Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Matthew Ward

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 22 jump to: go ‹ previous123next ›
              Legacy of Ash: Book One of the Legacy Trilogy

              Legacy of Ash: Book One of the Legacy Trilogy (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Ward, Matthew

              • RRP: $37.99
              • $29.63
              • Save $8.36
              • In Stock At Publisher

              Packed full of desperate battles, feuding families and shadowy intrigue, LEGACY OF ASH by British debut author Matthew Ward is epic in every sense - an unmissable fantasy debut for 2019

              ISBN 9780356513362
              Released NZ 26 Nov 2019
              Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series The Legacy Trilogy
              Availability
              In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              War of the World Records

              War of the World Records (Hardback, 2nd edition)

              By Ward, Matthew

              • RRP: $26.00
              • $19.50
              • Save $6.50
              • In Stock At Publisher

              When the rivalry between the Whipples and the Goldwins escalates to an all-out war as the World Record World Championships draw near, recordless Arthur Whipple and his unlikely ally Ruby Goldwin unravel the mystery of the Lyon's Curse and the secrets of their fathers' shared past....
              Read more

              ISBN 9781595146915
              Released NZ 28 Jan 2015
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age 8-12 years
              Series Fantastic Family Whipple Novels
              Availability
              In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              War of the World Records

              War of the World Records (Paperback, 2nd edition)

              By Ward, Matthew

              • RRP: $21.00
              • $15.75
              • Save $5.25
              • In Stock At Publisher

              Discover who will be crowned the world's most record-breaking family in the book that's perfect for fans of The Guinness Book of World Records ! The rivalry between the Whipples and the Goldwins escalates to an all-out war as the World Record World Championships draw near. When s...inister clowns Overkill and Undercut cause a regulation game of hide-and-seek to go horrifically wrong, recordless Arthur Whipple and his unlikely ally, Ruby Goldwin, set out to catch the clowns' mysterious boss, known only as the Treasurer. The young detectives follow the clues through darkened alleyways, dingy nightclubs, and the gothic halls of the World Record Archives, where they unravel the mystery of the Lyon's Curse and the secrets of their fathers' shared past. In the end, Arthur must fight to save his family as he struggles to earn his first world record and prove himself worthy of the Whipple name.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781595146922
              Released NZ 16 May 2016
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age Children
              Series Fantastic Family Whipple Novels
              Availability
              In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              The Fantastic Family Whipple
               

              The Fantastic Family Whipple (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Ward, Matthew

              • RRP: $15.99
              • $12.47
              • Save $3.52
              • In Stock At Publisher

              The Whipple family is known far and wide for having broken more world records than any other family on Earth. The only blight on the family name? Eleven-year-old Arthur. Arthur hasn't won a single world record. But when the Whipples suffer a series of catastrophes - Arthur might ...be the only one who can save his family from defeat... or worse.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781595146908
              Released NZ 20 Nov 2014
              Publisher RAZORBILL
              Interest Age Children
              Series Fantastic Family Whipple
              Availability
              In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              The Fashion System
               

              The Fashion System (Trade Paperback / Paperback, New edition)

              By Barthes, Roland; Translated by Ward, Matthew; Howard, Richard

              • RRP: $64.00
              • $64.00
              • To Order

              In his consideration of the language of the fashion magazine--the structural analysis of descriptions of women's clothing by writers about fashion--Barthes gives us a brief history of semiology. At the same time, he identifies economics as the underlying reason for the luxuriant ...prose of the fashion magazine: Calculating, industrial society is obliged to form consumers who don't calculate; if clothing's producers and consumers had the same consciousness, clothing would be bought (and produced) only at the very slow rate of its dilapidation.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780520071773
              Released NZ 15 Jul 1990
              Publisher University of California Press
              Interest Age 19+ years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
              View details for this title
              The Stranger
                

              The Stranger (Hardback)

              By Camus, Albert; Ward, Matthew

              • Imp. $42.50
              • $34.00
              • Save $8.50
              • No availability locally

              Story of a man who commits a pointless murder, in which the author asks if there is a God or just a cold indifferent universe.

