Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Historical Fiction

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 72.0K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Call of the Raven
              

            Call of the Raven (Hardback)

            By Smith, Wilbur

            • RRP: $61.74
            • $61.74
            • Pub Date
              8 Sep 20

            The new novel by Wilbur Smith and the prequel to A Falcon Flies. 'The right of the cat over the mouse, of the strong over the weak. The natural law of existence.' Augustus Mungo St John, A Falcon Flies The son of a wealthy plantation owner and a doting mother, Augustus Mungo St J...ohn is accustomed to the wealth and luxuries his privilege has afforded him. That is until he returns from university to discover his family ruined, his inheritance stolen and his childhood sweetheart, Camilla, taken by the conniving Chester Marion. Fuelled by anger, and love, Mungo swears vengeance and devotes his life to saving Camilla - and destroying Chester. Camilla, trapped in New Orleans and powerless to her position as a kept slave and Chester's brutish behaviour, must learn to do whatever it takes to survive. As Mungo battles his own fate and misfortune to achieve the revenge that drives him, and regain his power in the world, he must question what it takes for a man to survive when he has nothing, and what he is willing to do in order to get what he wants. An action-packed and gripping adventure by bestselling author, Wilbur Smith, about one man's quest for revenge, the brutality of slavery in America and the imbalance between humans that can drive - or defeat - us.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781499862294
            Released NZ 8 Sep 2020
            Publisher Zaffre
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 8 Sep 2020
            View details for this title
            Liar

            Liar (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Pearse, Lesley

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $27.75
            • Save $9.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Amelia White dreams of being a reporter. The closest she's come is selling advertising in the local paper - until the fateful day she stumbles on a shocking scoop. Round the corner from her home, she discovers the body of a murder victim, dumped among the rubbish. When the police... and reporters descend, Amelia is horrified at the lies soon to be spread about the young woman. Determined to protect the victim from these smears, she convinces her paper's editor to let her tell the true story. And when another body is found, Amelia discovers that she may be the only one with any chance of learning the truth and stopping more killings. If only she can work out who the liar is . . .
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241426616
            Released NZ 2 Jul 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Dictionary of Lost Words

            The Dictionary of Lost Words (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Williams, Pip

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $26.24
            • Save $8.75
            • To Order/ Indent titles

            In 1901, the word 'Bondmaid' was discovered missing from the Oxford English Dictionary. This is the story of the girl who stole it. Esme is born into a world of words. Motherless and irrepressibly curious, she spends her childhood in the 'Scriptorium', a garden shed in Oxford whe...re her father and a team of dedicated lexicographers are collecting words for the very first Oxford English Dictionary. Esme's place is beneath the sorting table, unseen and unheard. One day a slip of paper containing the word 'bondmaid' flutters to the floor. Esme rescues the slip and stashes it in an old wooden case that belongs to her friend, Lizzie, a young servant in the big house. Esme begins to collect other words from the Scriptorium that are misplaced, discarded or have been neglected by the dictionary men. They help her make sense of the world. Over time, Esme realises that some words are considered more important than others, and that words and meanings relating to women's experiences often go unrecorded. While she dedicates her life to the Oxford English Dictionary, secretly, she begins to collect words for another dictionary: THE DICTIONARY OF LOST WORDS. Set when the women's suffrage movement was at its height and the Great War loomed, THE DICTIONARY OF LOST WORDS reveals a lost narrative, hidden between the lines of a history written by men. It's a delightful, lyrical and deeply thought-provoking celebration of words, and the power of language to shape the world and our experience of it.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781925972597
            Published NZ 31 Mar 2020
            Publisher Affirm Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            Gulliver's Wife

            Gulliver's Wife (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Chater, Lauren

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Birth. Death. Wonder ... One woman's journey to the edge of love and loyalty from the bestselling author of The Lace Weaver London, 1702. When her husband is lost at sea, Mary Burton Gulliver, midwife and herbalist, is forced to rebuild her life without him. But three years later... when Lemuel Gulliver is brought home, fevered and communicating only in riddles, her ordered world is turned upside down. In a climate of suspicion, poverty and violence, Mary is caught in a crossfire of superstition and fear driven by her husband's outlandish claims of the wonders he has seen, and it is up to her to navigate a passage to safety for herself and her daughter, and the vulnerable women in her care. But when a fellow sailor, a dangerous man with nothing to lose, appears to hold sway over her husband, Mary's world descends deeper into chaos, and she must set out on her own journey to discover the truth of Gulliver's travels ... and the landscape of her own heart. Praise for The Lace Weaver : `A beautifully written and utterly compelling story of love and war ... exquisite as the lace the women of the story weave.' Kate Forsyth
            Read more

            ISBN 9781925596380
            Published NZ 1 Apr 2020
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Australia
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            A Rising Man: Sam Wyndham Book 1
             

            A Rising Man: Sam Wyndham Book 1 (Paperback)

            By Mukherjee, Abir

            • RRP: $29.50
            • $26.88
            • Save $2.62
            • No availability locally

            Captain Sam Wyndham, former Scotland Yard detective, is a new arrival to Calcutta. Desperately seeking a fresh start after his experiences during the Great War, Wyndham has been recruited to head up a new post in the police force. But with barely a moment to acclimatise to his ne...w life, Wyndham is caught up in a murder investigation.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781784701345
            Released NZ 3 Jul 2017
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Sam Wyndham
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
            View details for this title
            A Room Made of Leaves

            A Room Made of Leaves (Hardback)

            By Grenville, Kate

            • RRP: $48.00
            • $38.40
            • Save $9.60
            • Reprinting

            The first new novel in almost ten years from award-winning, best-selling author Kate Grenville.

            ISBN 9781922330024
            Published NZ 2 Jul 2020
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Reprinting
            View details for this title
            The Black Swan of Paris: The heart-breaking, gripping historical thriller for fans of Heather Morris

            The Black Swan of Paris: The heart-breaking, gripping historical thriller for fans of Heather Morris (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Robards, Karen

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            From the number one New York Times bestselling author comes an historical thriller that will take your breath away

            ISBN 9781529338218
            Released NZ 7 Jul 2020
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Royal
             

            Royal (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Steel, Danielle

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • Pub Date
              25 Aug 20

            Royal is a sweeping historical novel from the world's favourite storyteller, Danielle Steel.

            ISBN 9781509878185
            Released NZ 25 Aug 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Wolf Hall

            Wolf Hall (Paperback)

            By Mantel, Hilary

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $18.74
            • Save $6.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Winner of the Man Booker Prize The first book in Hilary Mantel's award-winning Wolf Hall trilogy, with a new cover design to celebrate the publication of the much anticipated The Mirror and the Light

            ISBN 9780008381691
            Released NZ 2 Dec 2019
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series The Wolf Hall Trilogy
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Spirited
             

            Spirited (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Cohen, Julie

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Pub Date
              28 Jul 20

            The new novel SPIRITED from rising star Julie Cohen is a beautifully haunting and atmospheric historical novel - perfect for fans of The Binding, Once Upon A River and The Familiars.

            ISBN 9781409179887
            Released NZ 28 Jul 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 72.0K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›