Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Chris Crutcher

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 38 jump to: go ‹ previous1234next ›
              Running Loose
               

              Running Loose (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Crutcher, Chris

              • RRP: $21.50
              • $17.20
              • Save $4.30
              • In Stock US

              Louie Banks has it made. He's got a starting spot on the football team, good friends, and a smart, beautiful girlfriend who loves him as much as he loves her. Early in the fall, he sees all his ideas of fair play go up in smoke; by spring, what he cares about most has been destro...yed. How can Louie keep going when he's lost everything?
              Read more

              ISBN 9780060094911
              Released NZ 1 Apr 2003
              Publisher Greenwillow Books
              Interest Age 13+ years
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              Deadline

              Deadline (Paperback)

              By Crutcher, Chris

              • RRP: $16.99
              • $12.74
              • Save $4.25
              • To Order

              At the beginning of his senior year, Ben Wolf discovers he has an aggressive form of leukemia. Ben decides to tell no one; he wants his last year of school to be normal. Only, not telling the truth is the same as lying, and it takes Ben almost a year to figure that out. And what ...a year it is.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780060850913
              Released NZ 1 Jul 2009
              Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
              Interest Age 14+ years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
              View details for this title
              Angry Management

              Angry Management (Paperback)

              By Crutcher, Chris

              • RRP: $16.99
              • $12.74
              • Save $4.25
              • To Order

              Three stories of anger and prejudice, of power and freedom. Three lives hanging in the balance. Crutcher brings back classic characters and introduces new ones in this collection that VOYA called vintage Crutcher.

              ISBN 9780060502485
              Released NZ 6 May 2011
              Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
              Interest Age 13+ years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
              View details for this title
              Period 8

              Period 8 (Paperback)

              By Crutcher, Chris

              • RRP: $16.99
              • $12.74
              • Save $4.25
              • To Order

              In this terrifying and provocative novel by the bestselling and award-winning author of Deadline and Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes, a teenage boy tries to uncover what happened to a girl who has vanished from his high school. Was she abducted, or did she run for her life?Paul The ...Bomb Baum tells the truth. No matter what. It was something he learned at Sunday school. But telling the truth can cause problems, and not just minor ones. And as Paulie discovers, finding the truth can be even more problematic. Period 8 is supposed to be that one period in high school where the truth can shine, a safe haven. Only what Paulie and Hannah (his ex-girlfriend, unfortunately) and his other classmates don't know is that the ultimate liar is in their midst. Terrifying, thought-provoking, and original, this novel combines all the qualities of a great psychological thriller with the controversy, ethics, athletics, humor, and raw emotion of a classic Crutcher story.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780061914829
              Released NZ 19 May 2014
              Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
              Interest Age 14+ years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
              View details for this title
              Angry Management
                

              Angry Management (EPUB ebook)

              By Crutcher, Chris

              Chris Crutcher fills these three stories with raw emotion. They are about insecurity, anger, and prejudice. But they are also about love, freedom, and power. About surviving.And hope.Every kid in this group wants to fly. Every kid in this group has too much ballast.Mr. Nak's Angr...y Management group is a place for misfits. A place for stories. And, man, does this crew have stories.There's Angus Bethune and Sarah Byrnes, who can hide from everyone but each other. Together, they will embark on a road trip full of haunting endings and glimmering beginnings.And Montana West, who doesn't step down from a challenge. Not even when the challenge comes from her adoptive dad, who's leading the school board to censor the article she wrote for the school paper.And straightlaced Matt Miller, who had never been friends with outspoken genius Marcus James. Until one tragic week-a week they'd do anything to change-brings them closer than Matt could have ever imagined.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780061968334
              Available in EPUB
              Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
              Language en
              Released NZ 7 Sep 2010
              Publisher HarperCollins
              Interest Age 13+ years
              Ebook Terms 26 loan limit on HarperCollins titles view?
              Loan Credits 26
              Each copy purchased buys 26 loan credits to be used on your eplatform portal
              View details for this title
              Whale Talk
                

              Whale Talk (EPUB ebook)

