Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Literary & Linguistic Reference Works

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 75.0K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Your Story Matters: Find Your Voice, Sharpen Your Skills, Tell Your Story
             

            Your Story Matters: Find Your Voice, Sharpen Your Skills, Tell Your Story (Hardback)

            By Shukla, Nikesh

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $43.99
            • Save $6.00
            • Pub Date
              14 Jun 22

            Empowering, creative guide to telling your story from Nikesh Shukla, award-winning author and editor of the bestselling anthology The Good Immigrant.

            ISBN 9781529052343
            Released NZ 14 Jun 2022
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Horror: A Literary History
             

            Horror: A Literary History (Paperback, New edition)

            Edited by Reyes, Xavier Aldana; Contributions by Townshend, Dale; Monnet, Agnieszka Soltysik; Mahawatte, Royce; Luckhurst, Roger

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $44.15
            • Save $5.84
            • Internationally sourced

            This ground-breaking book, now in paperback, is the first comprehensive history of horror fiction to take readers from the first Gothic novel in 1764 to the 'new weird', and beyond, in the early 21st century. It offers a chronological overview of the genre in fiction and explores... its development and mutations over the past 250 years.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780712353335
            Publisher British Library Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Raupo Phrasebook of Modern Maori
             

            The Raupo Phrasebook of Modern Maori (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Morrison, Scotty

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $28.00
            • Save $7.00
            • In Stock At Supplier

            The Raupo Phrasebook of Modern Maori is the most up-to-date, versatile and relevant resource for anyone wanting to use the Maori language in everyday life. Whether you're a complete beginner or emergent speaker of te reo Maori, you'll learn useful phrases for- The home The marae ...The workplace Meeting and greeting Eating and drinking Counting and learning Days, months and telling the time Seasons and weather Travel and directions Social media Playing sports The environment and outdoors Having fun and socialising . . . and so much more! Fun, user-friendly and prepared with everyday people in mind, The Raupo Phrasebook of Modern Maori is the guide that no home or office should be without. Updates to this edition include a new introduction; new chapters on the environment, workplace and social media; new sections on Matariki/the lunar calendar; translations for Covid/lockdowns; plus revisions/edits throughout. 'Clever but written in a user-friendly style . . . an important little book for all New Zealanders interested in te reo.' --Katherine Findlay, Mana
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143776093
            Published NZ 31 Aug 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (Te Reo Maori)
            Availability
            999 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Literature Book: Big Ideas Simply Explained

            The Literature Book: Big Ideas Simply Explained (Hardback)

            By DK

            • RRP: $48.00
            • $39.36
            • Save $8.64
            • In Stock At Supplier

            Documenting over 100 best-selling books, plays and poetry from all over the world, including Latin American and African fiction, this book encompasses celebrated masterpieces from the most renowned authors to have ever lived. It also offers a deeper look into the famed fiction of... Shakespeare, Oscar Wilde and more.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241015469
            Released NZ 29 Feb 2016
            Publisher Dorling Kindersley Publishers
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Series Big Ideas
            Availability
            246 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Cure for Sleep
             

            The Cure for Sleep (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Shadrick, Tanya

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $31.15
            • Save $6.84
            • Pub Date
              31 May 22

            For readers of Maggie O'Farrell's I Am, I Am, I Am, Clover Stroud's The Wild Other, Deborah Orr's Motherwell and Amy Liptrot's The Outrun - this is a memoir with the quality of fable: inviting us, however late in life, to wake up and step out of the confines we have made for ours...elves.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781474618083
            Released NZ 31 May 2022
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series W&N Essentials
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Raupo Book Of Maori Proverbs
               

            The Raupo Book Of Maori Proverbs (Paperback)

            By Brougham, A. E.; Reed, A. W.; Karetu, Timoti

            • RRP: $25.00
            • $20.00
            • Save $5.00
            • In Stock At Supplier

            "Several hundred proverbs [...] categorised under a large number of diverse headings, with translations and explanations in English"--Back cover.

