Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Avni Doshi

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 3 jump to: go
              Burnt Sugar: Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2020
               

              Burnt Sugar: Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2020 (Paperback)

              By Doshi, Avni

              • RRP: $24.00
              • $18.00
              • Save $6.00
              • Ready to ship

              In her youth, Tara was wild. She abandoned her arranged marriage to join an ashram, took a hapless artist for a lover, rebelled against every social expectation of a good Indian woman - all with her young child in tow. Years on, she is an old woman with a fading memory, mixing up... her maid's wages and leaving the gas on all night, and her grown-up daughter is faced with the task of caring for a mother who never seemed to care for her. This is a poisoned love story. But not between lovers - between mother and daughter. Sharp as a blade and laced with caustic wit, Burnt Sugar gradually untangles the knot of memory and myth that bind two women together, revealing the truth that lies beneath.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780241989142
              Released NZ 23 Jun 2021
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              1 Ready to ship - Allow 3-5 days
              999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Burnt Sugar: Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2020

              Burnt Sugar: Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2020 (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Doshi, Avni

              • RRP: $35.00
              • $26.25
              • Save $8.75
              • In Stock At Publisher

              A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal 'Poignant and economical, this intergenerational story speaks of motherhood and memory, love and the language for it, trauma and truth-searching' Vogue India 'Crystalline and almost surgical, a compulsively... readable examination of toxic relationships and the ties that bind us' Sharlene Teo, author of Ponti In her youth, Tara was wild. She abandoned her loveless marriage to join an ashram, endured a brief stint as a beggar (mostly to spite her affluent parents), and spent years chasing after a dishevelled, homeless 'artist' - all with her young child in tow. Now she is forgetting things, mixing up her maid's wages and leaving the gas on all night, and her grown-up daughter is faced with the task of caring for a woman who never cared for her. This is a love story and it is a story about betrayal. But not between lovers - between mother and daughter. Sharp as a blade and laced with caustic wit, Burnt Sugar unpicks the slippery, choking cord of memory and myth that binds two women together, making and unmaking them endlessly.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780241441510
              Released NZ 14 Aug 2020
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Burnt Sugar
               

              Burnt Sugar (Hardback)

              By Doshi, Avni

              • RRP: $55.50
              • $42.85
              • Save $12.65
              • In Stock US

              For fans of Deborah Levy's Hot Milk and Sheila Heti's Motherhood, a searing literary debut novel set in India about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal I would be lying if I say my mother's misery has never given me pleasure, says Antara, Tara's now-adult daughter. In h...er youth, Tara was wild. She abandoned her marriage to join an ashram, and while Tara is busy as a partner to the ashram's spiritual leader, Baba, little Antara is cared for by an older devotee, Kali Mata, an American who came to the ashram after a devastating loss. Tara also embarks on a stint as a beggar (mostly to spite her affluent parents) and spends years chasing a disheveled, homeless artist, all with young Antara in tow. But now Tara is forgetting things, and Antara is an adult--an artist and married--and must search for a way to make peace with a past that haunts her as she confronts the task of caring for a woman who never cared for her. Sharp as a blade and laced with caustic wit, Burnt Sugar unpicks the slippery, choking cord of memory and myth that binds mother and daughter. Is Tara's memory loss real? Are Antara's memories fair? In vivid and visceral prose, Tibor Jones South Asia Prize-winning writer Avni Doshi tells a story, at once shocking and empathetic, about love and betrayal between a mother and a daughter. A journey into shifting memories, altering identities, and the subjective nature of truth, Burnt Sugar is a stunning and unforgettable debut.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781419752926
              Released NZ 4 May 2021
              Publisher Overlook Press
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Total 3 jump to: go