Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Second World War fiction

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 2.64K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Return
             

            The Return (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Frank, Anita

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $31.49
            • Save $3.50
            • Pub Date
              5 Jan 22

            Not everyone was meant to come home from the war... A remarkable novel about love, family, sacrifice and loss set during the Second World War from the author of the spellbinding historical ghost story The Lost Ones.

            ISBN 9780008341268
            Released NZ 5 Jan 2022
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers (S2)
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Girls from the Beach
             

            The Girls from the Beach (Paperback)

            By Newton, Andie

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • Pub Date
              5 Jan 22

            In 1944, four American nurses disappeared for five days. No one knew what happened to them. Until now. Their secret mission was to infiltrate the Reich and steal something the Nazis desperately needed to win their losing war...

            ISBN 9781800246249
            Released NZ 5 Jan 2022
            Publisher Head of Zeus
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Sisters Of The Resistance

            Sisters Of The Resistance (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Wells, Christine

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Two sisters join the Paris Resistance in this page-turning new novel inspired by the real-life bravery of Catherine Dior, sister of the fashion designer and a heroine of World War II France-perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Jennifer Chiaverini. As dazzling as a Dior gown! With a... gorgeous blend of fashion, heartbreak, heroism, and love this book will transport you to France... -Natasha Lester, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Secret Paris, 1944: The war is nearly over, but for members of the Resistance in occupied France, it is more dangerous than ever before. Twenty-five-year-old Gabby Foucher loathes the Nazis, though as the concierge of 10 rue Royale, she does her best to avoid conflict-unlike her bolder sister Yvette, who finds trouble at every turn. Then they are both recruited into the Resistance by Catherine Dior and swept into a treacherous world of spies, fugitives, and intrigue. While Gabby risks everything for the man she is hiding from the Nazis, Yvette must decide whether to trust an enigmatic diplomat who seems to have guessed her secret. As the threat of betrayal draws ever-closer, one slip could mean the deaths of many, and both sisters must make choices they might regret. Paris, 1947: Yvette returns from New York to reunite with Gabby and begin life anew as a mannequin for Dior, who is revolutionizing fashion with the New Look. But first she must discover the truth behind Catherine's terrible fate, while Gabby finds that there are many kinds of courage, and that love is always worth fighting for.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780063140653
            Released NZ 7 Jul 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            228 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Tulip Tea Rooms: A compelling saga of heartache and happiness in post-war London
              

            The Tulip Tea Rooms: A compelling saga of heartache and happiness in post-war London (Hardback)

            By Evans, Pamela

            • RRP: $67.99
            • $50.97
            • Save $17.02
            • Pub Date
              9 Jun 22

            In post-war London, will her dreams come true? A poignant and touching saga by Pam Evans, the much-loved author of BESSIE'S WAR and A BRIGHTER DAY TOMORROW.

            ISBN 9781472256799
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 9 Jun 2022
            View details for this title
            When the Sky Falls
             

            When the Sky Falls (Paperback)

            By Earle, Phil

            • RRP: $19.40
            • $19.40
            • Internationally sourced

            It's 1940, and Joseph has been packed off to stay with Mrs F, a gruff woman with no great fondness for children. To Joseph's amazement, she owns the rundown city zoo where Joseph meets Adonis, a huge silverback gorilla. Adonis is ferociously strong and dangerous, but Joseph finds... he has an affinity with the lonely beast. But when the bombs begin to fall, it is up to Joseph to guard Adonis's cage should it be damaged by a blast. Will Joseph be ready to pull the trigger if it comes to it?
            Read more

            ISBN 9781783449651
            Publisher Andersen Press Ltd
            Interest Age 9-11 years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Our Woman in Moscow

            Our Woman in Moscow (Trade Paperback / Paperback, ANZ EDITION)

            By Williams, Beatriz

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Don't miss the gripping new book from the international bestseller - the story of two sisters caught up in Cold War espionage

            ISBN 9780008487744
            Released NZ 1 Sep 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Shipyard Girls Under the Mistletoe
             

            Shipyard Girls Under the Mistletoe (Paperback)

            By Revell, Nancy

            • RRP: $17.99
            • $14.03
            • Save $3.96
            • Pub Date
              30 Nov 21

            THE ELEVENTH NOVEL IN THE BESTSELLING SHIPYARD GIRLS SERIES! With all the characters that you have grown to love, join them as they fight for their country, their families and for each other.

            ISBN 9781787464292
            Released NZ 30 Nov 2021
            Publisher Cornerstone
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The East End Girl in Blue
             

            The East End Girl in Blue (Paperback)

            By Miller, Fenella J.

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $21.83
            • Save $1.16
            • Internationally sourced

            As World War Two rages on around her, one girl in blue's life is about to change forever...

            ISBN 9781800246133
            Publisher Head of Zeus
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Wartime with the Cornish Girls

            Wartime with the Cornish Girls (Paperback)

            By Walker, Betty

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • To Order

            Pre-order now: the first in the feel-good new Cornish Girls series

            ISBN 9780008400286
            Released NZ 1 Oct 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series The Cornish Girls Series
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            Afterlives: By the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021
             

            Afterlives: By the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021 (Paperback)

            By Gurnah, Abdulrazak

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $21.83
            • Save $1.16
            • Internationally sourced

            'One of Africa's greatest living writers' Giles Foden 'Exquisite' Telegraph 'A remarkable novel, by a wondrous writer, deeply compelling, a thread that links our humanity with the colonial legacy that lies beneath, in ways that cut deep' Philippe Sands 'To read Afterlives is to b...e returned to the joy of storytelling ... The story of Hamza and Afiya is one of simple lives buffeted by colonial ambitions, of the courage it takes to endure, to hold oneself with dignity, and to live with hope in the heart' Aminatta Forna 'Effortlessly compelling storytelling ... You forget that you are reading fiction, it feels so real' Leila Aboulela Restless, ambitious Ilyas was stolen from his parents by the Schutzruppe askari, the German colonial troops; after years away, he returns to his village to find his parents gone, and his sister Afiya given away. Hamza was not stolen, but was sold; he has come of age in the army, at the right hand of an officer whose control has ensured his protection but marked him for life. Hamza does not have words for how the war ended for him. Returning to the town of his childhood, all he wants is work, however humble, and security - and the beautiful Afiya. The century is young. The Germans and the British and the French and the Belgians and whoever else have drawn their maps and signed their treaties and divided up Africa. As they seek complete dominion they are forced to extinguish revolt after revolt by the colonised. The conflict in Europe opens another arena in east Africa where a brutal war devastates the landscape. As these interlinked friends and survivors come and go, live and work and fall in love, the shadow of a new war lengthens and darkens, ready to snatch them up and carry them away.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781526615893
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 2.64K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›