Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Religion & Beliefs

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 532K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Atua: Maori Gods and Heroes
              

            Atua: Maori Gods and Heroes (Hardback)

            By Bishop, Gavin

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $31.20
            • Save $8.80
            • In Stock At Supplier

            Meet the gods, demigods and heroes of the Maori people of Aotearoa in this breathtaking, large-scale illustrated book for children. Before the beginning there was nothing. No sound, no air, no colour - nothing. TE KORE, NOTHING. No one knows how long this nothing lasted because t...here was no time. However, in this great nothing there was a sense of waiting. Something was about to happen. Meet the gods, demigods and heroes of the Maori world, and explore Aotearoa's exciting legends from the Creation to the Migration. Fascinating, beautiful and informative, this once-in-a-generation compendium deserves a place on every bookshelf.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143775690
            Published NZ 31 Aug 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 5-8 years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Blackhouse
             

            The Blackhouse (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Johnstone, Carole

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $25.73
            • Save $7.26
            • Pub Date
              3 Aug 22

            From the critically-acclaimed author of Mirrorland comes a darkly disturbing new thriller...

            ISBN 9780008554323
            Released NZ 3 Aug 2022
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Firekeeper's Daughter: Winner of the Goodreads Choice Award for YA
              

            Firekeeper's Daughter: Winner of the Goodreads Choice Award for YA (Paperback)

            By Boulley, Angeline

            • RRP: $23.45
            • $23.45
            • Internationally sourced

            For fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange comes a ground-breaking YA thriller about a Native American teen who must root out the corruption in her community

            ISBN 9781786079060
            Publisher Oneworld Publications
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 10-15 working days
            View details for this title
            Roxy & Jones: The Curse of the Gingerbread Witch

            Roxy & Jones: The Curse of the Gingerbread Witch (Paperback)

            By Woolfe, Angela; Cover design or artwork by Escobar, Paola

            • RRP: $16.99
            • $13.59
            • Save $3.40
            • In Stock At Supplier

            A hilarious modern fairy-tale mash-up set in a world in which witches are real, magic is real and fairy tales are not only real ... but recent history. Roxy Humperdinck is still reeling from the Great Fairy Tale Cover-up when Cinderella Jones returns with a new mission: to invest...igate The Missing - the children who followed the Pied Piper into the mountain thirty years ago, never to be seen again. And so begins another crazy adventure that takes the girls up Jack's beanstalk, through Red Riding Hood's Woods ... and to the cottage of the most evil villain of all time, the Gingerbread Witch.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781406391381
            Released NZ 5 Jan 2022
            Publisher Walker Books
            Interest Age 9-11 years
            Availability
            146 In stock at supplier; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Dictator's Wife: The BBC Between the Covers Book Club pick

            The Dictator's Wife: The BBC Between the Covers Book Club pick (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Berry, Freya

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $31.15
            • Save $6.84
            • In Stock At Supplier

            A dictator's wife, overthrown and awaiting trial, pleads her case to a young female lawyer, while also drawing her into a tangled web of lies and dark, dangerous secrets. This dazzling and devastating debut is a Lead Launch for Headline Review for Spring 2021.

            ISBN 9781472276315
            Released NZ 22 Feb 2022
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            9 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Murder Before Evensong: The instant no. 1 Sunday Times bestseller

            Murder Before Evensong: The instant no. 1 Sunday Times bestseller (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Coles, Reverend Richard

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • Back Order Indent title

            The first novel in the Reverend Richard Coles' Canon Clement Mystery series.

            ISBN 9781399604154
            Released NZ 14 Jun 2022
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Canon Clement Mystery
            Availability
            Back Order Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            The Thief Who Sang Storms
             

            The Thief Who Sang Storms (Paperback)

            By Anderson, Sophie; Illustrated by Lisowiec, Joanna

            • RRP: $16.99
            • $13.59
            • Save $3.40
            • Pub Date
              3 Aug 22

            The Island of Morovia is shaped like a broken heart. The humans live on one side of the island, and the alkonosts - the bird-people - live on the other. But it wasn't always this way... Linnet wishes she could sing magic, like her father, Nightingale - and bring the two sides of ...her island together again. For her land has been divided by a terrible tragedy, and Linnet has been banished with her father to the deepest swamps, leaving behind her best friends, Hero and Silver. So when her father is captured, Linnet must be brave and embark on a treacherous journey. Through alligator pools and sinking sands, she finds new friends. Yet without her singing magic, Linnet discovers something even more powerful. Something that could save her father, and heal the broken heart of her island once more... With themes of grief, trust, love, and that we have more in common than that which divides us, this is a heartfelt book filled with adventure and stunning storytelling from bestselling Sophie Anderson.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781474979061
            Released NZ 3 Aug 2022
            Publisher Usborne Publishing Ltd
            Interest Age 9-11 years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Between God and a Hard Place
               

            Between God and a Hard Place (Paperback)

            By Corboy, Michael

            • RRP: $60.00
            • $60.00
            • Available

            This is the story of 19th Century evangelical Anglicans who determined to convert the people of Aotearoa to Christianity. As campaigners for their Christian God, they travelled to a country 12,000 miles from Britain, a perilous journey, to convert inhabitants of whom they knew ve...ry little. This book traces contact between two cultures, cosmologies, spiritual beliefs and practices.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780473596040
            Published NZ 1 Feb 2022
            Publisher NZ / SP Author Self Published
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Showing available from supplier, allow 2-4 weeks for delivery
            View details for this title
            I May Be Wrong: The Sunday Times Bestseller
              

            I May Be Wrong: The Sunday Times Bestseller (Hardback)

            By Lindeblad, Bjoern Natthiko; Modiri, Navid; Bankler, Caroline

            • RRP: $44.32
            • $44.32
            • Internationally sourced

            'Perhaps you wonder what a dusty old Buddhist ex-monk has to say that's relevant to your life. Fair enough. Let me tell you what the book is not. It's not about religion. It's not about telling you how to live your life. It's not about taking on a new set of beliefs. Plain and si...mple, it's about how to relate to your own thoughts and emotions in a way that makes your life more enjoyable, more free, brighter, clearer and wiser.' At the age of twenty-six, Bjoern Natthiko Lindeblad abandoned a promising career, gave away all his possessions and left his loved ones to become a forest monk in Thailand. For seventeen years he lived his life according to the rules of the monastery. After returning to Swedish society, he was met with a diagnosis of a progressive, incurable disease: ALS. In I May Be Wrong, he shares his hard-won insights into how one can live a more present life, and what stands out as most important when things are coming to an end. The result is a beautiful, powerful and urgent last lesson on how we can live more peacefully with ourselves, and come to accept the uncertainty that is a part of all we do.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781526644824
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 10-15 working days
            View details for this title
            Lost in the Valley of Death: A Story of Obsession and Danger in the Himalayas
              

            Lost in the Valley of Death: A Story of Obsession and Danger in the Himalayas (Hardback)

            By Rustad, Harley

            • RRP: $59.99
            • $46.79
            • Save $13.20
            • Pub Date
              16 Aug 22

            But the ever restless explorer was driven to pursue ever greater challenges, and greater risks, in what had become a personal quest-his own hero's journey.In 2016, he made his way to the Parvati Valley, a remote and rugged corner of the Indian Himalayas steeped in mystical tradit...ion yet shrouded in darkness and danger.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780062965967
            Released NZ 16 Aug 2022
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 532K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›