Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            War Fiction

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 16.7K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The New Kingdom: Global bestselling author of River God, Wilbur Smith, returns with a brand-new Ancient Egyptian epic

            The New Kingdom: Global bestselling author of River God, Wilbur Smith, returns with a brand-new Ancient Egyptian epic (Hardback)

            By Smith, Wilbur; Chadbourn, Mark

            • RRP: $45.00
            • $33.75
            • Save $11.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Craving power and embittered by jealousy, Hui's stepmother, the great sorceress Ipsetnofret, and Hui's own brother Qen, orchestrate the downfall of Hui's father, condemning Hui and seizing power in the city. Cast out and alone, Hui finds himself a captive of a skilled and powerfu...l army of outlaws, the Hyksos.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781785767975
            Released NZ 16 Sep 2021
            Publisher Zaffre
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Never
             

            Never (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Follett, Ken

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • Pub Date
              9 Nov 21

            Visionary in scale, and the first contemporary novel in over a decade from number one worldwide bestseller Ken Follett, Never imagines the unimaginable: the imminent threat of World War Three . . .

            ISBN 9781529076943
            Released NZ 9 Nov 2021
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Better Off Dead: A Jack Reacher Novel
             

            Better Off Dead: A Jack Reacher Novel (Hardback)

            By Child, Lee; Child, Andrew

            • RRP: $61.50
            • $48.43
            • Save $13.07
            • Pre Release International

            Jack Reacher is back in the brand-new, page-turning thriller from acclaimed #1 bestselling authors Lee Child and Andrew Child. Reacher isn't one to back down from a fight. And when a shadowy crew raises the stakes, he won't hesitate to teach them a lesson: When you pick a fight w...ith Reacher, you're better off dead.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781984818508
            Publisher Random House
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Jack Reacher
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 26 Oct 2021
            View details for this title
            Snow Country: SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

            Snow Country: SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Faulks, Sebastian

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $28.86
            • Save $8.14
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Lena leaves her metropolitan dream behind to take a menial job at the snow-bound sanatorium, the Schloss Seeblick. 1933 Still struggling to come terms with the loss of so many friends on the Eastern Front, Anton, now an established writer, is commissioned by a magazine to visit t...he mysterious Schloss Seeblick.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781786330192
            Released NZ 2 Sep 2021
            Publisher Cornerstone
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Spy's Wife
             

            The Spy's Wife (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By McIntosh, Fiona

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $27.75
            • Save $9.25
            • Pub Date
              2 Nov 21

            The highly anticipated new historical adventure from the bestselling author of The Champagne War. Evie, a widow and stationmaster's daughter, helplessly looks out for the weekly visit of the handsome man she and her sister call The Southerner on their train platform in the wilds ...of northern England. When polite salutations shift to friendly conversations, they become captivated by each other's reticent manner. After so much sorrow, the childless Evie can't believe love and the chance for her own family has come into her life again. With rumours coming out of Germany that Hitler may be stirring up war again, local English authorities have warned against spies. Even Evie becomes suspicious of her new suitor, Roger. But all is not what it seems. When Roger is arrested, Evie comes up with an audacious plan to prove his innocence that means moving to Germany and working as a British counter-spy. Wearing the disguise of dutiful, naive wife, Evie must charm the Nazi Party's dangerous officials to bring home hard evidence of war mongering on the F hrer's part. But in this game of cat and mouse, it seems everyone has an ulterior motive, and Evie finds it impossible to know who to trust. With lives on the line, ultimate sacrifices will be made as she wrestles between her patriotism and saving the man she loves. From the windswept moors of the Yorkshire dales to the noisy beer halls of Munich and grand country estates in the picture-book Bavarian mountains, this is a lively and high-stakes thriller that will keep you second-guessing until the very end.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760895006
            Published NZ 2 Nov 2021
            Publisher Penguin Random House Australia
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Three Sisters
              

            Three Sisters (Hardback)

            By Morris, Heather

            • RRP: $61.50
            • $48.43
            • Save $13.07
            • In Stock US

            From Heather Morris, the New York Times bestselling author of the multi-million copy bestseller The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Cilka's Journey comes Three Sisters, a story of family, courage, and resilience, inspired by a true story...

            ISBN 9781250276896
            Publisher St. Martin's Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Flying Angels
             

            Flying Angels (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Steel, Danielle

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • Pub Date
              30 Nov 21

            An uplifting, inspirational story of women in wartime, by the world's favourite storyteller, Danielle Steel.

            ISBN 9781529021769
            Released NZ 30 Nov 2021
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Sisters Of The Resistance

            Sisters Of The Resistance (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Wells, Christine

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Two sisters join the Paris Resistance in this page-turning new novel inspired by the real-life bravery of Catherine Dior, sister of the fashion designer and a heroine of World War II France-perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Jennifer Chiaverini. As dazzling as a Dior gown! With a... gorgeous blend of fashion, heartbreak, heroism, and love this book will transport you to France... -Natasha Lester, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Secret Paris, 1944: The war is nearly over, but for members of the Resistance in occupied France, it is more dangerous than ever before. Twenty-five-year-old Gabby Foucher loathes the Nazis, though as the concierge of 10 rue Royale, she does her best to avoid conflict-unlike her bolder sister Yvette, who finds trouble at every turn. Then they are both recruited into the Resistance by Catherine Dior and swept into a treacherous world of spies, fugitives, and intrigue. While Gabby risks everything for the man she is hiding from the Nazis, Yvette must decide whether to trust an enigmatic diplomat who seems to have guessed her secret. As the threat of betrayal draws ever-closer, one slip could mean the deaths of many, and both sisters must make choices they might regret. Paris, 1947: Yvette returns from New York to reunite with Gabby and begin life anew as a mannequin for Dior, who is revolutionizing fashion with the New Look. But first she must discover the truth behind Catherine's terrible fate, while Gabby finds that there are many kinds of courage, and that love is always worth fighting for.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780063140653
            Released NZ 7 Jul 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            281 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Colonial's Son

            The Colonial's Son (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Watt, Peter

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • Pre Release Local

            As the son of 'the Colonial', legendary Queen's Captain Ian Steele, Josiah Steele has big shoes to fill. Although his home in New South Wales is a world away, he dreams of one day travelling to England to study to be a commissioned officer in the Scottish Regiment. After cutting ...his teeth in business on the rough and ready goldfields of Far North Queensland's Palmer River, he finally realises his dream and travels to England, where he is accepted into the Sandhurst military academy. While in London he makes surprising new acquaintances - and runs into a few old ones he'd rather have left behind. From the Australian bush to the glittering palaces of London, from the arid lands of Afghanistan and the horrors of war to the newly established Germany dominated by Prussian ideas of militarism, Josiah Steele must now forge his own path.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760986575
            Published NZ 26 Oct 2021
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            500 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Stolen Baby

            The Stolen Baby (Trade Paperback / Paperback, UK Airports)

            By Costeloe, Diney

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $26.25
            • Save $8.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The story of one baby boy, forgotten by his family after an air raid in WW2 Plymouth, who then disappears. Based on a true story.

            ISBN 9781789543346
            Released NZ 8 Sep 2021
            Publisher Head of Zeus
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            310 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Total 16.7K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›