Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            First World War fiction

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 506 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            All the Ways We Said Goodbye: A Novel of the Ritz Paris

            All the Ways We Said Goodbye: A Novel of the Ritz Paris (Hardback)

            By Williams, Beatriz; Willig, Lauren; White, Karen

            • RRP: $55.00
            • $41.25
            • Save $13.75
            • To Order

            The New York Times bestselling authors of The Glass Ocean and The Forgotten Room return with a glorious historical adventure that moves from the dark days of two World Wars to the turbulent years of the 1960s, in which three women with bruised hearts find refuge at Paris' legenda...ry Ritz hotel. The heiress . . . The Resistance fighter . . . The widow . . . Three women whose fates are joined by one splendid hotel France, 1914. As war breaks out, Aurelie becomes trapped on the wrong side of the front with her father, Comte Sigismund de Courcelles. When the Germans move into their family's ancestral estate, using it as their headquarters, Aurelie discovers she knows the German Major's aide de camp, Maximilian Von Sternburg. She and the dashing young officer first met during Aurelie's debutante days in Paris. Despite their conflicting loyalties, Aurelie and Max's friendship soon deepens into love, but betrayal will shatter them both, driving Aurelie back to Paris and the Ritz- the home of her estranged American heiress mother, with unexpected consequences. France, 1942. Raised by her indomitable, free-spirited American grandmother in the glamorous Hotel Ritz, Marguerite Daisy Villon remains in Paris with her daughter and husband, a Nazi collaborator, after France falls to Hitler. At first reluctant to put herself and her family at risk to assist her grandmother's Resistance efforts, Daisy agrees to act as a courier for a skilled English forger known only as Legrand, who creates identity papers for Resistance members and Jewish refugees. But as Daisy is drawn ever deeper into Legrand's underground network, committing increasingly audacious acts of resistance for the sake of the country-and the man-she holds dear, she uncovers a devastating secret . . . one that will force her to commit the ultimate betrayal, and to confront at last the shocking circumstances of her own family history. France, 1964. For Barbara Babs Langford, her husband, Kit, was the love of her life. Yet
            Read more

            ISBN 9780062931092
            Released NZ 20 Jan 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Colours
             

            The Colours (Hardback)

            By Bates, Juliet

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $38.99
            • Save $11.00
            • Pub Date
              9 Apr 20

            An atmospheric, intense novel of the bond between mother and son, set against the backdrop of the world wars.

            ISBN 9780708899373
            Released NZ 9 Apr 2020
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            In a Field of Blue: A Novel
             

            In a Field of Blue: A Novel (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Liviero, Gemma

            • Imp. $32.50
            • $32.50
            • Not Available Locally

            From the bestselling author of The Road Beyond Ruin comes a novel about a family torn apart by grief and secrets, then pulled back together by hope in the wake of World War I. England 1922. It's been four years since Rudy's brother Edgar went missing in war-torn France. Still dee...p in mourning and grappling with unanswered questions, Rudy and his mother struggle to move on. When the enigmatic Mariette arrives unexpectedly at the family's manor claiming to be Edgar's widow, and the mother of his child, Rudy urges her to stay, hoping she'll shed light on the missing pieces. Captivated by Mariette, Rudy finds that their mutual loss and grief bind them...as does the possibility of new love. But Mariette's revelations bring more questions than answers about Edgar's death. Suspicions threaten to divide Rudy's already fractured family, setting him on a quest for the truth that takes him from England to France and beyond. In his search, Rudy is forced to confront the tragedies of war and the realities of the brother he's lost and the woman he's found. Will the truth set him free to find peace, or will it forever shadow his future?
            Read more

            ISBN 9781542009447
            Released NZ 7 Jan 2020
            Publisher Amazon Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced on backorder; allow 4-8 weeks
            View details for this title
            A War for King and Empire: A Malcolm MacPhail WW1 novel
              

            A War for King and Empire: A Malcolm MacPhail WW1 novel (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Duthie, Darrell

            • Imp. $38.99
            • $38.99
            • No availability locally

            In early 1915 a young soldier, Malcolm MacPhail, arrives in the dreaded Ypres Salient. If war wasn't bad enough, a shady acquaintance from home turns up, looking to quarrel. But as the Germans press the attack, Malcolm and his inexperienced mates must fight for their lives if the...y are to stave off a disastrous defeat.
            Read more

            ISBN 9789492843050
            Released NZ 7 Jan 2020
            Publisher Esdorn Editions
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Malcolm MacPhail WW1 series
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Battle of Messines Road
             

            The Battle of Messines Road (Hardback)

            By Moloney, J. K.; Moloney, W. J.

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $29.99
            • Available

            "Messines Road is a coming-of-age story, a World War I diary and a novel about friendship and families. It is a book of how two wars, 50 years apart, changed New Zealand and its people."--Publisher information.

            ISBN 9781877427572
            Published NZ 15 Jul 2015
            Publisher Misc - South Pacific Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available from publisher, allow 2-4 weeks for delivery
            View details for this title
            All The Ways We Said Goodbye [Large Print]
             

            All The Ways We Said Goodbye [Large Print] (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Large type / large print edition)

            By White, Karen; Williams, Beatriz; Willig, Lauren

            • RRP: $59.99
            • $44.99
            • Save $15.00
            • To Order

            An heiress, a resistance fighter, and a widow are all joined by one legendary hotel: the Ritz in Paris.

            ISBN 9780062978783
            Released NZ 20 Jan 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            All Quiet on the Western Front

            All Quiet on the Western Front (Paperback, New edition)

            By Remarque, Erich Maria; Translated by Murdoch, Brian O.

            • RRP: $26.99
            • $21.05
            • Save $5.94
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In 1914, a room full of German schoolboys, fresh-faced and idealistic, are goaded by their schoolmaster to troop off to the 'glorious war'. With the fire and patriotism of youth, they sign up. What follows is the story of a young 'unknown soldier' experiencing the horror and disi...llusionment of life in the trenches.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780099532811
            Released NZ 1 Dec 1995
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Vintage War
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Bobby Girls: Book One in a gritty, uplifting new WW1 series about Britain's first ever female police officers

            The Bobby Girls: Book One in a gritty, uplifting new WW1 series about Britain's first ever female police officers (Paperback)

            By Bell, Johanna

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $5.50
            • To Order

            A gritty, uplifting new saga series about the first ever female police officers, set at the outbreak of the First World War - perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Daisy Styles and Call the Midwife. ***More information coming soon***

            ISBN 9781529330854
            Released NZ 26 Dec 2019
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Series The Bobby Girls
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Wronged Daughter

            The Wronged Daughter (Paperback)

            By Wood, Mary

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.99
            • Save $4.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A moving historical saga from the bestselling author of The Forgotten Daughter and The Street Orphans, Mary Wood.

            ISBN 9781509892587
            Released NZ 26 Nov 2019
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Series The Girls Who Went to War
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Johnny Got His Gun
             

            Johnny Got His Gun (Paperback)

            By Trumbo, Dalton; Introduction by Doctorow, E. L.

            • Imp. $29.50
            • $23.60
            • Save $5.90
            • No availability locally

            It was the war to end all wars, the global struggle that would finally make the world safe for democracy - at any cost. But one American soldier has paid a price beyond measure. And within the disfigured flesh that was once a vision of youth lives a spirit that cannot accept what... the world has become.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780141189819
            Released NZ 7 Sep 2009
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Penguin Modern Classics
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
            View details for this title
            Total 506 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›