Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Religion & Beliefs

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 539K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Impossible: My Story
             

            Impossible: My Story (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Walker, Stan

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • Temporarily out of stock

            For the first time, the incomparable R&B superstar Stan Walker tells his story of hurt, hope and courage. After definitively winning the 2009 season of Australian Idol at the age of 19, R&B sensation Stan Walker's career went from strength to strength. His first album, Introducin...g Stan Walker, went platinum in Australia and triple platinum in New Zealand; his second; From the Inside Out, debuted at number one on the New Zealand Albums Charts and number two on the ARIA charts. He's won multiple New Zealand Music Awards, been a judge on The X Factor NZ, and played starring roles in films Mt Zion and Born to Dance. Yet few knew what he had had to overcome reach these dizzying heights. Before Australian Idol, Walker had survived a childhood marred with poverty, domestic violence and sexual abuse; dabbled in crime and drug use; and suffered his own personal tragedy. For the first time, he speaks candidly about his rags-to-riches story - and the trials and tribulations he's had to deal with since. The trans-Tasman R&B superstar's raw and open memoir is a lesson that no matter how many setbacks, no matter the odds, you will succeed if you have the courage and belief to do so.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775541479
            Published NZ 7 Oct 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            Navigating the Stars: Maori Creation Myths
              

            Navigating the Stars: Maori Creation Myths (Hardback)

            By Ihimaera, Witi

            • RRP: $45.00
            • $33.75
            • Save $11.25
            • Pub Date
              6 Nov 20

            From master storyteller Witi Ihimaera, a spellbinding and provocative retelling of traditional Maori myths for the twenty-first century. In this milestone volume, Ihimaera traces the history of the Maori people through their creation myths. He follows Tawhaki up the vines into th...e firmament, Hine-titama down into the land of the dead, Maui to the ends of the earth, and the giants and turehu who sailed across the ocean to our shores . . . From Hawaiki to Aotearoa, the ancient navigators brought their myths, while looking to the stars - bright with gods, ancestors and stories - to guide the way. 'Step through the gateway now to stories that are as relevant today as they ever were.'
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143774990
            Published NZ 6 Nov 2020
            Publisher Random House
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            229 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Islam Book: Big Ideas Simply Explained
             

            The Islam Book: Big Ideas Simply Explained (Hardback)

            By DK; Foreword by Omaar, Rageh

            • RRP: $48.00
            • $36.00
            • Save $12.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            This comprehensive, accessible, and factual guide to Islam is essential to understanding the world's fastest-growing religion. This essential guide to Islam covers every aspect of the Muslim faith and its history - from the life of the Prophet Muhammad and the teachings of the Ko...ran to Islam in the 21st century. Celebrating the scientific, literary, and artistic achievements of the Islamic Golden Age and the ideas of philosophers and theologians across the centuries, it opens a window on the Islamic world. The series' trademark graphics and mind maps unpick the central tenets of Islam, such as prayer, fasting, and pilgrimage. Clear factual writing offers insight into terms like Sharia law, the Caliphate, and jihad; Sunni and Shia divisions; and Sufi poetry and music. Images of Islamic art, architecture, calligraphy, and historical artefacts illustrate the articles. Modern issues such as fundamentalism are discussed in context alongside the work of peaceful traditionalists, modernizers, and women's rights campaigners, among others. Packed with more than 80 inspiring quotations, and bold, intriguing illustrations, The Islam Book is an invaluable source of information both for members of one of the world's major religions and any interested reader who wants a clear unbiased guide to the meaning of this faith.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241409688
            Released NZ 2 Jul 2020
            Publisher Dorling Kindersley Publishers
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Series Big Ideas
            Availability
            349 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Te Hahi Mihinare | The Maori Anglican Church
              

            Te Hahi Mihinare | The Maori Anglican Church (Paperback)

            By Kaa, Hirini

            • RRP: $59.99
            • $47.99
            • Save $12.00
            • Pub Date
              9 Nov 20

            This ground-breaking book explores the birth, growth, struggles and ongoing life of Te Hahi Mihinare - the Maori Anglican Church.

            ISBN 9780947518752
            Published NZ 9 Nov 2020
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Lost City
             

            The Lost City (Paperback)

            By Hocking, Amanda

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.99
            • Save $4.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Ulla Tullin is desperate to find her real parents and unlock her half-blood heritage. But her journey will be far more perilous than she could have imagined - and far more rewarding than she could have dreamed. Amanda Hocking returns to her much-loved Trylle universe with this fi...nal trilogy.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781529001303
            Released NZ 14 Jul 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Series Omte Origins
            Availability
            500 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Betty: The International Bestseller

            Betty: The International Bestseller (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Unabridged edition)

            By McDaniel, Tiffany

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A stunning, lyrical coming-of-age novel set in the rolling foothills of the Appalachians in which a young girl, with only the compass of her father's imagination, must navigate racism, sexism, and the dark secrets that will haunt her for the rest of her life.

            ISBN 9781474617536
            Released NZ 25 Aug 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            408 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Sword in the Stars
             

            Sword in the Stars (Paperback)

            By McCarthy, Cori; Capetta, Amy Rose

            • RRP: $18.99
            • $14.24
            • Save $4.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A genderqueer romance of intergalactic proportions. The brilliant sequel to Once and Future

            ISBN 9781786077011
            Released NZ 16 Jun 2020
            Publisher Oneworld Publications
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            131 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Last Druid: Book Four of the Fall of Shannara

            The Last Druid: Book Four of the Fall of Shannara (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Brooks, Terry

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • In Stock At Publisher

            For forty years, Terry Brooks's Shannara series has entranced millions of readers around the world. And now comes the final novel in his four-part Fall of Shannara series, which will bring Terry's epic vision to a grand conclusion

            ISBN 9780356510262
            Released NZ 27 Oct 2020
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Series Fall of Shannara
            Availability
            496 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Troy: Our Greatest Story Retold
             

            Troy: Our Greatest Story Retold (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Fry, Stephen

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $27.75
            • Save $9.25
            • Pub Date
              13 Nov 20

            The story of Troy speaks to all of us - the kidnapping of Helen, a queen celebrated for her beauty, sees the Greeks launch a thousand ships against the city of Troy, to which they will lay siege for ten whole years. It is a terrible war with casualties on all sides as well as str...ained relations between allies, whose consequences become tragedies. In Troy you will find heroism and hatred, love and loss, revenge and regret, desire and despair. It is these human passions, written bloodily in the sands of a distant shore, that still speak to us today.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241424599
            Released NZ 13 Nov 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Series Stephen Fry's Greek Myths
            Availability
            806 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            A Girl Made of Air

            A Girl Made of Air (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Hetherington, Nydia

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A lyrical debut packed with myth, magic and folklore, perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern and Angela Carter

            ISBN 9781529408881
            Released NZ 8 Sep 2020
            Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            136 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Total 539K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›