Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Religion & Beliefs

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 542K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Atua: Maori Gods and Heroes
             

            Atua: Maori Gods and Heroes (Hardback)

            By Bishop, Gavin

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $30.00
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Gavin Bishop's stunning, once-in-a-generation compendium introduces readers to the pantheon of Maori gods, demigods and heroes, and explores Aotearoa's most exciting legends from the Creation to the Migration. Meet the gods, demigods and heroes of the Maori people of Aotearoa in ...this breathtaking, large-scale illustrated book for children. Before the beginning there was nothing. No sound, no air, no colour - nothing. TE KORE, NOTHING. No one knows how long this nothing lasted because there was no time. However, in this great nothing there was a sense of waiting. Something was about to happen. Meet the gods, demigods and heroes of the Maori world, and explore Aotearoa's exciting legends from the Creation to the Migration. Fascinating, beautiful and informative, this once-in-a-generation compendium deserves a place on every bookshelf.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143775690
            Published NZ 31 Aug 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 5-12 years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Tikanga
             

            Tikanga (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Tipene, Francis; Tipene, Kaiora

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The stars of The Casketeers on how to live a fulfilling life, rich with tikanga. Following on from the bestseller Life as a Casketeer, Francis and Kaiora Tipene share how they bring the traditional values of tikanga Maori into day-to-day living. Known for their warm hearts, grace... and humour, the stars of the wildly popular Netflix series The Casketeers share more of their life experiences juggling five sons, three businesses, a television show and a life filled with joy, spirituality and happiness.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775541752
            Published NZ 2 Jun 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            655 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            He Atua, He Tangata: The World of Maori Mythology
              

            He Atua, He Tangata: The World of Maori Mythology (Hardback, 3rd Enhanced edition)

            By Reed, A. W.; Edited by Calman, Ross

            • RRP: $59.99
            • $53.99
            • Save $6.00
            • Pub Date
              6 Oct 21

            Esteemed editor Ross Calman (Ngati Raukawa, Ngati Toa, Kai Tahu) further revises the Reed Book of Maori Mythology to blend story, source and commentary into a captivating collection. Published in a distinguished hardback, this work will provide a valuable source of reading and re...ference for years to come.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780947506889
            Published NZ 6 Oct 2021
            Publisher Oratia Media
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            100 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Surviving Centrepoint: My years in New Zealand's most infamous cult
             

            Surviving Centrepoint: My years in New Zealand's most infamous cult (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By King, Rachel C.

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $26.25
            • Save $8.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A powerful survivor's memoir from a former child resident of New Zealand's infamous Centrepoint Community Shortly before I turned 13, my life changed forever when my family moved to the notorious Centrepoint Community on Auckland's North Shore, then at its peak. Centrepoint was f...ounded by Bert Potter, its 'spiritual leader'. He called himself God. During my four years there I was pressured into inappropriate and often frightening situations by many of its adult members. Like so many others, I have lived with the trauma and shame of these memories, but I have survived. This is my story. In this intimate and harrowing account, Rachel Clare King tells her story of the years she spent in New Zealand's notorious commune, Centrepoint, and life there under the rule of its cult leader and founder Bert Potter. Through the eyes of her young self, Rachel exposes the truth of life at Centrepoint - a hippie dream turned nightmare - with its bizarre rules, hierarchies and social controls. It was a place where children were given drugs, where free sexuality was mandated, including between adults and children, and where to resist was actively discouraged. She describes the fear and confusion of growing up in a corrupt world where wrong was right, and the grief of losing her childhood. She takes us inside the police case and court battle against one of her abusers, and the historic action that ultimately saw Potter and others charged with drug and child sex abuse crimes, and Centrepoint shut down. Surviving Centrepoint was first published under the pseudonym Ella James. Now, for the first time, and using her real name, Rachel shares her journey from physical hurt and emotional pain to the reality of survival and the healing power of telling the truth.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143776697
            Published NZ 22 Jun 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            667 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Firekeeper's Daughter: The New York Times No. 1 Bestseller
             

            Firekeeper's Daughter: The New York Times No. 1 Bestseller (Hardback)

            By Boulley, Angeline

            • RRP: $28.99
            • $21.74
            • Save $7.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A ground-breaking YA thriller about a Native American teen who must root out the corruption in her community. For fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange

            ISBN 9781786079046
            Released NZ 20 Jul 2021
            Publisher Oneworld Publications
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Availability
            15 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Daughters of Sparta: A tale of secrets, betrayal and revenge from mythology's most vilified women

            Daughters of Sparta: A tale of secrets, betrayal and revenge from mythology's most vilified women (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Heywood, Claire

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • Back Order Indent title

            The story of the Siege of Troy from the infamous Helen and her sister Klytemnestra's points of view - a tale of secrets, love and tragedy from the women behind mythology's most devastating war.

            ISBN 9781529333671
            Released NZ 29 Jun 2021
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Back Order Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            He Puna Iti i te Ao Marama: A Little Spring in the World of Light
              

            He Puna Iti i te Ao Marama: A Little Spring in the World of Light (Paperback, 2nd Revised edition)

            By Tate, Pa Henare

            • RRP: $80.00
            • $72.00
            • Save $8.00
            • Pub Date
              9 Nov 21

            First published in 2012 and here in a revised edition, He Puna Iti i te Ao Marama is a far-reaching work that attempts to develop the foundations of an indigenous Maori theology.

            ISBN 9781990042034
            Published NZ 9 Nov 2021
            Publisher Oratia Media
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Secrets of Thistle Cottage
             

            The Secrets of Thistle Cottage (Paperback)

            By Barrett, Kerry

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $22.35
            • Save $0.64
            • In Stock UK

            The truth can be dangerous in the wrong hands...

            ISBN 9780008389765
            Released NZ 10 Sep 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            There Is No Big Bad Wolf In This Story

            There Is No Big Bad Wolf In This Story (Paperback)

            By Carter, Lou; Illustrated by Allwright, Deborah

            • RRP: $16.99
            • $13.25
            • Save $3.74
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The Big Bad Wolf is late AGAIN and is ruining stories as he rushes through the forest to Grandma's house. When the Three Little Pigs get seriously grumpy AGAIN, Wolf tells them he's had ENOUGH. There will be no more HUFFING and PUFFING from this Big Bad Wolf. The fairytale charac...ters aren't worried - they can totally manage without him! But Big Bad Wolfing is harder than it looks ... And what happens when they realise that they really need a Big Bad Wolf in this story? From the pairing behind the fabulously funny and internationally bestselling There Is No Dragon In This Story comes another hilarious story featuring your favourite fairytale characters as you've never seen them before!
            Read more

            ISBN 9781526608161
            Released NZ 31 Aug 2021
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age 0-5 years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Forever My Own
             

            Forever My Own (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Peterson, Tracie

            • RRP: $28.50
            • $26.91
            • Save $1.59
            • In Stock US

            While caring for her grandmother, Kristin encounters the brother she long thought dead. And when his friend Ilian is hurt, she volunteers to care for him. As he recovers, a natural attraction sparks between them, but both are dealing with problems that have no easy answers. With ...no clear way forward, can love ever thrive and the past be forgiven?
            Read more

            ISBN 9780764232374
            Released NZ 6 Jul 2021
            Publisher Baker Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Ladies of the Lake
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 542K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›