Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by David Chariandy

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 6 jump to: go
              I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter To My Daughter
               

              I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter To My Daughter (Paperback)

              By Chariandy, David

              • RRP: $24.99
              • $19.49
              • Save $5.50
              • Pub Date
                31 Aug 21

              'There is, as you pick it up, nothing to prepare you for its power' OBSERVER 'Quite simply, one of the most beautiful books I have ever read' AMINATTA FORNA How do we navigate our complex histories for our children? What is our duty to share and what must we leave for them to dis...cover? Writing to his daughter, David Chariandy asks difficult, unsettling, perhaps impossible questions - questions made all the more poignant by our current political landscape. With tender, spare and luminous prose, Chariandy looks both into his heart and mind and out to the world and humanity. In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, this is a book about race; this is a book about family.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781526602909
              Released NZ 31 Aug 2021
              Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once released
              View details for this title
              I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter To My Daughter

              I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter To My Daughter (Hardback)

              By Chariandy, David

              • RRP: $26.99
              • $21.05
              • Save $5.94
              • In Stock At Publisher

              In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me, acclaimed novelist David Chariandy's latest is an intimate and profoundly beautiful meditation on the politics of race today When a moment of quietly ignored bigotry prompted his three-year-old daughter to ask `what... happened?', David Chariandy began wondering how to discuss with his children the politics of race. Today, in a newly heated era of struggle and divisions, he has completed a letter to his now thirteen-year-old daughter. The son of Black and South Asian migrants from Trinidad, David draws upon his personal and ancestral past, including his experiences growing up as a `visible minority' within the land of his birth, as well as the legacies of slavery, indenture and immigration. In sharing with his daughter his own story of `race', he hopes to cultivate within her a sense of identity that balances the painful truths of the past and present with hopeful possibilities for a better future. With intimacy, sensitivity and beauty, Chariandy shares the questions he is addressing to his daughter - questions of immense importance and resonance for us all.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781526602879
              Released NZ 6 May 2019
              Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              332 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Brother

              Brother (Paperback)

              By Chariandy, David

              • RRP: $21.99
              • $17.15
              • Save $4.84
              • In Stock At Publisher

              'A brilliant, powerful elegy from a living brother to a lost one, yet pulsing with rhythm, and beating with life' Marlon James, Winner of the Man Booker Prize WINNER OF THE ROGERS WRITERS' TRUST FICTION PRIZE LONGLISTED FOR THE SCOTIABANK GILLER PRIZE Michael and Francis are the ...bright, ambitious sons of Trinidadian immigrants. Coming of age in the outskirts of a sprawling city, the brothers battle against careless prejudices and low expectations. While Francis aspires to a future in music, Michael dreams of Aisha, the smartest girl in their school, whose eyes are firmly set on a life elsewhere. But one sweltering summer night the hopes of all three are violently, irrevocably cut short. In this timely and essential novel, David Chariandy builds a quietly devastating story about the love between a mother and her sons, the impact of race, masculinity and the senseless loss of young lives.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781408897287
              Released NZ 3 Jun 2019
              Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              48 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Narratives of Citizenship: Indigenous and Diasporic Peoples Unsettle the Nation-State
               

              Narratives of Citizenship: Indigenous and Diasporic Peoples Unsettle the Nation-State (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              Edited by Fleischmann, Aloys N. m.; Van Styvendale, Nancy; McCarroll, Cody; Contributions by Chariandy, David; Cho, Lily

              • RRP: $132.50
              • $101.79
              • Save $30.71
              • No availability locally

              Features thirteen essays examining literature, film, cartoons, music, etcetera, to conceptualise citizenship as a narrative construct.

              ISBN 9780888645180
              Released NZ 1 Jun 2011
              Publisher University of Alberta Press
              Interest Age 19+ years
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
              View details for this title
              No Pain Like This Body
               

              No Pain Like This Body (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Ladoo, Harold Sonny; Introduction by Chariandy, David

              • RRP: $32.50
              • $24.64
              • Save $7.86
              • In Stock US

              The A List edition of Harold Sonny Ladoo's enduring novel, a raw, unsentimental story of life in a small Caribbean community. Set in the Eastern Caribbean at the beginning of the twentieth century, No Pain Like this Body describes the perilous existence of a poor rice-growing fam...ily during the August rainy season. Their struggles to cope with illness, a drunken and unpredictable father, and the violence of the elements end in unbearable loss. Through vivid, vertiginous prose, and with brilliant economy and originality, Ladoo creates a fearful world of violation and grief, in the face of which even the most despairing efforts to endure stand out as acts of courage.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781770893740
              Released NZ 10 Oct 2013
              Publisher House of Anansi Press Ltd ,Can
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series A List
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Brother
               

              Brother (Hardback)

              By Chariandy, David

              • RRP: $46.99
              • $42.06
              • Save $4.93
              • In Stock US

              First published in 2017 in Canada by McClelland & Stewart --Title page verso.

              ISBN 9781635572049
              Released NZ 31 Jul 2018
              Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Total 6 jump to: go