Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            True Stories: Discovery / Historical / Scientific

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 376 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            A Net for Small Fishes
             

            A Net for Small Fishes (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Jago, Lucy

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $25.73
            • Save $7.26
            • Pub Date
              2 Mar 21

            'The Thelma and Louise of the seventeenth century: two mis-matched heroines, two grittily-textured lives, an outrageous plot (true!), sex, politics, and a gut-wrenching ending' Andrew Davies Frances Devereux has beauty, glamour, a powerful family - and not a friend in the world. ...Anne Taylor has wit, talent and ambition - but no way into the court she longs to enter. When these two very different women meet in the strangest of circumstances, a friendship quickly sparks and catches. Following at Frankie's heels, Anne crosses into a world beyond her imagination: a court where a foreign king is a stranger to his own subjects; where ancient families vie for power, and where a favourite of the king may rise and rise - so long as he remains in favour. With the marriage of their talents, Anne and Frankie are an even match for this beautiful, savage hunting ground. But as Frankie's situation grows dangerous, and Anne's precarious, the women are driven to a series of desperate acts - acts which could lose them everything. What price ambition, and talent, and self-creation, at the cost of total destruction?
            Read more

            ISBN 9781526616616
            Released NZ 2 Mar 2021
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Disappearing Act: The Impossible Case of Mh370
             

            The Disappearing Act: The Impossible Case of Mh370 (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By de Changy, Florence

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • Pub Date
              1 Apr 21

            The affair was weird when seen from afar, but seen in close-up, it was Kafkaesque: it was not possible in 2014 for a Boeing 777 to have simply disappeared...

            ISBN 9780008381547
            Released NZ 1 Apr 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            578 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Expedition Deep Ocean: The First Descent to the Bottom of All Five Oceans
             

            Expedition Deep Ocean: The First Descent to the Bottom of All Five Oceans (Hardback)

            By Young, Josh

            • RRP: $59.50
            • $45.35
            • Save $14.15
            • Internationally sourced

            The riveting story of the exploration of the final frontier of our planet-the deep ocean-and history-making mission to reach the bottom of all five seas.

            ISBN 9781643136769
            Released NZ 6 Jan 2021
            Publisher Pegasus Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Disappearing Act: The Impossible Case of Mh370
             

            The Disappearing Act: The Impossible Case of Mh370 (Hardback)

            By de Changy, Florence

            • RRP: $44.99
            • $33.74
            • Save $11.25
            • Pub Date
              7 Apr 21

            The affair was weird when seen from afar, but seen in close-up, it was Kafkaesque: it was not possible in 2014 for a Boeing 777 to have simply disappeared...

            ISBN 9780008381530
            Released NZ 7 Apr 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Lost Ark of the Covenant: The Remarkable Quest for the Legendary Ark
             

            The Lost Ark of the Covenant: The Remarkable Quest for the Legendary Ark (Paperback)

            By Parfitt, Tudor

            • RRP: $25.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $6.50
            • Temporarily out of stock

            Professor Tudor Parfitt, a real-life British Indiana Jones, has made the biggest discovery of the last 3,000 years -- what became of the fabled Ark of the Covenant. This is the amazing story of his quest.

            ISBN 9780007262687
            Released NZ 10 Apr 2009
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age 14+ years
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            MAN TRACKS: With the Mounted Police in the Australian Wilds

            MAN TRACKS: With the Mounted Police in the Australian Wilds (Paperback)

            By Idriess, Ion

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $32.99
            • Pre Release Local

            MAN TRACKS tells of stirring episodes in the pursuit, of lawbreakers in the primitive lands. Every chapter is authentic. Patrols through the Kimberleys, the wild Fitzmaurice River country, the nor'-west of Western Australia, the Northern Territory, and Central Australia; each inc...ident recorded from the lips of the pursuers and pursued whether white, black, or brown..The book contains remarkable stories of the methods of aboriginal trackers, given exactly as they worked on each case. Nothing like these tracking chapters has ever been attempted in book form before.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781922473356
            Published NZ 1 Mar 2021
            Publisher ETT Imprint
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            17 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate

            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Export / Airside)

            By Campbell, Nancy

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Available At Publisher

            A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

            ISBN 9781471169328
            Released NZ 1 Dec 2018
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            If You Were There: Missing People and the Marks They Leave Behind
             

            If You Were There: Missing People and the Marks They Leave Behind (Hardback)

            By Garcia, Francisco

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $28.49
            • Save $9.50
            • Pub Date
              2 Jun 21

            Francisco Garcia's father, Cristobal, up and left his family when Francisco was just seven years old. Unemployed, suffering drink and drug addictions and adrift in life, Cristobal decided he would rather disappear altogether than carry on dealing with the problems in front of him....
            Read more

            ISBN 9780008412159
            Released NZ 2 Jun 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Stasiland

            Stasiland (Paperback)

            By Funder, Anna

            • RRP: $28.00
            • $21.00
            • Save $7.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Winner of the BBC Four Samuel Johnson Prize Truth can be stranger - and more heartbreaking and hilarious - than fiction. In this now classic work, Funder tells extraordinary stories from the most perfected surveillance state of all time, the former East Germany. She meets Miriam,... condemned as an enemy of the state at sixteen, and Frau Paul, for whom the Berlin Wall 'went through my heart'. She drinks with the legendary 'Mik Jegger' of the East, once declared by the authorities to 'no longer exist'. And she meets ex-Stasi - men who spied on their families and friends - still loyal to the deposed regime as they await the next revolution. Stasiland is a brilliant, timeless portrait of a Kafkaesque world as gripping as any thriller. In a world of total surveillance, its celebration of human conscience and courage is as potent as ever.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143792529
            Published NZ 27 Jun 2018
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Autopsy: Life in the trenches with a forensic pathologist in Africa
             

            Autopsy: Life in the trenches with a forensic pathologist in Africa (Paperback)

            By Blumenthal, Ryan

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.99
            • Save $5.00
            • Pub Date
              2 Apr 21

            A hair-raising account about the ins and outs of practising forensic pathology in Africa.

            ISBN 9781776191109
            Released NZ 2 Apr 2021
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 376 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›