Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Myth & Legend

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 25.6K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Atua: Maori Gods and Heroes
             

            Atua: Maori Gods and Heroes (Hardback, FME)

            By Bishop, Gavin

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $30.00
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Gavin Bishop's stunning, once-in-a-generation compendium introduces readers to the pantheon of Maori gods, demigods and heroes, and explores Aotearoa's most exciting legends from the Creation to the Migration. Meet the gods, demigods and heroes of the Maori people of Aotearoa in ...this breathtaking, large-scale illustrated book for children. Before the beginning there was nothing. No sound, no air, no colour - nothing. TE KORE, NOTHING. No one knows how long this nothing lasted because there was no time. However, in this great nothing there was a sense of waiting. Something was about to happen. Meet the gods, demigods and heroes of the Maori world, and explore Aotearoa's exciting legends from the Creation to the Migration. Fascinating, beautiful and informative, this once-in-a-generation compendium deserves a place on every bookshelf.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143775690
            Published NZ 31 Aug 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 5-8 years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Kurangaituku
             

            Kurangaituku (Paperback)

            By Hereaka, Whiti

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $28.00
            • Save $7.00
            • Available At Publisher

            Kurangaituku is the story of Hatupatu told from the perspective of the traditional 'monster', Kurangaituku, the bird woman. In the traditional story, told from the view of Hatupatu, he is out hunting and is captured by a creature that is part bird and part woman. The bird woman i...mprisons him in her cave in the mountains. Hatupatu eventually escapes and is pursued by Kurangaituku. He evades her when he leaps over hot springs, but Kurngaituku goes into them and dies.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775506560
            Published NZ 7 Nov 2021
            Publisher Huia Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Tamatekapua
             

            Tamatekapua (Paperback)

            By Bea, Aunty; Illustrated by Merewether, Katherine Q.

            • RRP: $30.00
            • $30.00
            • Available At Publisher

            Presents the legend 'Tamatekapua" in an illustrated book with a CD inserted inside back cover. Tells the story of Tamatekapua, the chief of the Te Arawa canoe. Tamatekapua and his young brother Whakaturia stole breadfruit from Uenuku, and then sailed with the high priest Ngatoroi...rangi from Hawaiiki to Maketu, where Tamatekapua and his descendants peopled the land.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780473247782
            Published NZ 1 Dec 2013
            Publisher AUNTY BEA PUBLICATIONS
            Interest Age 2-6 years
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            A Spindle Splintered
             

            A Spindle Splintered (Hardback)

            By Harrow, Alix E.

            • RRP: $42.99
            • $38.69
            • Save $4.30
            • Pub Date
              29 Dec 21

            A vivid, subversive and feminist reimagining of Sleeping Beauty, where implacable destiny is no match for courage, sisterhood, stubbornness and a good working knowledge of fairy tales. --Katherine Arden It's Zinnia Gray's twenty-first birthday, which is extra-special because it's... the last birthday she'll ever have. When she was young, an industrial accident left Zinnia with a rare condition. Not much is known about her illness, just that no-one has lived past twenty-one. Her best friend Charm is intent on making Zinnia's last birthday special with a full sleeping beauty experience, complete with a tower and a spinning wheel. But when Zinnia pricks her finger, something strange and unexpected happens, and she finds herself falling through worlds, with another sleeping beauty, just as desperate to escape her fate.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781250765352
            Released NZ 29 Dec 2021
            Publisher St Martin's Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Fractured Fables
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Song of Achilles
             

            The Song of Achilles (Paperback, Special Edition)

            By Miller, Madeline

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $24.26
            • Save $0.73
            • Reprinting locally

            A beautiful new limited edition paperback of The Song of Achilles, published as part of the Bloomsbury Modern Classics list Greece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the court of King Peleus and his perfect son Achilles. Despite their dif...ferences, Achilles befriends the shamed prince, and as they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine, their bond blossoms into something deeper - despite the displeasure of Achilles's mother Thetis, a cruel sea goddess. But when word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, Achilles must go to war in distant Troy and fulfill his destiny. Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus goes with him, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they hold dear.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781408891384
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Reprinting locally, In Stock Internationally
            View details for this title
            Midnight in Everwood

            Midnight in Everwood (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Kuzniar, M. A.

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $29.69
            • Save $3.30
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In the darkness of night, magic awaits... The Nutcracker for adults, perfect for fans of Robert Dinsdale's The Toymakers, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Stephanie Garber's Caraval

            ISBN 9780008485443
            Released NZ 1 Nov 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers (S2)
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            660 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Comfort Me With Apples
             

            Comfort Me With Apples (Hardback)

            By Valente, Catherynne M.

            • RRP: $42.99
            • $38.69
            • Save $4.30
            • Pub Date
              11 Jan 22

            A terrifying new thriller from bestseller Catherynne M. Valente, for fans of Gone Girl and Spinning Silver Sophia was made for him. Her perfect husband. She can feel it in her bones. He is perfect. Their home together in Arcadia Gardens is perfect. Everything is perfect. It's jus...t that he's away so much. So often. He works so hard. She misses him. And he misses her. He says he does, so it must be true. He is the perfect husband and everything is perfect. But sometimes Sophia wonders about things. Strange things. Dark things. The look on her husband's face when he comes back from a long business trip. The questions he will not answer. The locked basement she is never allowed to enter. And whenever she asks the neighbors, they can't quite meet her gaze... But everything is perfect. Isn't it?
            Read more

            ISBN 9781250816214
            Released NZ 11 Jan 2022
            Publisher St Martin's Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Six Crimson Cranes
             

            Six Crimson Cranes (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Lim, Elizabeth

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $5.50
            • Back Order Indent title

            A beautiful and immersive YA fantasy retelling of the Grimm brothers' The Six Swans fairytale, set in an East-Asian inspired world, by the author of Spin the Dawn.

            ISBN 9781529356755
            Released NZ 13 Jul 2021
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Series Six Crimson Cranes
            Availability
            Back Order Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            She Who Became the Sun

            She Who Became the Sun (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Parker-Chan, Shelley

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Zhu journeys from peasant girl to rebel commander, in this powerful coming-of-age tale of war and empire. Lush and subversive, this is an alternate history of Mongol-occupied China in the vein of Madeline Miller's Circe and Mulan.

            ISBN 9781529043396
            Released NZ 29 Jul 2021
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Series The Radiant Emperor
            Availability
            327 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Daughter of the Moon Goddess
             

            Daughter of the Moon Goddess (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Tan, Sue Lynn

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • Pub Date
              1 Feb 22

            A captivating debut fantasy inspired by the legend of the Chinese moon goddess A young woman's quest to free her mother pits her against the most powerful immortal in the realm, setting her on a dangerous path where those she loves are not the only ones at risk...

            ISBN 9780008479305
            Released NZ 1 Feb 2022
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series The Celestial Kingdom Duology
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 25.6K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›