Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Poetry & Anthologies

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 5.91K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Punching the Air
              

            Punching the Air (Paperback)

            By Zoboi, Ibi; Salaam, Yusef

            • RRP: $25.99
            • $20.20
            • Save $5.79
            • Internationally sourced

            From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of the Noughts & Crosses series and The Hate U Give.

            ISBN 9780008422141
            Released NZ 2 Sep 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Cookie Boo
             

            Cookie Boo (Hardback)

            Illustrated by Paul, Ruth

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $22.49
            • Save $7.50
            • Pub Date
              1 Nov 20

            Seven spooky cookies sitting in a tin, waiting for the moonlight to let the magic in . . . The cookies escape for a Halloween romp! They will have some tricks and treats before the night is through in this paper-over-board picture book, perfect for Halloween and reading aloud!

            ISBN 9780062869562
            Released NZ 1 Nov 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age 4-8 years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Schoolmaster's Daughter

            The Schoolmaster's Daughter (Paperback)

            By French, Jackie

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $14.99
            • Save $5.00
            • Temporarily out of stock

            Drawing on her own family history, this is a story from Jackie French about education in Colonial Australia - and how women once had to fight for their right to it. January 1901 Sharks circle the stranded ship as Hannah and her family head to a new home in the newly formed nation... of Australia. Hannah's father has a new post as the schoolmaster in a larger school in northern NSW, where the school's wealthy patron, a sugar planter called Mr Harris, will give the family a life of comfort and the best society. But secrets lurk in this subtropical paradise. From the moment Hannah's mother rebels against her husband's refusal to let Jamie, the Pacific Islander boy who rescues them from their shipwreck, into his school, the facade crumbles. Mr Harris's fortune is built on slavery and the whip. And the new Federal government's first law demands that all Pacific islanders - even those born in Australia - be deported. If Mr Harris learns of the secret school that Hannah's mother is running, it will mean ruin, violence, and possibly even death. Hannah and Jamie must fight for Jamie's right to stay in the land he loves, and for their rights to education and equality. Can the friendship and love of two young people win against such prejudice and power? Based on the lives of Jackie French's great-grandparents and grandmothers who taught - and fought - for equal education and the rights of all Australians, no matter what their background or the colour of the skin, this story shows us how the bravery and the battles of the past can give us courage for the challenges of today.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781460757710
            Published NZ 1 Jun 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age 7-12 years
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            Mother Goose's Nursery Rhymes
             

            Mother Goose's Nursery Rhymes (Hardback)

            By Scheffler, Axel

            • RRP: $48.50
            • $37.90
            • Save $10.60
            • Internationally sourced

            A beautiful gift treasury of over fifty nursery rhymes from the illustrator of The Gruffalo

            ISBN 9781529031935
            Released NZ 11 Aug 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 0-5 years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Seagull Seagull
             

            Seagull Seagull (Hardback)

            Illustrated by Rynhart, Kieran; By Baxter, James K.

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $23.99
            • Save $6.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A new gift edition of James K Baxter's classic poems for children, illustrated by Kieran Rynhart. The poems in The Tree House are light and easy read-alouds for classrooms or with toddlers-on-the-couch. James K Baxter wrote these poems when he was teaching in Lower Hutt in the 19...50s. Successful in the classroom, they have been regularly reprinted in anthologies and collections and remain popular for their accessible rhythms, humour, and quintessentially New Zealand settings.This new gift edition of Baxter's poems is illustrated by Kieran Rynhart in dramatic spreads and beautifully drawn details.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781776572816
            Published NZ 1 Mar 2020
            Publisher Gecko Press
            Interest Age 3-6 years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Crossover
             

            The Crossover (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Alexander, Kwame

            • RRP: $19.50
            • $16.25
            • Save $3.25
            • In Stock US

            In this middle grade novel in verse that's Love That Dog meets The Watsons Go to Birmingham meets Slam, twelve-year-old twin basketball starsJosh and Jordan wrestle with highs and lows on and off the court as their father ignores his declining health.

            ISBN 9780544935204
            Released NZ 5 Mar 2019
            Publisher Houghton Mifflin
            Interest Age Children
            Series Crossover
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            SLAM! You're Gonna Wanna Hear This
              

            SLAM! You're Gonna Wanna Hear This (Paperback)

            Edited by Gill, Nikita

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.99
            • Save $4.00
            • Pub Date
              10 Nov 20

            Discover the freshest voices on the UK spoken word scene in Slam! You're Gonna Wanna Hear This edited by poetry sensation Nikita Gill.

            ISBN 9781529028300
            Released NZ 10 Nov 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Stella Endicott and the Anything-Is-Possible Poem: Tales from Deckawoo Drive, Volume Five
             

            Stella Endicott and the Anything-Is-Possible Poem: Tales from Deckawoo Drive, Volume Five (Hardback)

            By DiCamillo, Kate; Illustrated by Van Dusen, Chris

            • RRP: $32.50
            • $27.10
            • Save $5.40
            • Internationally sourced

            Metaphor alert! An ode to a certain pig kicks off one wild school day in Kate DiCamillo's latest stop on Deckawoo Drive.Stella Endicott loves her teacher, Miss Liliana, and she is thrilled when the class is assigned to write a poem. Stella crafts a beautiful poem about Mercy Wats...on, the pig who lives next door - a poem complete with a metaphor and full of curiosity and courage. But Horace Broom, Stella's irritating classmate, insists that Stella's poem is full of lies and that pigs do not live in houses. And when Stella and Horace get into a shouting match in the classroom, Miss Liliana banishes them to the principal's office. Will the two of them find a way to turn this opposite-of-a-poem day around? In the newest spirited outing in the Deckawoo Drive series by Kate DiCamillo, anything is possible - even a friendship with a boy deemed to be (metaphorically speaking) an overblown balloon.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781536201802
            Released NZ 1 Aug 2020
            Publisher Candlewick Press,U.S
            Interest Age 6-9 years
            Series Tales from Deckawoo Drive
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            What Are Little Girls Made of?
             

            What Are Little Girls Made of? (Hardback)

            By Willis, Jeanne; Illustrated by Follath, Isabelle

            • RRP: $32.50
            • $25.26
            • Save $7.24
            • No availability locally

            Award-winning author, Jeanne Willis, revamps all the favourite Mother Goose Nursery Rhymes.Think you know your favourite classic nursery rhymes?

            ISBN 9781788004466
            Released NZ 3 Sep 2020
            Publisher Nosy Crow
            Interest Age 5-8 years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Black Flamingo
             

            The Black Flamingo (Paperback)

            By Atta, Dean; Illustrated by Khullar, Anshika

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.79
            • Save $4.20
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Fiercely told, this is a bold and timely coming-of-age story, told in verse about one boy's journey to self-acceptance. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Poet X and Orangeboy.

            ISBN 9781444948608
            Released NZ 23 Jun 2020
            Publisher Hachette Children's Books
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Total 5.91K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›