Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Botany & Plant Sciences

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 14.2K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Kew Gardens Girls: An emotional and sweeping historical novel perfect for fans of Kate Morton
             

            The Kew Gardens Girls: An emotional and sweeping historical novel perfect for fans of Kate Morton (Hardback, Unabridged edition)

            By Lovell, Posy; Read by Aldington, Annie

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $38.99
            • Save $11.00
            • Pub Date
              11 Aug 20

            A wartime saga that highlights the role of women at Kew Gardens, licensed publishing with heritage brand Kew Gardens

            ISBN 9781409193272
            Released NZ 11 Aug 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Hex

            Hex (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Dinerstein Knight, Rebecca

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $25.73
            • Save $7.26
            • In Stock At Publisher

            `Wise, funny, suspenseful' JONATHAN SAFRAN FOER 'Reads like a botanist's cross-breeding of The Secret History and Department of Speculation' EMMA STRAUB 'Hex is some dark and joyous witchery' LAUREN GROFF Nell Barber, an expelled PhD candidate in Biological Science, is exploring ...the fine line between poison and antidote, working alone to set a speed record for the detoxification of poisonous plants. Her mentor, Dr. Joan Kallas, is the hero of Nell's heart. Nell frequently finds herself standing in the doorway to Joan's office despite herself, mesmerized by Joan's elegance, success, and spiritual force. Surrounded by Nell's ex, her best friend, her best friend's boyfriend, and Joan's buffoonish husband, the two scientists are tangled together at the center of a web of illicit relationships, grudges, and obsessions. All six are burdened by desire and ambition, and as they collide on the university campus, their attractions set in motion a domino effect of affairs and heartbreak. Meanwhile, Nell slowly fills her empty apartment with poisonous plants to study, and she begins to keep a series of notebooks, all dedicated to Joan. She logs her research and how she spends her days, but the notebooks ultimately become a painstaking map of love. In a dazzling and unforgettable voice, Rebecca Dinerstein Knight has written a spellbinding novel of emotional and intellectual intensity.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781526611413
            Released NZ 2 Jul 2020
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            To Cook a Bear
             

            To Cook a Bear (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Niemi, Mikael; Translated by Bragan-Turner, Deborah

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • Pub Date
              8 Sep 20

            A riveting historical murder mystery set in Sweden's far north - to delight fans of The Name of the Rose

            ISBN 9780857058935
            Released NZ 8 Sep 2020
            Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Multifarious Mr. Banks: From Botany Bay to Kew, The Natural Historian Who Shaped the World
             

            The Multifarious Mr. Banks: From Botany Bay to Kew, The Natural Historian Who Shaped the World (Hardback)

            By Musgrave, Toby

            • Imp. $83.99
            • $79.79
            • Save $4.20
            • No availability locally

            A fascinating life of Sir Joseph Banks which restores him to his proper place in history as a leading scientific figure of the English Enlightenment

            ISBN 9780300223835
            Released NZ 15 May 2020
            Publisher Yale University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
            View details for this title
            Planting the World: Joseph Banks and His Collectors: an Adventurous History of Botany
             

            Planting the World: Joseph Banks and His Collectors: an Adventurous History of Botany (Hardback)

            By Goodman, Jordan

            • RRP: $64.99
            • $48.74
            • Save $16.25
            • Pub Date
              2 Sep 20

            A global history of botany and plant collecting in 18th century based on original research in many languages.

            ISBN 9780007578832
            Released NZ 2 Sep 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds and Shape Our Futures
             

            Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds and Shape Our Futures (Hardback)

            By Sheldrake, Merlin

            • RRP: $48.00
            • $37.44
            • Save $10.56
            • Pub Date
              3 Sep 20

            There is a life form on our planet so strange and wondrous that it challenges our conception of life itself...Entangled Life introduces an almost wholly unknown and mysterious category of life form, an entire underground realm whose workings are so wondrous and alien that they th...row into question what we think life itself is and how it works.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781847925190
            Released NZ 3 Sep 2020
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            A Lifetime in Galapagos
              

            A Lifetime in Galapagos (Hardback)

            By De Roy, Tui

            • RRP: $74.99
            • $67.49
            • Save $7.50
            • In Stock US

            A beautifully illustrated and deeply personal chronicle of De Roy's lifelong connection with these spectacular islands Tui De Roy was a year old in 1955 when her family left Europe, boarding a banana boat bound for the Pacific to lead a different sort of life in Galapagos, one of... self-sufficiency and living close to nature. She grew up on the is
            Read more

            ISBN 9780691194998
            Released NZ 21 Jul 2020
            Publisher Princeton University Pre
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            SuperSimple Biology: The Ultimate Bitesize Study Guide
             

            SuperSimple Biology: The Ultimate Bitesize Study Guide (Paperback)

            By DK; Contributions by Institution, Smithsonian

            • RRP: $30.00
            • $22.50
            • Save $7.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            From reproduction to respiration and enzymes to ecosystems, this guide makes complex topics easy to grasp at a glance. Perfect support for coursework, homework, and exam revision. Each topic is fully illustrated to support the information, make the facts crystal clear, and bring ...the science to life. For key ideas, How it Works and Look Closer boxes explain the theory with the help of simple graphics. And for revision, a handy Key Facts box provides a simple summary you can check back on later. With clear, concise coverage of all the core biology topics, Super Simple Biology is the perfect accessible guide to biology for children, supporting classwork, and making studying for exams the easiest it's ever been.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241390467
            Released NZ 19 May 2020
            Publisher Dorling Kindersley Publishers
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Series SuperSimple
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Ao Haru Ride, Vol. 4
             

            Ao Haru Ride, Vol. 4 (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            Created by Sakisaka, Io

            • RRP: $17.99
            • $14.39
            • Save $3.60
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A compelling tale of first love that was made into a popular anime series in 2014.

            ISBN 9781974702688
            Released NZ 10 May 2019
            Publisher Viz Media, Subs. of Shogakukan
            Interest Age 14+ years
            Series Ao Haru Ride
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Life of Plants: A Metaphysics of Mixture

            The Life of Plants: A Metaphysics of Mixture (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Coccia, Emanuele

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $37.99
            • In Stock At Publisher

            We barely talk about them and seldom know their names. Philosophy has always overlooked them; even biology considers them as mere decoration on the tree of life. And yet plants give life to the Earth: they produce the atmosphere that surrounds us and they are the origin of the ox...ygen that animates us.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781509531530
            Released NZ 7 Dec 2018
            Publisher John Wiley & Sons Australia Lt
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Total 14.2K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›