Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -
            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 10.6K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Living with the Climate Crisis: Voices from Aotearoa
              

            Living with the Climate Crisis: Voices from Aotearoa (Paperback)

            Edited by Doig, Tom

            • RRP: $14.99
            • $11.99
            • Save $3.00
            • Pub Date
              9 Nov 20

            If much of the world can work together to beat a deadly pandemic, imagine what might happen if we turned our collective energy to tackling the climate crisis. This BWB Text brings together researchers, commentators, activists and writers to bear witness to the current climate cri...sis.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781988587530
            Published NZ 9 Nov 2020
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series BWB Texts
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            When the Lights Go Out
             

            When the Lights Go Out (Hardback)

            By Bray, Carys

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $31.20
            • Save $8.80
            • Pub Date
              12 Nov 20

            And what if, while preparing for disaster, you unwittingly precipitate it? While Emma Abram prepares for Christmas, her husband Chris frets about starvation and societal collapse. But it's easier to ask for forgiveness than permission. Emma longs to lower a rope and winch Chris f...rom the pit of his worries.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781786332349
            Released NZ 12 Nov 2020
            Publisher Cornerstone
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Climate Emergency Atlas: What's Happening - What We Can Do
             

            Climate Emergency Atlas: What's Happening - What We Can Do (Hardback)

            By Hooke, Dan; Foreword by Bonnin, Liz

            • RRP: $30.00
            • $22.50
            • Save $7.50
            • Pub Date
              29 Sep 20

            Our house is on fire - it's time to wake up to the climate crisis facing planet Earth before it's too late. This unique graphic altas tells you everything you need to know about the current climate emergency, and what we can do to turn things around. Which countries generate the ...highest CO2 emissions? Which coastal cities are most vulnerable to rising sea levels? What will the polar ice caps look like in 10 years' time? Which countries have successfully harnessed renewable energy sources? Packed with facts and figures and more than 30 dynamic maps, Climate Emergency Atlas is clear and easy to understand, making it the perfect reference guide for all young climate activists.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241446430
            Released NZ 29 Sep 2020
            Publisher Dorling Kindersley Publishers
            Interest Age 9-11 years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Apocalypse Never: Why Environmental Alarmism Hurts Us All
             

            Apocalypse Never: Why Environmental Alarmism Hurts Us All (Hardback)

            By Shellenberger, Michael

            • RRP: $65.00
            • $48.75
            • Save $16.25
            • Pub Date
              7 Oct 20

            Environmental expert Michael Shellenberger unleashes a scientific, fact-based broadside against eco-alarmism and the excesses of the New Left, arguing that climate change isn't a 30-year problem, but a 300-year problem --

            ISBN 9780063001695
            Released NZ 7 Oct 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The 2084 Report: A History of Global Warming from the Future

            The 2084 Report: A History of Global Warming from the Future (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Powell, James; Read by Dikeos, Gary

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The terrifying future of our world after climate change -- as predicted by a leading geochemist

            ISBN 9781529311822
            Released NZ 8 Sep 2020
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            How to Talk About Climate Change in a Way That Makes a Difference

            How to Talk About Climate Change in a Way That Makes a Difference (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Huntley, Rebecca

            • RRP: $36.99
            • $28.85
            • Save $8.14
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A self-help book for the climate era, for readers of Ross Garnaut, Tim Flannery, Hugh Mackay Why is it so hard to talk about climate change? Perhaps no other issue today is as confronting as our warming earth. But while scientists double down on the shocking figures, we still fin...d ourselves unable to discuss climate change meaningfully among friends and neighbours - or even to grapple with it ourselves. The key to progress on climate change is in the psychology of human attitudes and our ability to change. Whether you're already alarmed and engaged with the issue, concerned but disengaged, a passive skeptic or an active denier, understanding our emotional reactions to climate change - why it makes us anxious, fearful, angry or detached - is critical to coping on an individual level and convincing each other to act. This book is about understanding why people who aren't like you feel the way they do and learning to talk to them effectively. What we need are thousands - millions - of everyday conversations about the climate to enlarge the ranks of the concerned, engage the disengaged and persuade the cautious of the need for action.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760525361
            Published NZ 2 Jul 2020
            Publisher Murdoch Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            United We Are Unstoppable: 60 Inspiring Young People Saving Our World
             

            United We Are Unstoppable: 60 Inspiring Young People Saving Our World (Hardback)

            By Rathi, Akshat; Contributions by Various

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $23.39
            • Save $6.60
            • Pub Date
              13 Oct 20

            Prisoners of Geography meets No One is too Small to Make a Difference in this eye-opening collection of essays from 60 young people fighting climate change across the world.

            ISBN 9781529335941
            Released NZ 13 Oct 2020
            Publisher John Murray Press
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            When the Lights Go Out
             

            When the Lights Go Out (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Bray, Carys

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $28.86
            • Save $8.14
            • Pub Date
              17 Nov 20

            And what if, while preparing for disaster, you unwittingly precipitate it? While Emma Abram prepares for Christmas, her husband Chris frets about starvation and societal collapse. But it's easier to ask forgiveness than permission. Emma longs to lower a rope and winch Chris from ...the pit of his worries.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781786332356
            Released NZ 17 Nov 2020
            Publisher Cornerstone
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Apocalypse Never: Why Environmental Alarmism Hurts Us All

            Apocalypse Never: Why Environmental Alarmism Hurts Us All (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Shellenberger, Michael

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Now a National Bestseller! Climate change is real but it's not the end of the world. It is not even our most serious environmental problem. Michael Shellenberger has been fighting for a greener planet for decades. He helped save the world's last unprotected redwoods. He co-create...d the predecessor to today's Green New Deal. And he led a successful effort by climate scientists and activists to keep nuclear plants operating, preventing a spike of emissions. But in 2019, as some claimed billions of people are going to die, contributing to rising anxiety, including among adolescents, Shellenberger decided that, as a lifelong environmental activist, leading energy expert, and father of a teenage daughter, he needed to speak out to separate science from fiction. Despite decades of news media attention, many remain ignorant of basic facts. Carbon emissions peaked and have been declining in most developed nations for over a decade. Deaths from extreme weather, even in poor nations, declined 80 percent over the last four decades. And the risk of Earth warming to very high temperatures is increasingly unlikely thanks to slowing population growth and abundant natural gas. Curiously, the people who are the most alarmist about the problems also tend to oppose the obvious solutions. What's really behind the rise of apocalyptic environmentalism There are powerful financial interests. There are desires for status and power. But most of all there is a desire among supposedly secular people for transcendence. This spiritual impulse can be natural and healthy. But in preaching fear without love, and guilt without redemption, the new religion is failing to satisfy our deepest psychological and existential needs.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780063074767
            Released NZ 3 Aug 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Future Earth: A Radical Vision for What's Possible in the Age of Warming
             

            The Future Earth: A Radical Vision for What's Possible in the Age of Warming (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Holthaus, Eric

            • RRP: $54.99
            • $41.24
            • Save $13.75
            • Pub Date
              7 Oct 20

            The first hopeful book about climate change, The Future Earth shows readers how to reverse the short- and long-term effects of climate change over the next three decades. The basics of climate science are easy.

            ISBN 9780062883162
            Released NZ 7 Oct 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 10.6K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›