              By Crutcher, Chris

              "A truly exceptional book."-Washington PostThere's bad news and good news about the Cutter High School swim team. The bad news is that they don't have a pool. The good news is that only one of them can swim anyway. Bestselling author Chris Crutcher's controversial and acclaimed n...ovel follows a group of outcasts as they take on inequality and injustice in their high school. "Crutcher's superior gifts as a storyteller and his background as a working therapist combine to make magic in Whale Talk. The thread of truth in his fiction reminds us that heroes can come in any shape, color, ability or size, and friendship can bridge nearly any divide."-Washington PostT.J. Jones hates the blatant preferential treatment jocks receive at his high school, and the reverence paid to the varsity lettermen. When he sees a member of the wrestling team threatening an underclassman, T.J. decides he's had enough. He recruits some of the biggest misfits at Cutter High to form a swim team. They may not have very much talent, but the All-Night Mermen prove to be way more than T.J. anticipated. As the unlikely athletes move closer to their goal, these new friends might learn that the journey is worth more than the reward. For fans of Andrew Smith and Marieke Nijkamp. "Crutcher offers an unusual yet resonant mixture of black comedy and tragedy that lays bare the superficiality of the high-school scene. The book's shocking climax will force readers to re-examine their own values and may cause them to alter their perception of individuals pegged as 'losers.'"-Publishers WeeklyAn American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults New York Public Library Books for the Teen AgeFeatures a new afterword by Chris Crutcher
              Read more

              ISBN 9780061968532
              Available in EPUB
              Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
              Language en
              Released NZ 22 Sep 2009
              Publisher HarperCollins
              Interest Age 13+ years
              Ebook Terms 26 loan limit on HarperCollins titles view?
              Loan Credits 26
              Each copy purchased buys 26 loan credits to be used on your eplatform portal
              View details for this title
              Athletic Shorts: Six Short Stories

              Athletic Shorts: Six Short Stories (Paperback)

              By Crutcher, Chris

              • RRP: $16.99
              • $12.74
              • Save $4.25
              • To Order

              A collection of short stories featuring characters from earlier books by Chris Crutcher.

              ISBN 9780060507831
              Released NZ 1 Jan 1990
              Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
              Interest Age 13+ years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
              View details for this title
              The Sledding Hill
                

              The Sledding Hill (EPUB ebook)

              By Crutcher, Chris

              Billy Bartholomew has an audacious soul, and he knows it. Why? Because it's all he has left. He's dead.Eddie Proffit has an equally audacious soul, but he doesn't know it. He's still alive.These days, Billy and Eddie meet on the sledding hill, where they used to spend countless h...ours -- until Billy kicked a stack of Sheetrock over on himself, breaking his neck and effectively hitting tilt on his Earthgame. The two were inseparable friends. They still are. And Billy is not about to let a little thing like death stop him from hanging in there with Eddie in his epic struggle to get his life back on track.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780061968495
              Available in EPUB
              Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
              Language en
              Released NZ 22 Sep 2009
              Publisher HarperCollins
              Interest Age 13+ years
              Ebook Terms 26 loan limit on HarperCollins titles view?
              Loan Credits 26
              Each copy purchased buys 26 loan credits to be used on your eplatform portal
              View details for this title
              Taking Aim: Power and Pain, Teens and Guns

              Taking Aim: Power and Pain, Teens and Guns (Paperback)

              By Cart, Michael; Aronson, Marc; Averett, Edward; Block, Francesca Lia; Crutcher, Chris

              • RRP: $22.99
              • $17.24
              • Save $5.75
              • To Order

              This anthology of stories from acclaimed young adult authors examines the thought-provoking issues of gun violence, gun control, and gun ownership --

              ISBN 9780062327369
              Released NZ 24 Oct 2016
              Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
              Interest Age 13+ years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
              View details for this title
              Period 8
                

              Period 8 (EPUB ebook)

              By Crutcher, Chris

              Period 8 by Chris Crutcher has descriptive copy which is not yet available from the Publisher.

              ISBN 9780062190246
              Available in EPUB
              Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
              Language en
              Released NZ 26 Mar 2013
              Publisher HarperCollins
              Interest Age 14+ years
              Ebook Terms 26 loan limit on HarperCollins titles view?
              Loan Credits 26
              Each copy purchased buys 26 loan credits to be used on your eplatform portal
              View details for this title
              Total 38 jump to: go ‹ previous1234next ›