Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Politics & Government

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 307K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Labour Saving: A Memoir
             

            Labour Saving: A Memoir (Hardback)

            By Cullen, Michael

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $37.49
            • Save $12.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A fascinating and in-depth insight into the extraordinary career of one of our most important politicians, who was instrumental in shaping the development of Aotearoa New Zealand.

            ISBN 9781988547855
            Published NZ 1 Jun 2021
            Publisher Allen & Unwin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Jacinda Ardern: Leading With Empathy
             

            Jacinda Ardern: Leading With Empathy (Hardback)

            By Vani, Supriya; Harte, Carl A.

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A comprehensively researched biography, covering at the feminist narrative and many influences that have made Jacinda Ardern the globally admired leader she is.

            ISBN 9781743797211
            Published NZ 2 Jun 2021
            Publisher Hardie Grant Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi
              

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi (Paperback)

            By Calman, Ross; Derby, Mark; Translated by Walker, Piripi; Illustrated by Morris, Toby

            • RRP: $20.00
            • $18.00
            • Save $2.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi is a reorua (bilingual) graphic novel that takes a fresh and innovative look at our founding treaty. The book reflects current scholarship and has been reviewed by some of Aotearoa's foremost Te Tiriti o Waitangi experts.

            ISBN 9780473470654
            Published NZ 13 Jun 2019
            Publisher Lift Education
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (Te Reo Maori and English)
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Humankind: A Hopeful History

            Humankind: A Hopeful History (Paperback)

            By Bregman, Rutger

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $5.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER 'A beacon of hope for a frighted world' DANNY DORLING 'This is the book we need right now' TELEGRAPH 'It'd be no surprise if it proved to be the Sapiens of 2020' GUARDIAN It's a belief that unites the left and right, psychologists and philosophers, wri...ters and historians. It drives the headlines that surround us and the laws that touch our lives. From Machiavelli to Hobbes, Freud to Dawkins, the roots of this belief have sunk deep into Western thought. Human beings, we're taught, are by nature selfish and governed by self-interest. Humankind makes a new argument: that it is realistic, as well as revolutionary, to assume that people are good. By thinking the worst of others, we bring out the worst in our politics and economics too. In this major book, internationally bestselling author Rutger Bregman takes some of the world's most famous studies and events and reframes them, providing a new perspective on the last 200,000 years of human history. From the real-life Lord of the Flies to the Blitz, a Siberian fox farm to an infamous New York murder, Stanley Milgram's Yale shock machine to the Stanford prison experiment, Bregman shows how believing in human kindness and altruism can be a new way to think - and act as the foundation for achieving true change in our society. It is time for a new view of human nature.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781408898956
            Released NZ 1 Jun 2021
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            340 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Polynesian Panthers: Pacific Protest and Affirmative Action in Aotearoa New Zealand 1971 - 1981
             

            Polynesian Panthers: Pacific Protest and Affirmative Action in Aotearoa New Zealand 1971 - 1981 (Paperback)

            By Anae, Melani; Tamu, Leilani; Iuli, Lautofa; Edited by Burgoyne, Leilani

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $32.00
            • Save $8.00
            • Available At Publisher

            "Polynesian Panthers records the Pacific rights and social activist movement in New Zealand, told by those who were there. Forming in 1971, the Polynesian Panthers sought to raise consciousness and took action in response to the racism and discrimination Pacific peoples faced in ...New Zealand in the 1970s and 1980s. The Panthers organised prison visit programmes and sporting and debating teams for inmates; provided a halfway-house service for young men released from prison; ran homework centres; and offered 'people's loans', legal aid and food banks that catered for 600 families at their height. Drawing on interviews, memoirs, poetry, newspaper articles and critical analysis, Polynesian Panthers is a thought-provoking account of this period in New Zealand"--Publisher information.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775502050
            Published NZ 1 Nov 2015
            Publisher Huia Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize

            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Harris, Nathan

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A powerful novel of life after slavery in the vein of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

            ISBN 9781472274380
            Released NZ 13 Jul 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Mana Whakatipu: Ngai Tahu leader Mark Solomon on leadership and life
              

            Mana Whakatipu: Ngai Tahu leader Mark Solomon on leadership and life (Hardback)

            By Solomon, Mark; With Revington, Mark

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $29.75
            • Save $5.25
            • Pub Date
              12 Aug 21

            In 1998, just as South Island iwi Ngai Tahu was about to sign its Treaty of Waitangi settlement with the government - justice of sorts after seven generations of seeking redress - a former foundryman stepped into the pivotal role of kaiwhakahaere or chair of Te Runanga o Ngai T...ahu - the tribal council of Ngai Tahu. Mark Solomon stood at the head of his iwi at a critical moment and can be credited with the astute stewardship of the settlement that has today made Ngai Tahu a major player in the economy and given it long sought-after self determination. Bold, energetic and visionary, for 18 years Solomon forged a courageous and determined course. Now, in this direct memoir, Ta Mark reflects on his life, on the people who influenced him, on what it means to lead, and the future for both Ngai Tahu and Aotearoa New Zealand.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780995135437
            Published NZ 12 Aug 2021
            Publisher Massey University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Eliza and the White Camellia: A Story of Suffrage in New Zealand: 2018
             

            Eliza and the White Camellia: A Story of Suffrage in New Zealand: 2018 (Hardback)

            By McCauley, Debbie; Illustrated by Casey, Helen; Translated by Waaka, Tamati; Designed by Elworthy, Sarah

            • RRP: $46.99
            • $46.99
            • Available At Publisher

            New Zealand suffragist Eliza Wallis was a first-wave feminist who actively sought the Vote for Women. She was a founding member of the National Council of Women in 1896. Her story is told by her fourth great niece in this bilingual children's picture book, a Suffrage 125 project.

            ISBN 9780473449469
            Published NZ 27 Nov 2018
            Publisher Mauao Publishing
            Interest Age 9-11 years
            Language (English and Te Reo Maori)
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples
             

            Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples (Trade Paperback / Paperback, 3rd edition)

            By Smith, Linda Tuhiwai

            • RRP: $43.99
            • $43.99
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Linda Tuhiwai Smith's landmark work on decolonial and indigenous research, thoroughly revised and updated.

            ISBN 9781786998132
            Released NZ 2 Jul 2021
            Publisher BLOOMSBURY ACADEMIC
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Te Ata o Tu: The Shadow of Tumatauenga
               

            Te Ata o Tu: The Shadow of Tumatauenga (Hardback)

            By Rice, Rebecca; Baker, Matiu; Cooper, Katie; Fitzgerald, Michael

            • RRP: $70.00
            • $63.00
            • Save $7.00
            • Pub Date
              14 Oct 21

            The New Zealand Wars of 1845-72 were a series of bitter and bloody conflicts between Maori and Pakeha that extended from Wairau to the Bay of Islands, and from Taranaki to the East Cape. This major book visits Te Papa's rich Matauranga Maori, History and Art collections to expl...ore the material and visual culture, taonga and artefacts connected with key events and players associated with the Wars.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780994146083
            Published NZ 14 Oct 2021
            Publisher Te Papa Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 307K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›