Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by John Nichol

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 61 jump to: go ‹ previous...23456...next ›
              Tail-End Charlies: The Last Battles of the Bomber War, 1944-45
               

              Tail-End Charlies: The Last Battles of the Bomber War, 1944-45 (Trade Paperback / Paperback, illustrated edition)

              By Nichol, John; Rennell, Tony

              • RRP: $59.50
              • $47.60
              • Save $11.90
              • In Stock US

              Originally published: London; New York: Viking, 2004.

              ISBN 9780312378066
              Released NZ 1 Apr 2008
              Publisher St. Martin's Griffin
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              Thomas Carlyle
               

              Thomas Carlyle (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Nichol, John

              • RRP: $81.99
              • $81.99
              • To Order

              This 1892 biography emphasises the significance and continuing importance of Carlyle's writings as a historian and social commentator.

              ISBN 9781108034470
              Released NZ 17 Nov 2011
              Publisher Cambridge University Press
              Interest Age 19+ years
              Series English Men of Letters 39 Volume Set
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
              View details for this title
              Byron
               

              Byron (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Nichol, John

              • RRP: $76.50
              • $76.50
              • To Order

              First published in 1880, this biography explores the flamboyant life and highly influential works of Lord Byron (1788-1824).

              ISBN 9781108034555
              Released NZ 24 Nov 2011
              Publisher Cambridge University Press
              Interest Age 19+ years
              Series English Men of Letters 39 Volume Set
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
              View details for this title
              Francis Bacon, His Life and Philosophy
                

              Francis Bacon, His Life and Philosophy (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Nichol, John

              • Imp. $75.99
              • $75.99
              • No availability locally

              Originally published in 1907. Author: Nichol, John, 1833-1894 Language: English Keywords: Bacon, Francis, 1561-1626 Many of the earliest books, particularly those dating back to the 1900s and before, are now extremely scarce and increasingly expensive. Obscure Press are republish...ing these classic works in affordable, high quality, modern editions, using the original text and artwork.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781846649240
              Released NZ 14 Feb 2006
              Publisher Read Books
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
              View details for this title
              Thomas Carlyle (Biography)
               

              Thomas Carlyle (Biography) (Hardback)

              By Nichol, John

              • RRP: $218.99
              • $218.99
              • Backorder UK
              ISBN 9781435369498
              Released NZ 13 Nov 2007
              Publisher Indypublish.com
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced (on backorder); allow 4-8 weeks
              View details for this title
              Biographische und literarische Anekdoten
                

              Biographische und literarische Anekdoten (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Nichol, John

              • RRP: $132.99
              • $132.99
              • In Stock US

              Biographische und literarische Anekdoten ist ein unver nderter, hochwertiger Nachdruck der Originalausgabe aus dem Jahr 1786. Hansebooks ist Herausgeber von Literatur zu unterschiedlichen Themengebieten wie Forschung und Wissenschaft, Reisen und Expeditionen, Kochen und Ern hrung..., Medizin und weiteren Genres. Der Schwerpunkt des Verlages liegt auf dem Erhalt historischer Literatur. Viele Werke historischer Schriftsteller und Wissenschaftler sind heute nur noch als Antiquit ten erh ltlich. Hansebooks verlegt diese B cher neu und tr gt damit zum Erhalt selten gewordener Literatur und historischem Wissen auch f r die Zukunft bei.
              Read more

              ISBN 9783743368040
              Released NZ 23 Oct 2016
              Publisher Hansebooks
              Interest Age General Audience
              Language (German)
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              Point of Impact: A completely gripping military thriller
               

              Point of Impact: A completely gripping military thriller (EPUB ebook – Digital original)

              By Nichol, John

              Mysterious deaths hint at a conspiracy at the heart of the British military...RAF Tempests are crashing on apparently routine missions, and no one knows why. The Accidental Investigation Bureau is blaming pilot error. Suspicious of a cover-up, Flight Lieutenant Drew Miller, whos...e own friends have been among the fatalities, determines to find out more. It soon becomes clear that the key to the mystery is in the cockpit of the Tempest - but how can he unlock it without ending up dead himself? A scintillating, poignant thriller, that offers a telling insight into the world of a fighter pilot, perfect for fans of Frederick Forsyth, Mark Greaney and Vince Flynn. Praise for Point of Impact'The most explosive thriller I've read all year' Andy McNab 'The glimpses of aerial combat are brilliant - you can smell the hot oil, the sweat and the fear' Daily Telegraph 'Nichol's writing skills are first rate, offering an insight into the world of fighter pilots in a far more accessible way than any work of non-fiction' Daily Express
              Read more

