Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Poetry Texts & Anthologies

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 163K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Savage Coloniser Book
               

            The Savage Coloniser Book (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Avia, Tusiata

            • RRP: $25.00
            • $21.25
            • Save $3.75
            • Pub Date
              30 May 21

            Kneel like a prayer full of lynching This is my God-given white 'Savage is as savage does. And we're all implicated. Avia breaks the colonial lens wide open. We peer through its poetic shards and see a savage world - outside, inside. With characteristic savage and stylish w...it, Avia holds the word-blade to our necks and presses with a relentless grace. At the end, you'll feel your pulse anew.' -Selina Tusitala Marsh, New Zealand Poet Laureate 2017-19 The voices of Tusiata Avia are infinite. She ranges from vulnerable to forbidding to celebratory with forms including pantoums, prayers and invocations. And in this electrifying new work, she gathers all the power of her voice to speak directly into histories of violence.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781776564095
            Published NZ 30 May 2021
            Publisher Victoria University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            12 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Paper Aeroplane: Selected Poems 1989-2014
             

            Paper Aeroplane: Selected Poems 1989-2014 (Paperback, Main)

            By Armitage, Simon; Roberts, Sue

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $5.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            When the author burst on to the poetry scene in 1989 with his debut Zoom!, readers were introduced to an exceptional new talent, Drawing upon all of his award-winning poetry collections, including Kid, Book of Matches, The Universal Home Doctor and Seeing Stars, this title presen...ts a selection of his poems.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780571310692
            Released NZ 29 Jul 2015
            Publisher Faber and Faber
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            18 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Mermaid's Purse
               

            The Mermaid's Purse (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Fleur, Adcock

            • RRP: $25.00
            • $21.25
            • Save $3.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Fleur Adcock began writing the poems in this book when she was 82. The two chief settings are New Zealand, with its multi-coloured seas, and Britain, seen in various decades. There are foreign travels, flirtations, family memories, deaths and conversations with the dead. Katherin...e Mansfield, incognito, dodges an academic conference; there's a lesson in water divining as well as a rather unusual Christmas party. We meet several varieties of small mammal, numerous birds, doomed or otherwise, and some sheep. The book ends with a sequence in memory of her friend, the poet Roy Fisher.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781776564149
            Published NZ 11 Feb 2021
            Publisher Victoria University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            799 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Home Body

            Home Body (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Kaur, Rupi

            • RRP: $28.99
            • $22.61
            • Save $6.38
            • In Stock At Publisher

            rupi kaur constantly embraces growth, and in home body, she walks readers through a reflective and intimate journey visiting the past, the present, and the potential of the self. home body is a collection of raw, honest conversations with oneself - reminding readers to fill up on... love, acceptance, community, family, and embrace change. illustrated by the author, themes of nature and nurture, light and dark, rest here. i dive into the well of my body and end up in another world everything i need already exists in me there's no need to look anywhere else - home
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760858629
            Published NZ 18 Nov 2020
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Australia
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Mythos: The Greek Myths Retold

            Mythos: The Greek Myths Retold (Paperback)

            By Fry, Stephen

            • RRP: $26.00
            • $19.50
            • Save $6.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            *** Pre-order Mythos by Stephen Fry now ***The Greek myths are the greatest stories ever told, passed down through millennia and inspiring writers and artists as varied as Shakespeare, Michelangelo, James Joyce and Walt Disney.They are embedded deeply in the traditions, tales and... cultural DNA of the West. In Stephen Fry's hands the stories of the titans and gods become a brilliantly entertaining account of ribaldry and revelry, warfare and worship, debauchery, love affairs and life lessons, slayings and suicides, triumphs and tragedies.You'll fall in love with Zeus, marvel at the birth of Athena, wince at Cronus and Gaia's revenge on Ouranos, weep with King Midas and hunt with the beautiful and ferocious Artemis.Thoroughly spellbinding, informative and moving, Stephen Fry's Mythos perfectly captures these stories for the modern age - in all their rich and deeply human relevance.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781405934138
            Released NZ 3 Oct 2018
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Stephen Fry's Greek Myths
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Dearly: Poems

            Dearly: Poems (Hardback)

            By Atwood, Margaret

            • RRP: $34.00
            • $26.52
            • Save $7.48
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The collection of a lifetime from the bestselling novelist and poet By turns moving, playful and wise, the poems gathered in Dearly are about absences and endings, ageing and retrospection, but also about gifts and renewals.

            ISBN 9781784743895
            Released NZ 17 Nov 2020
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Many Different Kinds of Love: A story of life, death and the NHS
             

            Many Different Kinds of Love: A story of life, death and the NHS (Hardback)

            By Rosen, Michael

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $31.20
            • Save $8.80
            • Pub Date
              18 May 21

            Embarking on the long road to recovery, Michael was soon ready to start writing about his near-death experience. Combining stunning new prose poems by one of Britain's best loved poets and the moving coronavirus diaries of his nurses, doctors and wife Emma-Louise Williams, this i...s a beautiful book about love, life and the NHS.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781529109450
            Released NZ 18 May 2021
            Publisher Ebury Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Hill We Climb: An Inaugural Poem
             

            The Hill We Climb: An Inaugural Poem (Hardback)

            By Gorman, Amanda; Introduction by Winfrey, Oprah

            • RRP: $32.50
            • $24.52
            • Save $7.98
            • Internationally sourced

            Amanda Gorman's powerful and historic poem 'The Hill We Climb,' read at President Joe Biden's inauguration, is now available as a collectible gift edition. 'I was profoundly moved as I watched you read your poem 'The Hill We Climb' at last month's Inauguration.

            ISBN 9781784744601
            Released NZ 13 Apr 2021
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Wedding Readings and Poems
             

            Wedding Readings and Poems (Hardback)

            Edited by Brown, Becky; By Various

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.99
            • Save $4.00
            • Pub Date
              25 May 21

            A gorgeous compilation of writing on love and marriage that makes the perfect wedding gift, party favour or speech giving tool.

            ISBN 9781529052596
            Released NZ 25 May 2021
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Series Macmillan Collector's Library
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Black Flamingo
             

            The Black Flamingo (Paperback)

            By Atta, Dean; Illustrated by Khullar, Anshika

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.99
            • Save $4.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Fiercely told, this is a bold and timely coming-of-age story, told in verse about one boy's journey to self-acceptance. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Poet X and Orangeboy.

            ISBN 9781444948608
            Released NZ 23 Jun 2020
            Publisher Hachette Children's Books
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Availability
            34 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 163K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›