Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Politics & Government

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 307K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Voices from the New Zealand Wars | He Reo no nga Pakanga o Aotearoa
             

            Voices from the New Zealand Wars | He Reo no nga Pakanga o Aotearoa (Paperback)

            By O'Malley, Vincent

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $39.99
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Evoking emotions from the most turbulent time in our country's history, this book takes us to the heart of the New Zealand Wars with a series of first-hand accounts from Maori and Pakeha who either fought in or witnessed the conflicts that ravaged New Zealand between 1845 and 187...2.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781988587790
            Published NZ 15 Nov 2021
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Too Much Money: How Wealth Disparities Are Unbalancing Aotearoa New Zealand
             

            Too Much Money: How Wealth Disparities Are Unbalancing Aotearoa New Zealand (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Rashbrooke, Max

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            'Presently, someone in the wealthiest 1 per cent of adults - now a roughly 40,000-strong club - has a net worth 68 times that of the average New Zealander.' Too Much Money is the story of how wealth inequality is changing Aotearoa New Zealand.

            ISBN 9781988587943
            Published NZ 15 Nov 2021
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize

            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Harris, Nathan

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • Back Order Indent title

            A powerful novel of life after slavery in the vein of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

            ISBN 9781472274380
            Released NZ 13 Jul 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Back Order Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            A History Of Queen's Redoubt & The Invasion Of The Waikato
              

            A History Of Queen's Redoubt & The Invasion Of The Waikato (Hardback)

            By Ritchie, Neville; Barton, Ian

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $49.99
            • Pub Date
              12 Dec 21

            On 12 July 1863, British and colonial troops crossed Waikato Maori's northern border, instigating the Waikato War. This book tells the story of the Queen's Redoubt, and the buildup of military power along the Waikato border, which led directly to the most significant campaign of ...the New Zealand Wars, the invasion of the Waikato.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780995126886
            Published NZ 12 Dec 2021
            Publisher Misc - NZ/SP Publisher
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            442 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi
              

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi (Paperback)

            By Calman, Ross; Derby, Mark; Translated by Walker, Piripi; Illustrated by Morris, Toby

            • RRP: $20.00
            • $18.00
            • Save $2.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi is a reorua (bilingual) graphic novel that takes a fresh and innovative look at our founding treaty. The book reflects current scholarship and has been reviewed by some of Aotearoa's foremost Te Tiriti o Waitangi experts.

            ISBN 9780473470654
            Published NZ 13 Jun 2019
            Publisher Lift Education
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (Te Reo Maori and English)
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Forgotten
             

            The Forgotten (Hardback)

            By Chamberlain, Mary

            • RRP: $36.40
            • $36.40
            • Internationally sourced

            How do you rebuild a life from the ashes of despair?

            ISBN 9781786079077
            Publisher Oneworld Publications
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Tunnel 29: Love, Espionage and Betrayal: the True Story of an Extraordinary Escape Beneath the Berlin Wall

            Tunnel 29: Love, Espionage and Betrayal: the True Story of an Extraordinary Escape Beneath the Berlin Wall (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            Read by Merriman, Helena

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Temporarily out of stock

            The true story of the most remarkable escape tunnel under the Berlin Wall.

            ISBN 9781529333961
            Released NZ 10 Aug 2021
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            Te Ata o Tu: The Shadow of Tumatauenga
               

            Te Ata o Tu: The Shadow of Tumatauenga (Hardback)

            By Rice, Rebecca; Baker, Matiu; Cooper, Katie; FitzGerald, Michael

            • RRP: $70.00
            • $63.00
            • Save $7.00
            • Pub Date
              31 Dec 22

            The New Zealand Wars of 1845-72 were a series of bitter and bloody conflicts between Maori and Pakeha that extended from Wairau to the Bay of Islands, and from Taranaki to the East Cape. This major book visits Te Papa's rich Matauranga Maori, History and Art collections to expl...ore the material and visual culture, taonga and artefacts connected with key events and players associated with the Wars.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780994146083
            Published NZ 31 Dec 2022
            Publisher Te Papa Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Escape From the Ghetto: The Breathtaking Story of the Jewish Boy Who Ran Away from the Nazis

            Escape From the Ghetto: The Breathtaking Story of the Jewish Boy Who Ran Away from the Nazis (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Carr, John

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A Jewish boy kills a Nazi by the Polish ghetto. He must escape the Third Reich, at all costs.

            ISBN 9781529381580
            Released NZ 30 Nov 2021
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton General Div
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            631 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            What Really Happened In Wuhan: A Virus Like No Other, Countless Infections, Millions of Deaths

            What Really Happened In Wuhan: A Virus Like No Other, Countless Infections, Millions of Deaths (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Markson, Sharri

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $28.49
            • Save $9.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Walkley Award-winning journalist, Sharri Markson is the Investigations Editor at The Australian and host of prime-time show Sharri on Sky News Australia. A VIRUS MORE THAN 109 MILLION INFECTIONS MORE THAN 2.7 MILLION DEATHS HOW DID IT HAPPEN? The origins of COVID-19 are shrouded ...in mystery and conspiracy theories. Some say it started in a lab when scientists fell sick after manipulating a bat-coronavirus. Others say the team was working on a bioweapon for the Chinese military. After multiple global inquiries, after economies have been decimated and millions of lives lost, we still need answers. Part-thriller, part-expose, What Really Happened in Wuhan is a ground-breaking investigation into the origins of COVID-19, the cover-ups, the conspiracies and the classified research, from Walkley Award-winning journalist Sharri Markson. It features never-before-seen primary documents exposing China's early cover-up of the virus. There are fresh interviews with whistleblower doctors in Wuhan - the eyewitness accounts dismantling what we thought we knew about when the outbreak hit. Plus, the book takes you inside the White House, with senior Trump officials revealing first-hand accounts of fiery Oval Office clashes and new stories of near-miss disasters in the Situation Room.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781460760925
            Published NZ 1 Oct 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Total 307K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›