Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Sara Barnard

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 31 jump to: go ‹ previous...234next ›
              A Quiet Kind of Thunder
               

              A Quiet Kind of Thunder (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Reprint ed.)

              By Barnard, Sara

              • RRP: $27.99
              • $22.39
              • Save $5.60
              • Backorder US

              Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson. A girl who can't speak and a boy who can't hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally resonant novel for readers who enjoyed John Green's Turtles All the Way Down (Bookl...ist) from bestselling author Sara Barnard. Steffi doesn't talk, but she has so much to say. Rhys can't hear, but he can listen. Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life. The condition's name has always felt ironic to her, because she certainly does not select not to speak. In fact, she would give anything to be able to speak as easily and often as everyone around her can. She suffers from crippling anxiety, and uncontrollably, in most situations simply can't open her mouth to get out the words. Steffi's been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He's deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she's assigned to help him acclimate. To Rhys, it doesn't matter that Steffi doesn't talk. As they find ways to communicate, Steffi discovers that she does have a voice, and that she's falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it. But as she starts to overcome a lifelong challenge, she'll soon confront questions about the nature of her own identity and the very essence of what it is to know another person.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781534402423
              Released NZ 29 Jan 2019
              Publisher Simon Pulse
              Interest Age 14+ years
              Availability
              Internationally sourced (on backorder); allow 4-8 weeks
              View details for this title
              Total 31 jump to: go ‹ previous...234next ›