            ISBN 9780143567912
            Published NZ 2 Jul 2012
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 14+ years
            Availability
            200 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            A Maori Word a Day
             

            A Maori Word a Day (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Kelly, Hemi

            • RRP: $30.00
            • $24.00
            • Save $6.00
            • In Stock At Supplier

            "A Maori dictionary for all New Zealanders. Through its 365 Maori words, you will learn the following: English translations; word category, notes and background information; Sample sentences, in both te reo Maori and English"--Publisher information.

            ISBN 9780143772132
            Published NZ 29 Jan 2018
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Usagi Yojimbo: Book 1
             

            Usagi Yojimbo: Book 1 (Trade Paperback / Paperback, illustrated edition)

            By Sakai, Stan

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $37.99
            • In Stock At Supplier

            This seminal book collects the classic original Usagi stories chronicling a time of settling unrest and political intrigue, told through the story of a wandering and masterless samurai named Miyamoto Usagi, AKA Usagi Yojimbo!

            ISBN 9780930193355
            Released NZ 17 Jan 1987
            Publisher John Wiley & Sons Australia Lt
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Usagi Yojimbo (Fantagraphics Books)
            Availability
            2 In stock at supplier; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            How to Read Like a Writer: 10 Lessons to Elevate Your Reading and Writing Practice

            How to Read Like a Writer: 10 Lessons to Elevate Your Reading and Writing Practice (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Pushman, Dr Erin M.

            • RRP: $43.99
            • $43.99
            • To Order

            The first step to becoming a successful writer is to become a successful reader. Helping you develop your critical skills How to Read Like a Writer is an accessible and effective step-by-step guide to how careful reading can help you improve your craft as a creative writer, whate...ver genre you are writing in. Across 10 lessons - each pairing published readings with practical critical and creative exercises - this book helps writers master such key elements of their craft as: - Genre - from fiction, creative nonfiction and poetry to hybrid genres such as graphic narratives and online forms - Plot, conflict, theme and image - Developing characters - physical descriptions, psychological depths and actions - Narrators and points of view - 1st, 2nd and 3rd person narratives - Scenes and settings - time, space and place - Structure and form - length, organization and media - Language, subtext and style
            Read more

            ISBN 9781350119406
            Released NZ 7 Apr 2022
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            Learn Japanese with Manga Volume One: A Self-Study Language Book for Beginners - Learn to speak, read and write Japanese quickly using manga comics! (free online audio)
             

            Learn Japanese with Manga Volume One: A Self-Study Language Book for Beginners - Learn to speak, read and write Japanese quickly using manga comics! (free online audio) (Paperback)

            By Bernabe, Marc; Illustrated by Luque, Gabriel

            • RRP: $42.50
            • $37.40
            • Save $5.10
            • Pub Date
              4 Oct 22

            Learn to read, write, and speak everyday Japanese with manga stories! If you enjoy manga, you'll love learning Japanese with this book. The language lessons are interspersed with entertaining manga comic strips, making it easy to learn and remember all the key vocabulary and gram...mar. With a focus on the casual speech used by young people in Japan, you'll find yourself feeling confident with speaking, reading, and writing Japanese quickly! Designed for self-study use by teen and adult learners (but suitable for anyone), this book is a fun resource for beginners-no prior knowledge of Japanese required! Readers will find: Help with learning to write and pronounce the 92 Hiragana and Katakana letters plus 160 basic Kanji characters Hundreds of useful words and phrases-from numbers and greetings to expletives and insults! Seven manga stories woven throughout the book, reinforcing your grasp of the language The basic vocabulary and grammar needed to communicate in Japanese! Hundreds of exercises with free online audio recordings by Japanese native speakers A bidirectional dictionary and answer keys for all the exercises
            Read more

            ISBN 9784805316894
            Released NZ 4 Oct 2022
            Publisher Tuttle Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 75.0K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›