Boxes float by, as does a woman, playing her cello. Then, one day, Rafe fishes out a young girl, who joins him in his room -- they don't speak the same language, but together they will face this uncertain future together.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780735270039
              Released NZ 16 Mar 2022
              Publisher Prentice Hall
              Interest Age Children / Young Adults
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              King Mouse
               

              King Mouse (Hardback)

              By Fagan, Cary; Illustrated by Seiferling, Dena

              • RRP: $37.00
              • $29.03
              • Save $7.97
              • No availability locally

              A tiny mouse finds a tiny crown. It's a perfect fit. He likes being king. But what if his isn't the only crown in the forest?--Dust jacket.

              ISBN 9780735264045
              Publisher Prentice Hall
              Interest Age 3-7 years
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
              View details for this title
              What Are You Doing, Benny?

              What Are You Doing, Benny? (Hardback)

              By Fagan, Cary; Illustrated by MacDonald Denton, Kady

              • RRP: $35.00
              • $28.70
              • Save $6.30
              • Back Order Indent title

              From New York Times-bestselling illustrator Kady MacDonald Denton and award-winning author Cary Fagan comes a charming sibling story that has the makings of a contemporary classic.

              ISBN 9781770498570
              Released NZ 2 Apr 2019
              Publisher Tundra Books
              Interest Age 3-7 years
              Availability
              Back Order Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
              View details for this title
              Mr. Tempkin Climbs a Tree
               

              Mr. Tempkin Climbs a Tree (Library Binding)

              By Fagan, Cary; Illustrated by Arbat, Carles

              • RRP: $44.50
              • $42.28
              • Save $2.22
              • In Stock At Supplier

              When elderly Mr. Tempkin's plan to thwart the squirrels that have been raiding his birdfeeder goes awry, his friend and neighbor, Marky, learns how special a friendship can be.

              ISBN 9781541521735
              Released NZ 1 Nov 2019
              Publisher Lerner Publishing Group
              Interest Age 3-8 years
              Series Kar-Ben Favorites
              Availability
              23 In stock at supplier; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
              View details for this title
              The Animals
               

              The Animals (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Fagan, Cary

              • RRP: $39.99
              • $35.99
              • Save $4.00
              • Pub Date
                10 Jan 23

              In a quaint tourist village, Dorn makes miniature scale models displayed in the local shops. Yet life is far from idyllic; he suffers under the thumb of a rich, philandering younger brother and an unloving, pudding-obsessed father. Nor can he find the courage to admit his love to... Ravenna, the tall and ungainly school teacher who was once the village's only Olympics hope. Life takes a strange turn when the government-sponsored Wild Home Project begins in the village. Dorn's neighbour now lives with a wolf. Others are in company with rats, minks, otters, and bears. Soon, Dorn receives a mysterious commission, finds a body in a park, and has several run-ins with a former classmate-turned police officer. When fire breaks out, Dorn takes on the unlikely role of hero in the hope of changing the course of his life. A realist novel with the air of a fairy tale, this surprising, funny and thought-provoking story from beloved author Cary Fagan explores the nature of relationships faunal and human, reminds us of the challenges of finding one's place in society... and that living with a wolf is not a very good idea.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781771667647
              Released NZ 10 Jan 2023
              Publisher Misc - NewSouth
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once released
              View details for this title
              Streets of Attitude

              Streets of Attitude (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Fagan, Cary; Wilson, Elizabeth

              • RRP: $27.99
              • $25.19
              • Save $2.80
              • Temporarily out of stock

              Each of the stories in this book reflects something about the city -- what it means to be born here, to escape here, to live and die here. In exploring life in Toronto through the stories of some of the country's finest writers -- including Neil Bissoondath, Matt Cohen, Timothy F...indley, Katherine Govier, Norman Levine, Rohintin Mistry and more -- the city's complex personality emerges, takes shape and, for a moment, makes sense.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781895204025
              Released NZ 1 Jan 1995
              Publisher Misc - NewSouth
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Title is temporarily out of stock
              View details for this title
              Wolfie And Fly

              Wolfie And Fly (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Fagan, Cary; Illustrated by Si, Zoe

              • RRP: $17.99
              • $14.75
              • Save $3.24
              • Back Order Indent title

              A classic story of imagination, friendship, adventure and speeding through the ocean in a cardboard box. For fans of Ivy & Bean, Judy Moody or Nate the Great. Wolfie and Fly is an early chapter book at its simplest and best. Our heroine, Renata Wolfman (Wolfie) does everything by... herself. Friends just get in the way, and she only has time for facts and reading. But friendship finds her in the form of Livingston Flott (Fly), the slightly weird and wordy boy from next door. Before she knows it, Wolfie is motoring through deep water with Fly as her second in command in a submarine made from a cardboard box. Out on a solo swim to retrieve a baseball vital to the mission, Wolfie is finally by herself again, but for the first time, she finds it a little lonely. Maybe there is something to this friend thing... From the Hardcover edition.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781101919392
              Released NZ 15 Jan 2018
              Publisher Tundra Books
              Interest Age 7-10 years
              Series Wolfie and Fly
              Availability
              Back Order Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
              View details for this title
              Total 32 jump to: go ‹ previous1234next ›