Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Literature: Texts

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 540K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Potiki
              

            Potiki (Paperback, reprint)

            By Grace, Patricia

            • RRP: $30.00
            • $22.50
            • Save $7.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Winner of the 1987 New Zealand Fiction Award. This compelling novel highlights one community's response to attacks on their ancestral values and symbols provides moving affirmation of the relationship between land and the people who live on it.

            ISBN 9780140088038
            Published NZ 12 Sep 2001
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Diary of a Bookseller

            The Diary of a Bookseller (Paperback, Main)

            By Bythell, Shaun

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $5.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Shaun Bythell owns The Bookshop, Wigtown - Scotland's largest second-hand bookshop. It contains 100,000 books, spread over a mile of shelving, with twisting corridors and roaring fires, and all set in a beautiful, rural town by the edge of the sea. A book-lover's paradise? Well, ...almost ... In these wry and hilarious diaries, Shaun provides an inside look at the trials and tribulations of life in the book trade, from struggles with eccentric customers to wrangles with his own staff, who include the ski-suit-wearing, bin-foraging Nicky. He takes us with him on buying trips to old estates and auction houses, recommends books (both lost classics and new discoveries), introduces us to the thrill of the unexpected find, and evokes the rhythms and charms of small-town life, always with a sharp and sympathetic eye.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781781258637
            Released NZ 25 Jul 2018
            Publisher Profile Books Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The World's Wife

            The World's Wife (Paperback, New Edition)

            By Duffy, Carol Ann

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.99
            • Save $5.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            'The World's Wife is a joyous exuberant book of poems about women usually excluded from myth and history' Guardian

            ISBN 9781509852666
            Released NZ 25 Jul 2017
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            How to Live
             

            How to Live (Paperback)

            By Rickerby, Helen

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $23.74
            • Save $1.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A new poetry collection that takes readers among `the unsilent women', from Hipparchia to J. K. Rowling.

            ISBN 9781869409050
            Published NZ 15 Aug 2019
            Publisher Auckland University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Tara McLeod: A Typographic Journey
              

            Tara McLeod: A Typographic Journey (Hardback)

            Introduction by Maslen, Keith; Contributions by Lloyd, Bronwyn; Ensing, Riemke; Kerr, Donald; Loney, Alan

            • RRP: $92.99
            • $92.99
            • Available

            Chronicling the work of Tara McLeod, New Zealand's most revered private press printer, this book presents a selection of over 300 images of his prints, his books and his 3D work. Additionally a McLeod letterpress print has been tipped-in. Accompanied by essays from Riemke Ensing,... Bronwyn Lloyd, Paul Thompson, Donald Kerr, Jurgen Wegner and Alan Loney. This book provides a context and a benchmark for letterpress printers, setting both a challenge and an incentive to emerging young artists and designers to explore the unlimited potential of this medium in their own ways and to expand the boundaries of what is possible with a new spin on old technology.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780473422271
            Published NZ 1 Feb 2020
            Publisher Misc - South Pacific Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available from publisher, allow 2-4 weeks for delivery
            View details for this title
            Funkhaus
              

            Funkhaus (Paperback)

            By Baker, Hinemoana

            • RRP: $25.00
            • $21.25
            • Save $3.75
            • Pub Date
              11 Jun 20

            A queer / takatapui Maori writer living in Berlin, Germany since 2015, Hinemoana Baker brings a unique perspective both to and from the 'global North'.

            ISBN 9781776563142
            Published NZ 11 Jun 2020
            Publisher Victoria University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            How Contagion Works: Science, Awareness and Community in Times of Global Crises - The short essay that helped change the Covid-19 debate

            How Contagion Works: Science, Awareness and Community in Times of Global Crises - The short essay that helped change the Covid-19 debate (Paperback)

            By Giordano, Paolo; Translated by Valente, Alex

            • RRP: $9.99
            • $7.79
            • Save $2.20
            • To Order

            Why contagion matters: a rallying cry for a new form of global solidarity in the wake of the CoV epidemic.

            ISBN 9781474619288
            Released NZ 16 Apr 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Te Rataka a Tetahi Kohine (Anne Frank's Diary)
              

            Te Rataka a Tetahi Kohine (Anne Frank's Diary) (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Frank, Anne; Translated by Mason, Te Haumihiata

            • RRP: $35.99
            • $35.99
            • Available

            The world-famous Diary of a young girl was written by a Dutch Jewish teenager hiding from the Nazis in Amsterdam during World War 2. Over the last 60 years it has sold more than 30 million copies and been translated into over 70 languages. Now it is available in Te Reo Maori! Ann...e Frank's masterpiece - her self-awareness, fears, frankness and humour - has been published in this new translation so that thousands of school, Kura Kaupapa Maori, and tertiary education institution students can enjoy it in Te Reo Maori. So can the growing number of adult learners who are studying the language.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780473478247
            Published NZ 14 Jun 2019
            Publisher Misc - South Pacific Books
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Language (Maori)
            Availability
            Showing available from publisher, allow 2-4 weeks for delivery
            View details for this title
            Haare Williams: Words of a Kaumatua
             

            Haare Williams: Words of a Kaumatua (Hardback)

            By Williams, Haare; Foreword by Ihimaera, Witi

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $47.49
            • Save $2.50
            • Available At Publisher

            A kaumatua reflects in poetry and prose on his journey from te ao Maori on the East Coast to contemporary Auckland. Ko te kopara anake e tarere ki te tihi o te makauri. Oti rawa! Kia oti rawa, e!

            ISBN 9781869409043
            Published NZ 14 Nov 2019
            Publisher Auckland University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Black Flamingo
              

            The Black Flamingo (Paperback)

            By Atta, Dean; Illustrated by Khullar, Anshika

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.79
            • Save $4.20
            • Pub Date
              23 Jun 20

            Fiercely told, this is a bold and timely coming-of-age story, told in verse about one boy's journey to self-acceptance. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Poet X and Orangeboy.

            ISBN 9781444948608
            Released NZ 23 Jun 2020
            Publisher Hachette Children's Books
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 540K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›