Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Poetry Texts & Anthologies

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 157K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Odyssey
             

            The Odyssey (Paperback, Revised edition)

            By Homer; Introduction by Jones, Peter; Revised by Rieu, Dominic; Translated by Rieu, E. V.

            • RRP: $19.31
            • $19.31
            • Reprinting locally

            An epic tale of Odysseus and his ten-year journey home after the Trojan War forms one of the earliest and greatest works of Western literature. Confronted by natural and supernatural threats - shipwrecks, battles, monsters and the implacable enmity of the sea-god Poseidon - Odyss...eus must test his bravery and cunning to the full.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780140449112
            Released NZ 6 Mar 2003
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Penguin Classics
            Language (English)
            Availability
            Reprinting locally, In Stock Internationally
            View details for this title
            Landmarks
             

            Landmarks (Hardback)

            By Sydney, Grahame; Marshall, Owen; Turner, Brian

            • RRP: $75.00
            • $56.25
            • Save $18.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A handsome, landmark book celebrating the work of three of our literary and artistic heavyweights. The complementary work of artist Grahame Sydney, fiction writer Owen Marshall and poet Brian Turner was first brought together in the hugely successful Timeless Land in 1995. Its pa...ges showed their shared, deep connection to Central Otago, to its vast skies, its wide plains punctuated by jagged ranges, its unique colours and its dwarfing effect on the people who pass through it. Twenty-five years later, this lavish new volume from these three long-time friends showcases a rich selection of their subsequent work, including recently written, previously unpublished pieces. Through their own marks about the land and its people, be it in ink or paint, they offer a love song to the South Island, in particular Central Otago.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143774228
            Published NZ 3 Nov 2020
            Publisher Random House
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            685 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Here is the Beehive: Shortlisted for Popular Fiction Book of the Year in the AN Post Irish Book Awards

            Here is the Beehive: Shortlisted for Popular Fiction Book of the Year in the AN Post Irish Book Awards (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Crossan, Sarah

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $25.73
            • Save $7.26
            • Temporarily out of stock

            You made me very bad, Connor. And I am so glad. Ana and Connor have been having an affair for three years. In hotel rooms and coffee shops, swiftly deleted texts and briefly snatched weekends, they have built a world with none but the two of them in it. But then the unimaginable ...happens, and Ana finds herself alone, trapped inside her secret. How can we lose someone the world never knew was ours? How do we grieve for something no one else can ever find out? In her desperate bid for answers, Ana seeks out the shadowy figure who has always stood just beyond her reach - Connor's wife Rebecca. Peeling away the layers of two overlapping marriages, Here is the Beehive is a devastating excavation of parenthood, betrayal and loss.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781526619518
            Released NZ 1 Sep 2020
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            The Savage Coloniser Book
              

            The Savage Coloniser Book (Paperback)

            By Avia, Tusiata

            • RRP: $25.00
            • $21.25
            • Save $3.75
            • Temporarily out of stock

            Kneel like a prayer full of lynching This is my God-given white 'Savage is as savage does. And we're all implicated. Avia breaks the colonial lens wide open. We peer through its poetic shards and see a savage world - outside, inside. With characteristic savage and stylish w...it, Avia holds the word-blade to our necks and presses with a relentless grace. At the end, you'll feel your pulse anew.' -Selina Tusitala Marsh, New Zealand Poet Laureate 2017-19 The voices of Tusiata Avia are infinite. She ranges from vulnerable to forbidding to celebratory with forms including pantoums, prayers and invocations. And in this electrifying new work, she gathers all the power of her voice to speak directly into histories of violence.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781776564095
            Published NZ 8 Oct 2020
            Publisher Victoria University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            Wow
             

            Wow (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Manhire, Bill

            • RRP: $25.00
            • $21.25
            • Save $3.75
            • Available At Publisher

            Excuse me if I laugh. The roads are dark and large books block our path. The air we breathe is made of evening air. The world is longer than the road that brings us here. Bill Manhire's new book begins with the song of an extinct bird, the huia, and journeys on into troubling fut...ures. These poems reach for the possibilities of lyric, even as their worlds are being threatened in a range of agitating ways. In the title poem we hear a baby say Wow to life and to the astonishing prospect of language; but almost immediately we hear the world reply: Also. Along the way there are several desperate jokes. Bill Manhire's most recent books include Some Things to Place in a Coffin (2017), Tell Me My Name (with Hannah Griffin and Norman Meehan, 2017) and The Stories of Bill Manhire (2015). He was New Zealand's inaugural poet laureate, and founded and until recently directed the International Institute of Modern Letters at Victoria University of Wellington. He has edited major anthologies, including, with Marion McLeod, the now classic Some Other Country: New Zealand's Best Short Stories (1984). Bill is a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit and a Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand
            Read more

            ISBN 9781776563173
            Published NZ 12 Nov 2020
            Publisher Victoria University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Iliad
             

            The Iliad (Trade Paperback / Paperback, New edition)

            By Homer; Notes by Knox, Bernard M. W.; Translated by Fagles, Robert

            • RRP: $36.00
            • $27.00
            • Save $9.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            One of the epics in Western literature, The Iliad recounts the story of the Trojan wars. In his introduction, the author observes that although the violence of the Iliad is grim and relentless, it co-exists with both images of civilized life and a poignant yearning for peace.

            ISBN 9780140275360
            Released NZ 29 Apr 1999
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Penguin Classics
            Language (English)
            Availability
            173 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            AUP New Poets 7
              

            AUP New Poets 7 (Paperback)

            Edited by Jackson, Anna; By Feeney, Rhys; Masae, Ria; Jardine, Claudia

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $25.49
            • Save $4.50
            • Pub Date
              30 Dec 20

            Three dynamic new poets take us from Apia to Parnell, ancient Rome to Aro Park.

            ISBN 9781869409210
            Published NZ 30 Dec 2020
            Publisher Auckland University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series AUP New Poets
            Availability
            110 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The World's Wife
             

            The World's Wife (Paperback, Main Market Ed.)

            By Duffy, Carol Ann; Introduction by Winterson, Jeanette

            • RRP: $32.50
            • $24.14
            • Save $8.36
            • Internationally sourced

            'The World's Wife is a joyous exuberant book of poems about women usually excluded from myth and history' Guardian

            ISBN 9781447275244
            Released NZ 1 Feb 2015
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Series Picador Classic
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Dearly: Poems

            Dearly: Poems (Hardback)

            By Atwood, Margaret

            • RRP: $34.00
            • $26.52
            • Save $7.48
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The collection of a lifetime from the bestselling novelist and poet By turns moving, playful and wise, the poems gathered in Dearly are about absences and endings, ageing and retrospection, but also about gifts and renewals.

            ISBN 9781784743895
            Released NZ 17 Nov 2020
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Black Flamingo
             

            The Black Flamingo (Paperback)

            By Atta, Dean; Illustrated by Khullar, Anshika

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.79
            • Save $4.20
            • To Order

            Fiercely told, this is a bold and timely coming-of-age story, told in verse about one boy's journey to self-acceptance. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Poet X and Orangeboy.

            ISBN 9781444948608
            Released NZ 23 Jun 2020
            Publisher Hachette Children's Books
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            Total 157K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›