              ISBN 9781788637503
              Available in EPUB
              Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
              Language en
              Released NZ 6 Jan 2020
              Publisher Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
              Interest Age General Audience
              View details for this title
              Exclusion Zone
               

              Exclusion Zone (EPUB ebook – Digital original)

              By Nichol, John

              Fight for your country, and fight to the last...The Falklands, 1999 - a vital strategic stronghold and oil-rich gem in the South Atlantic. For RAF pilot Sean Riever it is a place of ghosts. For Jane Clark, his co-pilot, a place of tough decisions. An air of menace hangs over the... desolate, battle-scarred landscape; present dangers and past mysteries lurk in the shadows on the skyline. Then a Royal Navy nuclear submarine disappears, and Argentine jet fighters penetrate the Exclusion Zone. As Sean and his companions stave off wave after wave of enemy attacks, their defense becomes an epic battle for survival - in which victory can only be achieved at a terrible price... A pulse-pounding, high-octane action thriller, Exclusion Zone is a tour de force, perfect for fans of Frederick Forsyth, Mark Greaney and Kyle Mills. Praise for Exclusion Zone'Fresh and compelling ... as good as anything written by Jeffrey Archer or Dick Francis' Daily Mail 'A cracking combat thriller with a delicate love story' Mail on Sunday
              Read more

              ISBN 9781788637510
              Available in EPUB
              Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
              Language en
              Released NZ 6 Jan 2020
              Publisher Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series The Sean Riever Thrillers
              View details for this title
              Stinger
               

              Stinger (EPUB ebook – Digital original)

              By Nichol, John

              Out of the frying pan, and into the fire...Sickened by the bloody toll of a war that cost the lives of friends and the woman he loved, RAF pilot Sean Riever transfers units, heading for the remote mountains of Afghanistan. His work there with the mine-clearance teams takes him a...s close to the shadow of war as he ever wants to get again. But when a British passenger plane is shot down by a Stinger missile over the east coast of America, Sean is forced once more into the cauldron of war. Gulf War hero John Nichol returns with a breathlessly exciting thriller, combining full-throttle action with frightening topicality, perfect for fans of James Deegan, Frederick Forsyth and Chris Ryan.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781788637527
              Available in EPUB
              Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
              Language en
              Released NZ 6 Jan 2020
              Publisher Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series The Sean Riever Thrillers
              View details for this title
              Vanishing Point: An unputdownable military thriller
               

              Vanishing Point: An unputdownable military thriller (EPUB ebook – Digital original)

              By Nichol, John

              In this search for truth, nobody can be trusted, and everyone is an enemy...One of the RAF's ace pilots, Flight Lieutenant Mark Hunter was shot down and held prisoner in Iraq. Six years later, the nightmare continues, as Mark watches his fellow servicemen being tortured by the de...vastating effects of the Gulf War. Determined to find out why the information about lethal cocktails of drugs is classified, and why the establishment has built a wall of silence around Iraqi chemical weapons, Mark resolves to discover the shameful secrets buried in Desert Storm. Up against the combined might of the military and the government, Mark finds every avenue leads to a dead end. His only hope lies in enlisting the help of Dr Natalie Kennedy, one of the UN's crack scientists. But he only has ten days before his squadron returns to Kuwait... Gulf War hero John Nichol is back in the hot seat with his second novel, a thrilling roller-coaster ride of heroism and intrigue, perfect for fans of Fredrick Forsyth, Brad Thor and Andy McNab. Praise for Vanishing Point'Nichol's writing skills are first rate' Daily Express 'A thriller with a serious message' The Times'Bristles with topicality and anger' Daily Telegraph
              Read more

              ISBN 9781788637541
              Available in EPUB
              Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
              Language en
              Released NZ 6 Jan 2020
              Publisher Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
              Interest Age General Audience
              View details for this title
              Total 61 jump to: go ‹ previous...23456...next ›