Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Jessica Handler

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 6 jump to: go
              The Magnetic Girl: A Novel
               

              The Magnetic Girl: A Novel (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Handler, Jessica

              • RRP: $34.99
              • $31.49
              • Save $3.50
              • Pub Date
                1 Nov 20

              For fans of Emma Donoghue and Alexander Chee, The Magnetic Girl is set at a time when the emerging presence of electricity raised suspicions about the other-worldly gospel of Spiritualism, and when women's desire for political, cultural, and sexual presence electrified the countr...y.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781938235740
              Released NZ 1 Nov 2020
              Publisher Misc - Alliance Distribution
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once released
              View details for this title
              The Magnetic Girl Lib/E
                

              The Magnetic Girl Lib/E (Audio CD / Audio)

              By Handler, Jessica; Read by Pressley, Brittany; Eiden, Andrew

              • RRP: $190.99
              • $164.91
              • Save $26.08
              • Not Yet Available

              In rural North Georgia two decades after the Civil War, thirteen-year-old Lulu Hurst reaches high into her father's bookshelf and pulls out an obscure book, The Truth of Mesmeric Influence. Deemed gangly and undesirable, Lulu wants more than a lifetime of caring for her disabled ...baby brother, Leo, with whom she shares a profound and supernatural mental connection. I only wanted to be Lulu Hurst, the girl who captivated her brother until he could walk and talk and stand tall on his own. Then I would be the girl who could leave. Lulu begins to captivate her friends and family, controlling their thoughts and actions for brief moments at a time. After Lulu convinces a cousin she conducts electricity with her touch, her father sees a unique opportunity. He grooms his tall and indelicate daughter into an electrifying new woman: The Magnetic Girl. Lulu travels the Eastern seaboard, captivating enthusiastic crowds by lifting grown men in parlor chairs and throwing them across the stage with her electrical charge. While adjusting to life on the vaudeville stage, Lulu harbors a secret belief that she can use her newfound gifts, as well as her growing notoriety, to heal her brother. As she delves into the mysterious book's pages, she discovers keys to her father's past and her own future-but how will she harness its secrets to heal her family? Gorgeously envisioned, The Magnetic Girl is set at a time when the emerging presence of electricity raised suspicions about the other-worldly gospel of Spiritualism, and when women's desire for political, cultural, and sexual presence electrified the country. Squarely in the realm of Emma Donoghue's The Wonder and Leslie Parry's Church of Marvels, The Magnetic Girl is a unique portrait of a forgotten period in history, seen through the story of one young woman's power over her family, her community, and ultimately, herself.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781982598655
              Released NZ 9 Apr 2019
              Publisher Blackstone Publishing
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Showing not yet available from supplier. Ships once released.
              View details for this title
              Braving the Fire: A Guide to Writing about Grief and Loss
               

              Braving the Fire: A Guide to Writing about Grief and Loss (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Handler, Jessica

              • RRP: $38.99
              • $32.96
              • Save $6.03
              • In Stock US

              A literary and practical guide to writing memoirs of grief or loss Braving the Fire is the first book to provide a roadmap for the journey of writing honestly about grief and loss. Created specifically by and for the writer who has experienced illness, loss, or the death of a lov...ed one, Braving the Fire takes the writers' perspective in exploring the challenges and rewards for the writer who has chosen, with courage and candor, to be the memory keeper. Loosely organized around the familiar Kubler-Ross Five Stages of Grief, the book uses these stages to help the reader-writer though the emotional and writing tasks before them, incorporating interviews and excerpts from other treasured writers who've done the same. Each section also includes advice and wisdom from leading doctors and therapists about the physical experience of grieving. Each chapter ends with a selection of intriguing, enjoyable writing exercises that focus on the chapter content. It's On Death and Dying meets Bird By Bird, presented in the spirit and format of Reading Like a Writer.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781250014634
              Released NZ 10 Dec 2013
              Publisher St. Martin's Griffin
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              The Magnetic Girl
                

              The Magnetic Girl (Audio CD / Audio)

              By Handler, Jessica; Read by Pressley, Brittany; Eiden, Andrew

              • RRP: $89.50
              • $74.29
              • Save $15.21
              • In Stock US

              In rural North Georgia two decades after the Civil War, thirteen-year-old Lulu Hurst reaches high into her father's bookshelf and pulls out an obscure book, The Truth of Mesmeric Influence. Deemed gangly and undesirable, Lulu wants more than a lifetime of caring for her disabled ...baby brother, Leo, with whom she shares a profound and supernatural mental connection. I only wanted to be Lulu Hurst, the girl who captivated her brother until he could walk and talk and stand tall on his own. Then I would be the girl who could leave. Lulu begins to captivate her friends and family, controlling their thoughts and actions for brief moments at a time. After Lulu convinces a cousin she conducts electricity with her touch, her father sees a unique opportunity. He grooms his tall and indelicate daughter into an electrifying new woman: The Magnetic Girl. Lulu travels the Eastern seaboard, captivating enthusiastic crowds by lifting grown men in parlor chairs and throwing them across the stage with her electrical charge. While adjusting to life on the vaudeville stage, Lulu harbors a secret belief that she can use her newfound gifts, as well as her growing notoriety, to heal her brother. As she delves into the mysterious book's pages, she discovers keys to her father's past and her own future-but how will she harness its secrets to heal her family? Gorgeously envisioned, The Magnetic Girl is set at a time when the emerging presence of electricity raised suspicions about the other-worldly gospel of Spiritualism, and when women's desire for political, cultural, and sexual presence electrified the country. Squarely in the realm of Emma Donoghue's The Wonder and Leslie Parry's Church of Marvels, The Magnetic Girl is a unique portrait of a forgotten period in history, seen through the story of one young woman's power over her family, her community, and ultimately, herself.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781982598662
              Released NZ 9 Apr 2019
              Publisher Blackstone Publishing
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Invisible Sisters: A Memoir
               

              Invisible Sisters: A Memoir (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Handler, Jessica

              • RRP: $44.50
              • $38.39
              • Save $6.11
              • In Stock US

              Originally published: New York: PublicAffairs, c2009.

              ISBN 9780820348926
              Released NZ 30 Sep 2015
              Publisher University of Georgia Press
              Interest Age 19+ years
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              The Magnetic Girl: A Novel
               

              The Magnetic Girl: A Novel (Hardback)

              By Handler, Jessica

              • RRP: $57.50
              • $49.47
              • Save $8.03
              • In Stock US

              For fans of Emma Donoghue and Alexander Chee, The Magnetic Girl is set at a time when the emerging presence of electricity raised suspicions about the other-worldly gospel of Spiritualism, and when women's desire for political, cultural, and sexual presence electrified the countr...y.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781938235481
              Released NZ 25 Apr 2019
              Publisher Hub City Press
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Total 6 jump to: go