Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            World History: Second World War

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 19.2K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Happiest Man on Earth

            The Happiest Man on Earth (Hardback)

            By Jaku, Eddie

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A Holocaust survivor shares what he's learned about gratitude, tolerance and kindness.

            ISBN 9781760980085
            Published NZ 28 Jul 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Miracle Typist

            The Miracle Typist (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Silver, Leon

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In the tradition of THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ, a heartbreaking true story of love, loss and survival against all odds during the Second World war. Conscripted into the Polish army as Hitler's ground and air forces are bearing down on his country, Jew Tolek Klings vows to return ...to his wife, Klara, and son, Juliusz. However, when the Luftwaffe's bombs start falling and the Polish cause looks hopelessly lost, Tolek finds himself under fire from his supposed brothers in arms. The Polish army is rife with anti-Semitism and he is relentlessly tormented. As the Germans cross the border, he is faced with a terrible dilemma: flee to protect his family - and risk being shot as a deserter - or ride out the war, hoping rumours of women and children being spared in the concentration camps are true. What follows is an odyssey that will take Tolek from a Hungarian internment camp, where his ability to type spares him from the frontline, on to Palestine, Beirut, Egypt, Tobruk and Italy. A broken telegram from Klara, ending with the haunting words, 'We trouble', pushes him to the brink.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760854355
            Published NZ 2 Sep 2020
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Australia
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy
             

            Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Loftis, Larry

            • RRP: $36.99
            • $30.03
            • Save $6.96
            • In Stock US

            The extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II--perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Boys in the Boat, and Code Girls. --Provided by publisher.

            ISBN 9781501198663
            Released NZ 12 Nov 2019
            Publisher Gallery Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Ratline: Love, Lies and Justice on the Trail of a Nazi Fugitive

            The Ratline: Love, Lies and Justice on the Trail of a Nazi Fugitive (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Sands, Philippe, QC

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The new book by the winner of the Baillie Gifford Prize and author of the Sunday Times bestseller EAST WEST STREET - a historical detective story that sets out to uncover the truth behind what happened to leading Nazi Otto von Wachter

            ISBN 9781474608138
            Released NZ 28 Apr 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Windsor Diaries: A Childhood with the Princesses
             

            The Windsor Diaries: A Childhood with the Princesses (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Howard, Alathea Fitzalan; Edited by Noel, Celestria; Foreword by Naylor-Leyland, Lady Isabella

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Pub Date
              13 Oct 20

            The Windsor Diaries are the never-before-seen diaries of Alathea Fitzalan Howard, who lived alongside the young Princesses Elizabeth and Margaret at Windsor Castle during the Second World War. Alathea's home life was an unhappy one. Her parents had separated and so during the war... she was sent to live with her grandfather, Viscount Fitzalan of Derwent, at Cumberland Lodge in Windsor Great Park. There Alathea found the affection and harmony she craved as she became a close friend of the two princesses, visiting them often at Windsor Castle, enjoying parties, balls, cinema evenings, picnics and celebrations with the Royal Family and other members of the Court. Alathea's diary became her constant companion during these years as day by day she recorded every intimate detail of life with the young Princesses, often with their governess Crawfie, or with the King and Queen. Written from the ages of sixteen to twenty-two, she captures the tight-knit, happy bonds between the Royal Family, as well as the aspirations and anxieties, sometimes extreme, of her own teenage mind. These unique diaries give us a bird's eye view of Royal wartime life with all of Alathea's honest, yet affectionate judgments and observations - as well as a candid and vivid portrait of the young Princess Elizabeth, known to Alathea as 'Lilibet', a warm, self-contained girl, already falling for her handsome prince Philip, and facing her ultimate destiny: the Crown.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781529328097
            Released NZ 13 Oct 2020
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Railway Girls: Their bond will see them through

            The Railway Girls: Their bond will see them through (Paperback)

            By Thomas, Maisie

            • RRP: $17.99
            • $14.03
            • Save $3.96
            • To Order

            The first novel in the utterly brilliant Railway Girls series. Beneath a vast tiled map showing the lines of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway network, a series of seven bronze panels recorded the names of the men of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway who gave their lives fo...r King and Country in the Great War - a total of 1,460 names.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781787463967
            Released NZ 9 Jul 2020
            Publisher Cornerstone
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Secrets of the Railway Girls

            Secrets of the Railway Girls (Paperback)

            By Thomas, Maisie

            • RRP: $17.99
            • $14.03
            • Save $3.96
            • Pre Release Local

            The second novel in the uplifting railway girls series that shows just how important friendship and love is in a time of uncertainty and change.

            ISBN 9781787463974
            Released NZ 17 Sep 2020
            Publisher Cornerstone
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Those Who Forget: One Family's Story; A Memoir, a History, a Warning
             

            Those Who Forget: One Family's Story; A Memoir, a History, a Warning (Hardback)

            By Schwarz, Geraldine; Translated by Marris, Laura

            • RRP: $45.00
            • $36.00
            • Save $9.00
            • Pub Date
              5 Jan 21

            Geraldine Schwarz's family never discussed what happened in the war. Neither heroes nor villains, her German grandparents were merely the 'Mitlaufer' - those who followed the current. They just wanted to forget, to bury it all under the wreckage of the Third Reich. But decades la...ter when, delving through filing cabinets in the basement of their apartment building in Mannheim, Geraldine discovers that her grandfather Karl profited from the forced 'Aryanisation' of Jewish businesses, she is compelled to investigate her ancestors' past. How guilty were they? Weaving together the threads of three generations of family history - from Nazi Germany to Vichy France - with that of Europe's process of postwar reckoning, Schwarz explores how millions were seduced by ideology, how they were overcome by a fog of denial after the war and how, eventually, they confronted the past. In doing so, she asks: what makes us become complicit? How should nations deal with collective guilt? And, amid the rise of extremism today, how do we ensure we remember?
            Read more

            ISBN 9781782275350
            Released NZ 5 Jan 2021
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (English)
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Good Germans: Resisting the Nazis, 1933-1945

            The Good Germans: Resisting the Nazis, 1933-1945 (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Clay, Catrine

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Award-winning historian Catrine Clay tells the story of ordinary Germans who witnessed the rise of Nazism in Germany from within and dared to resist it.

            ISBN 9781474607889
            Released NZ 8 Sep 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Victory in Europe: From D-Day to the Destruction of the Third Reich, 1944-1945

            Victory in Europe: From D-Day to the Destruction of the Third Reich, 1944-1945 (Hardback)

            By Thompson, Julian; War Museum, Imperial

            • RRP: $45.00
            • $36.00
            • Save $9.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The reader can re-live this momentous period of history by examining maps, diaries, letters, sketches, secret memos and reports, posters and labels which up till now have remained exclusively in museums.

            ISBN 9780233006147
            Released NZ 2 Jun 2020
            Publisher Welbeck Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 19.2K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›