Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Romantic Fiction: Historical

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 26.8K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Liar
              

            Liar (Hardback)

            By Pearse, Lesley

            • RRP: $64.99
            • $51.99
            • Save $13.00
            • Pub Date
              25 Jun 20

            Amelia White dreams of being a reporter. The closest she's come is selling advertising in the local paper - until the fateful day she stumbles on a shocking scoop. Round the corner from her home, she discovers the body of a murder victim, dumped among the rubbish. When the police... and reporters descend, Amelia is horrified at the lies soon to be spread about the young woman. Determined to protect the victim from these smears, she convinces her paper's editor to let her tell the true story. And when another body is found, Amelia discovers that she may be the only one with any chance of learning the truth and stopping more killings. If only she can work out who the liar is . . .
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241426609
            Released NZ 25 Jun 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 25 Jun 2020
            View details for this title
            Liar
             

            Liar (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Pearse, Lesley

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $27.75
            • Save $9.25
            • Pub Date
              2 Jul 20

            Amelia White dreams of being a reporter. The closest she's come is selling advertising in the local paper - until the fateful day she stumbles on a shocking scoop. Round the corner from her home, she discovers the body of a murder victim, dumped among the rubbish. When the police... and reporters descend, Amelia is horrified at the lies soon to be spread about the young woman. Determined to protect the victim from these smears, she convinces her paper's editor to let her tell the true story. And when another body is found, Amelia discovers that she may be the only one with any chance of learning the truth and stopping more killings. If only she can work out who the liar is . . .
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241426616
            Released NZ 2 Jul 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            A Village Scandal

            A Village Scandal (Paperback)

            By Court, Dilly

            • RRP: $34.50
            • $25.88
            • Save $8.62
            • Temporarily out of stock

            The new novel from the Sunday Times bestseller

            ISBN 9780008287795
            Released NZ 9 Mar 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series The Village Secrets
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            The Country Bride
             

            The Country Bride (Paperback)

            By Court, Dilly

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • Pub Date
              1 Jul 20

            The third book in the dramatic new Village Secrets trilogy from the Sunday Times bestselling author.

            ISBN 9780008287832
            Released NZ 1 Jul 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series The Village Secrets
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Elsa Goody, Bushranger

            Elsa Goody, Bushranger (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Fraser, Darry

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $29.69
            • Save $3.30
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A thrilling historical romance adventure in the company of Elsa Goody, a woman on a quest for buried treasure and freedom, from bestselling author Darry Fraser. 1896 Robe, South Australia When Elsa Goody's father and brother George die in quick succession she and her sister Rosie... are in trouble. Pursued by an unpleasant suitor with dubious motivation, Elsa leaves for Victoria on the hunt for a fortune in gold coins that her brother has hidden. If Elsa can find it she will be able to save Rosie and herself from married slavery. Their quest leads them on a cross-country journey to find the last man who saw her brother alive, Ezekiel Jones. But Elsa is not the only one looking for buried treasure. She and Rosie are beset by bushrangers and in the confusion Elsa is accused of being an accomplice. Luckily not everyone believes that Elsa is a criminal. When she finally catches up with Ezekiel, it's clear that for him she can do no wrong. But with everyone chasing her and bloody violence on the horizon, life is becoming increasingly complicated. Will she and Rosie ever manage to solve the mystery, find the gold and free themselves from a dark future?
            Read more

            ISBN 9781489272171
            Published NZ 1 Jun 2020
            Publisher Harlequin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Wedding Dress

            The Wedding Dress (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Steel, Danielle

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The love story of a family and a special dress, spanning three generations during times of extreme social and political change, by the world's favourite storyteller, Danielle Steel.

            ISBN 9781509878079
            Released NZ 28 Apr 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Spirited
             

            Spirited (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Cohen, Julie

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Pub Date
              14 Jul 20

            The new novel SPIRITED from rising star Julie Cohen is a beautifully haunting and atmospheric historical novel - perfect for fans of The Binding, Once Upon A River and The Familiars.

            ISBN 9781409179887
            Released NZ 14 Jul 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Banksia Bay Beach Shack

            The Banksia Bay Beach Shack (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Docker, Sandie

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $27.75
            • Save $9.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A year is a long time in the memory of a small town. Stories get twisted, truths become warped, history is rewritten. MYSTERIES When Laura discovers an old photo of her grandmother, Lillian, with an intriguing inscription on the back, she heads to the sleepy seaside town of Banks...ia Bay to learn the truth of Lillian's past. But when she arrives, Laura finds a community where everyone seems to be hiding something. SECRETS Virginia, owner of the iconic Beach Shack cafe, has kept her past buried for sixty years. As Laura slowly uncovers the tragic fragments of that summer so long ago, Virginia must decide whether to hold on to her secrets or set the truth free. LIES Young Gigi and Lily come from different worlds but forge an unbreakable bond - the 'Sisters of Summer'. But in 1961 a chain of events is set off that reaches far into the future. One lie told. One lie to set someone free. One lie that changes the course of so many lives. Welcome to the Banksia Bay Beach Shack, where first love is found and last chances are taken. A moving and heartfelt story by the bestselling author of The Kookaburra Creek Cafe and The Cottage At Rosella Cove. Praise for Sandie Docker- 'Docker soars from the absolute heart' Australian Women's Weekly 'The best of the best of heart-wrenching yarns.' Woman's Day
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760890353
            Published NZ 17 Mar 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Lilies, Lies and Love

            Lilies, Lies and Love (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By French, Jackie

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $22.49
            • Save $7.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The year is 1936 and the new King Edward VIII wishes to marry divorcee and suspected German agent, Wallis Simpson. The 'red boxes', which are the official and often top-secret material the king must read and sign are neglected for weeks. Some have even been seen in Berlin. German...y is rearming with 300,000 fighter planes per year. Can Britain and its empire survive? Or can a woman change the course of history? Can Miss Lily's most surprisingly successful student, Australian cattle empress Sophie Higgs, now the widowed Countess of Shillings, seduce 'David', not just from marriage with Simpson, but from irresponsibility, extravagance, and the fantasy of being a fascist king? And what of the man who loves Sophie, war-damaged doctor, Daniel Greenman, and Sophie's two children, Miss Lily, and even her late husband Nigel, who - just possibly - might not be dead? And what will Hannelore, Princesszin von Arneburg choose, torn between the country she loves and the blind child she adores, now deemed 'Lebensunwertes Leben ... unworthy of life' by Adolf Hitler's new law? If a man can sacrifice his life for his country and all he loves, should a woman hesitate to sacrifice her honour? Based on new correspondence found in the German archives, Lilies, Lies and Love is entirely a work of fiction. Or is it?
            Read more

            ISBN 9781460754986
            Published NZ 1 Apr 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Miss Lily
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Secrets Between Us
             

            The Secrets Between Us (Hardback, Digital original)

            By Lennox, Judith

            • RRP: $60.00
            • $46.80
            • Save $13.20
            • Pub Date
              14 Jul 20

            A breathtaking and tumultuous love story of the secrets, hidden passions and loyalties that bind us together. THE SECRETS BETWEEN US is the latest mesmerising tale of drama and intrigue from Judith Lennox, the author of HIDDEN LIVES and THE JEWELLER'S WIFE. Not to be missed by re...aders of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781472260697
            Released NZ 14 Jul 2020
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 26.8K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›