Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Second World War fiction

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 2.58K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Spy's Wife
             

            The Spy's Wife (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By McIntosh, Fiona

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $27.75
            • Save $9.25
            • Pub Date
              2 Nov 21

            The highly anticipated new historical adventure from the bestselling author of The Champagne War. Evie, a widow and stationmaster's daughter, helplessly looks out for the weekly visit of the handsome man she and her sister call The Southerner on their train platform in the wilds ...of northern England. When polite salutations shift to friendly conversations, they become captivated by each other's reticent manner. After so much sorrow, the childless Evie can't believe love and the chance for her own family has come into her life again. With rumours coming out of Germany that Hitler may be stirring up war again, local English authorities have warned against spies. Even Evie becomes suspicious of her new suitor, Roger. But all is not what it seems. When Roger is arrested, Evie comes up with an audacious plan to prove his innocence that means moving to Germany and working as a British counter-spy. Wearing the disguise of dutiful, naive wife, Evie must charm the Nazi Party's dangerous officials to bring home hard evidence of war mongering on the F hrer's part. But in this game of cat and mouse, it seems everyone has an ulterior motive, and Evie finds it impossible to know who to trust. With lives on the line, ultimate sacrifices will be made as she wrestles between her patriotism and saving the man she loves. From the windswept moors of the Yorkshire dales to the noisy beer halls of Munich and grand country estates in the picture-book Bavarian mountains, this is a lively and high-stakes thriller that will keep you second-guessing until the very end.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760895006
            Published NZ 2 Nov 2021
            Publisher Penguin Random House Australia
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Three Sisters
              

            Three Sisters (Hardback)

            By Morris, Heather

            • RRP: $61.50
            • $48.39
            • Save $13.11
            • In Stock US

            From Heather Morris, the New York Times bestselling author of the multi-million copy bestseller The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Cilka's Journey comes Three Sisters, a story of family, courage, and resilience, inspired by a true story...

            ISBN 9781250276896
            Publisher St. Martin's Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Flying Angels
             

            Flying Angels (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Steel, Danielle

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • Pub Date
              30 Nov 21

            An uplifting, inspirational story of women in wartime, by the world's favourite storyteller, Danielle Steel.

            ISBN 9781529021769
            Released NZ 30 Nov 2021
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Sisters Of The Resistance

            Sisters Of The Resistance (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Wells, Christine

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Two sisters join the Paris Resistance in this page-turning new novel inspired by the real-life bravery of Catherine Dior, sister of the fashion designer and a heroine of World War II France-perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Jennifer Chiaverini. As dazzling as a Dior gown! With a... gorgeous blend of fashion, heartbreak, heroism, and love this book will transport you to France... -Natasha Lester, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Secret Paris, 1944: The war is nearly over, but for members of the Resistance in occupied France, it is more dangerous than ever before. Twenty-five-year-old Gabby Foucher loathes the Nazis, though as the concierge of 10 rue Royale, she does her best to avoid conflict-unlike her bolder sister Yvette, who finds trouble at every turn. Then they are both recruited into the Resistance by Catherine Dior and swept into a treacherous world of spies, fugitives, and intrigue. While Gabby risks everything for the man she is hiding from the Nazis, Yvette must decide whether to trust an enigmatic diplomat who seems to have guessed her secret. As the threat of betrayal draws ever-closer, one slip could mean the deaths of many, and both sisters must make choices they might regret. Paris, 1947: Yvette returns from New York to reunite with Gabby and begin life anew as a mannequin for Dior, who is revolutionizing fashion with the New Look. But first she must discover the truth behind Catherine's terrible fate, while Gabby finds that there are many kinds of courage, and that love is always worth fighting for.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780063140653
            Released NZ 7 Jul 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            281 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Stolen Baby

            The Stolen Baby (Trade Paperback / Paperback, UK Airports)

            By Costeloe, Diney

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $26.25
            • Save $8.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The story of one baby boy, forgotten by his family after an air raid in WW2 Plymouth, who then disappears. Based on a true story.

            ISBN 9781789543346
            Released NZ 8 Sep 2021
            Publisher Head of Zeus
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            310 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel: inspired by real acts of resistance, a heartrending story of one woman's courage in WW2
             

            The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel: inspired by real acts of resistance, a heartrending story of one woman's courage in WW2 (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Steele, Sarah

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • Pub Date
              30 Nov 21

            The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel is a heartrending and deeply moving story of love and hope in World War II from the USA Today bestselling author of The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon.

            ISBN 9781472284891
            Released NZ 30 Nov 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            White Christmas: The new heartwarming historical fiction romance book for Christmas 2021 from the Sunday Times bestselling author

            White Christmas: The new heartwarming historical fiction romance book for Christmas 2021 from the Sunday Times bestselling author (Hardback)

            By Flynn, Katie

            • RRP: $48.00
            • $37.44
            • Save $10.56
            • To Order

            When a tragic accident separates Roz from her parents, she finds herself aboard the Kindertransport bound for Holland. Here Roz meets a young lad called Felix and they vow to stick together as their journey takes them to England.

            ISBN 9781529135404
            Released NZ 19 Aug 2021
            Publisher Cornerstone
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Last Debutantes: A Novel
             

            The Last Debutantes: A Novel (Paperback)

            By Blalock, Georgie

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • Pub Date
              1 Nov 21

            Fans of The Kennedy Debutante and Last Year in Havana will love Georgie Blalock's new novel of a world on the cusp of change...set on the eve of World War II in the glittering world of English society and one of the last debutante seasons.

            ISBN 9780063009295
            Released NZ 1 Nov 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Great Circle: Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2021

            Great Circle: Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2021 (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Shipstead, Maggie

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $28.86
            • Save $8.14
            • In Stock At Publisher

            After filming is complete, her bond grows stronger as she begins to question whether the Great Marian Graves really did die at all.Maggie Shipstead is the author of the bestselling and prize-winning debut novel SEATING ARRANGMENTS.

            ISBN 9780857526816
            Released NZ 4 May 2021
            Publisher Transworld Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Biscuit Factory Girls at War: A new uplifting saga about war, family and friendship to warm your heart this spring
             

            The Biscuit Factory Girls at War: A new uplifting saga about war, family and friendship to warm your heart this spring (Paperback)

            By Mason, Elsie

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $5.50
            • Pub Date
              30 Nov 21

            For fans of Nancy Revell, Elaine Everest and Daisy Styles, comes a story of strength, love and the importance of family

            ISBN 9781409196501
            Released NZ 30 Nov 2021
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 2.58K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›