Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Classic Fiction

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 99.3K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Brave New World

            Brave New World (Paperback)

            By Huxley, Aldous; Introduction by Atwood, Margaret

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.59
            • Save $4.40
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Far in the future, the World Controllers have created the ideal society. Through clever use of genetic engineering, brainwashing and recreational sex and drugs all its members are happy consumers. Bernard Marx seems alone harbouring an ill-defined longing to break free.

            ISBN 9780099518471
            Released NZ 1 Jan 2008
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            All the Rage: The new 'impossible to put down' thriller from the Richard and Judy Book Club bestseller 2020

            All the Rage: The new 'impossible to put down' thriller from the Richard and Judy Book Club bestseller 2020 (Paperback)

            By Hunter, Cara

            • RRP: $24.00
            • $18.00
            • Save $6.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The first girl came back. The next won't be so lucky.___________________________________ **PRE-ORDER THE NEXT HEART-POUNDING DI DAWLEY NOVEL FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF CLOSE TO HOME AND IN THE DARK** 'One of the best crime thrillers I have ever read' Kathryn Crof...t _________________________________ A teenage girl is found wandering the outskirts of Oxford, dazed and distressed. The story she tells is bizarre. Grabbed from off the street, a plastic bag pulled over her face, then driven to an isolated location where she was subjected to what sounds like an assault. And yet she refuses to press charges and claims the whole thing was just an April Fool gone wrong. DI Fawley investigates, but there's little he can do without the girl's co-operation. Is she hiding something, and if so, what? And why does Fawley keep getting the feeling it's related to a case from his past, a case he's spent years trying to forget? And then another girl disappears, and Adam no longer has a choice: he has to face his demons, whatever the cost, professional or personal. Because unless he does, this victim may not be coming back . . . ___________________________________ WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT CARA HUNTER 'Your next riveting, twisty read' Shari Lapena 'A real gripper of a read' Peter James 'Fast paced and a fantastic cast of characters. Kept me guessing to the end - and I loved the final reveal' Fiona Barton 'Cancel everything. You're not going anywhere until you finish reading this' Emily Koch
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241985113
            Released NZ 4 Feb 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series DI Fawley
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Dickens Boy
             

            The Dickens Boy (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Keneally, Tom

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $27.75
            • Save $9.25
            • Pub Date
              31 Mar 20

            In this joyful novel, our narrator is Charles Dickens's tenth child, Edward Bulwer Lytton Dickens, known as Plorn. Sent, as his brother Alfred had been before him, at sixteen years of age, to Australia to learn to 'apply himself', we follow his early Australian adventures in outb...ack NSW learning to become a man from the most diverse and toughest of men. Part of Dickens' motivation was to separate these younger of his children from the Dickens family schism, where Charles had expelled his wife from the family home, keeping her sister Georgie there to run the household and taking up with the actress Ellen Tiernan. Plorn arrived in Melbourne in late 1868 carrying a terrible secret. He has never read a word of his father's work. After a very brief stopover he is sent out to become a gentleman stockman on a 2000 square mile station in remotest, semi-arid parts of NSW. Here he inevitably gets enmeshed in a tribe named the Paakintji and various other folk, colonists, colonial-born, ex-convicts, ex-soldiers, and very few women - though he is struck by each one he does encounter. Plorn did not expect he would encounter the same veneration of his father and familiarity with his work in Australia that was rampant in England. Against this backdrop, and featuring cricket tournaments, horse-racing, bushranging, sheep droving, shifty stock and station agents, frontier wars and first encounters with Australian women we follow Plorn, and sometimes his brother Alfred, through wonderful adventures as he works to apply himself. This is Tom Keneally in his most familiar terrain. Taking historical figures and events and reimagining them with verve, compassion and humour. It is a romp.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760893194
            Published NZ 31 Mar 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Picture of Dorian Gray

            The Picture of Dorian Gray (Paperback, Revised edition)

            By Wilde, Oscar; Introduction by Mighall, Robert

            • RRP: $12.99
            • $9.74
            • Save $3.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Enthralled by his own exquisite portrait, Dorian Gray exchanges his soul for eternal youth and beauty. Influenced by his friend Lord Henry Wotton, he is drawn into a corrupt double life; indulging his desires in secret while remaining a gentleman in the eyes of polite society. On...ly his portrait bears the traces of his decadence.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780141439570
            Released NZ 6 Mar 2003
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Penguin Classics
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Daughters of Cornwall
             

            Daughters of Cornwall (Hardback)

            By Britton, Fern

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $28.49
            • Save $9.50
            • Pub Date
              16 Jun 20

            The new book from the Sunday Times bestselling author

            ISBN 9780008225254
            Released NZ 16 Jun 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde and Other Tales of Terror
             

            The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde and Other Tales of Terror (Paperback, Revised edition)

            By Stevenson, Robert Louis; Edited by Mighall, Robert

            • RRP: $12.99
            • $9.74
            • Save $3.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Tells the story of respectable Dr Jekyll's strange association with 'damnable young man' Edward Hyde, the hunt through fog-bound London for a killer, and the final revelation of Hyde's true identity.

            ISBN 9780141439730
            Released NZ 5 May 2003
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Penguin Classics
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            No Small Shame: One wrong choice will change her life forever
             

            No Small Shame: One wrong choice will change her life forever (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Bell, Christine

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Pub Date
              1 Apr 20

            Australia, 1914. The world is erupting in war. Jobs are scarce and immigrants unwelcome. For young Catholic Mary O'Donnell, this is not the new life she imagined. When one foolish night of passion leads to an unexpected pregnancy and a loveless marriage, Mary's reluctant husband ...Liam escapes to the trenches. With her overbearing mother attempting to control her every decision, Mary flees to Melbourne determined to build a life for herself and her child. There, she forms an unlikely friendship with Protestant army reject Tom Robbins. But as a shattering betrayal is revealed, Mary must make an impossible choice. Does she embrace the path fate has set for her, or follow the one she longs to take? From the harshness of a pit village in Scotland to the upheaval of wartime Australia, No Small Shame tells the moving story of love and duty, loyalty and betrayal, and confronting the past before you can seek a future.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781920727901
            Published NZ 1 Apr 2020
            Publisher Ventura Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            In the Crypt with a Candlestick

            In the Crypt with a Candlestick (Hardback)

            By Waugh, Daisy

            • RRP: $60.00
            • $46.80
            • Save $13.20
            • To Order

            A deliciously witty murder mystery series, perfect for fans of The Seven Death of Evelyn Hardcastle and The Mitford Murders

            ISBN 9780349422466
            Released NZ 20 Feb 2020
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Hobbit
             

            The Hobbit (Paperback)

            By Tolkien, J. R. R.

            • RRP: $16.99
            • $13.59
            • Save $3.40
            • Internationally sourced

            The Hobbit is the unforgettable story of Bilbo, a peace-loving hobbit, who embarks on a strange and magical adventure. A timeless classic.

            ISBN 9780007458424
            Replacement this title has been replaced by: 9780006754022
            Released NZ 11 Jun 2012
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age 9-11 years
            Series Essential Modern Classics
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Great Gatsby

            The Great Gatsby (Paperback)

            By Scott Fitzgerald, F.; Introduction by Tanner, Tony

            • RRP: $17.99
            • $13.49
            • Save $4.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A social satire and a milestone in 20th century literature, 'The Great Gatsby' peels away the layers of the glamorous twenties in the U.S. to display the coldness and cruelty at its heart.

            ISBN 9780241341469
            Released NZ 18 Jun 2018
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series The Penguin English Library
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 99.3K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›