              ISBN 9780679420262
              Released NZ 1 Feb 1997
              Publisher Random House
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series Everyman's Library Classics & Contemporary Classics
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
              View details for this title
              Frostgrave: Second Chances: A Tale of the Frozen City
               

              Frostgrave: Second Chances: A Tale of the Frozen City (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Ward, Matthew; Translated by McCullough, Joseph A.

              • RRP: $23.50
              • $18.80
              • Save $4.70
              • Internationally sourced

              Time is running out for Yelen and Mirika Semova. Although the sisters have a gained a reputation for success among the explorers of the Frozen City, their lives are haunted by a curse that hangs over Yelen. The more she uses her magic, the closer the demon Azzanar comes to claimi...ng her, body and soul. When the sisters recover a strange artifact, dark truths are revealed, old alliances are broken, and the sisters are separated. Each sister is faced with terrible choices. Who will they turn to for help, and what price will they pay to get it?
              Read more

              ISBN 9781472824646
              Released NZ 1 Dec 2017
              Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series Frostgrave
              Availability
              Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              Frostgrave: Oathgold: A Tale of the Frozen City

              Frostgrave: Oathgold: A Tale of the Frozen City (Paperback)

              By Ward, Matthew

              • RRP: $19.99
              • $15.59
              • Save $4.40
              • In Stock At Publisher

              Valdomar is a wizard for hire. Thanks to his magical talents, he is a tracker and bounty-hunter without peer, with a reputation for honour and fair-dealing. However, when his reckless apprentice lands him in prison, he must accept a deal with a crime boss in order to obtain his f...reedom. Forced to scour the ruins of Frostgrave in search of a young woman who stole an unknown magical treasure, he finds more questions than answers. Who is this young woman? What did she steal? And why did she run? More importantly, why is another famous bounty-hunting wizard also on her trail? As the chase continues, Valdomar finds that his honour is tested time and time again. Which oaths will be broken and which will remain sacred? In the end, the greatest question remains, can a wizard keep his word in the ruins of the Frozen City?
              Read more

              ISBN 9781472830616
              Released NZ 1 Aug 2018
              Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series Frostgrave
              Availability
              In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              Frostgrave: Oathgold: A Tale of the Frozen City
               

              Frostgrave: Oathgold: A Tale of the Frozen City (EPUB ebook)

              By Ward, Matthew

              Kazran is a pursuer, a member of an ancient bounty-hunting order. Wielding the magics of the mythical Court of Crows, he has lived a life dedicated to bringing justice to the wronged, without fear or favour. But when circumstance forces him to accept commission from a notorious c...rime lord, Kazran becomes entangled in a web of deception and betrayal. As he scours Frostgrave's ruins in search of a young woman and her stolen magical treasure, he finds more questions than answers. Who is she? What exactly did she steal? Why did she run? And just where does Kazran's mysterious benefactor stand on the matter? In the end, the greatest question remains - does justice have any place in the Frozen City?
              Read more

              ISBN 9781472830623
              Available in EPUB
              Software Adobe Ebook Compatible Devices
              Language en
              Released NZ 28 Jun 2018
              Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series Frostgrave
              View details for this title
              Frostgrave: Second Chances: A Tale of the Frozen City
               

              Frostgrave: Second Chances: A Tale of the Frozen City (EPUB ebook)

              By Ward, Matthew

              Time is running out for Yelen and Mirika Semova. Though the sisters have earned an enviable reputation amongst their fellow explorers of the Frozen City, their lives are haunted by a curse - the more Yelen uses her magic, the closer the demon Azzanar comes to claiming her, body a...nd soul. But Azzanar is not the only one manipulating Yelen and Mirika... When catastrophe separates the Semova sisters, it falls to Yelen to save them both. But in a city shrouded in deceit, who can she turn to for help... and what price will she pay to get it?
              Read more

              ISBN 9781472824653
              Available in EPUB
              Software Adobe Ebook Compatible Devices
              Language en
              Released NZ 30 Nov 2017
              Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series Frostgrave
              View details for this title
              Total 22 jump to: go ‹ previous123next ›