Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Politics & Government

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 303K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Jacinda Ardern: Leading With Empathy
             

            Jacinda Ardern: Leading With Empathy (Hardback)

            By Vani, Supriya; Harte, Carl A.

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A comprehensively researched biography, covering at the feminist narrative and many influences that have made Jacinda Ardern the globally admired leader she is.

            ISBN 9781743797211
            Published NZ 2 Jun 2021
            Publisher Hardie Grant Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Polynesian Panthers: Pacific Protest and Affirmative Action in Aotearoa New Zealand 1971 - 1981
             

            Polynesian Panthers: Pacific Protest and Affirmative Action in Aotearoa New Zealand 1971 - 1981 (Paperback)

            By Anae, Melani; Tamu, Leilani; Iuli, Lautofa; Edited by Burgoyne, Leilani

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $32.00
            • Save $8.00
            • Available At Publisher

            "Polynesian Panthers records the Pacific rights and social activist movement in New Zealand, told by those who were there. Forming in 1971, the Polynesian Panthers sought to raise consciousness and took action in response to the racism and discrimination Pacific peoples faced in ...New Zealand in the 1970s and 1980s. The Panthers organised prison visit programmes and sporting and debating teams for inmates; provided a halfway-house service for young men released from prison; ran homework centres; and offered 'people's loans', legal aid and food banks that catered for 600 families at their height. Drawing on interviews, memoirs, poetry, newspaper articles and critical analysis, Polynesian Panthers is a thought-provoking account of this period in New Zealand"--Publisher information.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775502050
            Published NZ 1 Nov 2015
            Publisher Huia Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Labour Saving: A Memoir
             

            Labour Saving: A Memoir (Hardback)

            By Cullen, Michael

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $37.49
            • Save $12.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A fascinating and in-depth insight into the extraordinary career of one of our most important politicians, who was instrumental in shaping the development of Aotearoa New Zealand.

            ISBN 9781988547855
            Published NZ 1 Jun 2021
            Publisher Allen & Unwin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Eliza and the White Camellia: A Story of Suffrage in New Zealand: 2018
             

            Eliza and the White Camellia: A Story of Suffrage in New Zealand: 2018 (Hardback)

            By McCauley, Debbie; Illustrated by Casey, Helen; Translated by Waaka, Tamati; Designed by Elworthy, Sarah

            • RRP: $46.99
            • $46.99
            • Available At Publisher

            New Zealand suffragist Eliza Wallis was a first-wave feminist who actively sought the Vote for Women. She was a founding member of the National Council of Women in 1896. Her story is told by her fourth great niece in this bilingual children's picture book, a Suffrage 125 project.

            ISBN 9780473449469
            Published NZ 27 Nov 2018
            Publisher Mauao Publishing
            Interest Age 9-11 years
            Language (English and Te Reo Maori)
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples
              

            Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples (Trade Paperback / Paperback, 3rd edition)

            By Smith, Linda Tuhiwai

            • RRP: $43.99
            • $43.99
            • Pub Date
              2 Jul 21

            Linda Tuhiwai Smith's landmark work on decolonial and indigenous research, thoroughly revised and updated.

            ISBN 9781786998132
            Released NZ 2 Jul 2021
            Publisher BLOOMSBURY ACADEMIC
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            999 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Sweetness of Water: 'Better than any debut novel has a right to be' Richard Russo
             

            The Sweetness of Water: 'Better than any debut novel has a right to be' Richard Russo (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Harris, Nathan

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • Pub Date
              13 Jul 21

            A powerful novel of life after slavery in the vein of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

            ISBN 9781472274380
            Released NZ 13 Jul 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            602 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi
              

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi (Paperback)

            By Calman, Ross; Derby, Mark; Translated by Walker, Piripi; Illustrated by Morris, Toby

            • RRP: $20.00
            • $18.00
            • Save $2.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi is a reorua (bilingual) graphic novel that takes a fresh and innovative look at our founding treaty. The book reflects current scholarship and has been reviewed by some of Aotearoa's foremost Te Tiriti o Waitangi experts.

            ISBN 9780473470654
            Published NZ 13 Jun 2019
            Publisher Lift Education
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (Te Reo Maori and English)
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Events in the Life of Phillip Tapsell: The Old Dane
             

            Events in the Life of Phillip Tapsell: The Old Dane (Paperback)

            Edited by Adams, Jonathan; Foreword by Tapsell, Paora

            • RRP: $45.00
            • $40.50
            • Save $4.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            This book presents Edward Little's memoir of Phillip Tapsell with editing and annotation. Part 1 discusses Tapsell's life as a Pakeha-Maori; Part 2 reproduces Little's original manuscript; and Part 3 summarises key events, examines the manuscript as an artefact, and includes acco...unts of Tapsell's life and how that has been interpreted in Denmark.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780947506926
            Published NZ 5 May 2021
            Publisher Oratia Media
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series New Zealand Classics
            Availability
            100 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Humankind: A Hopeful History

            Humankind: A Hopeful History (Paperback)

            By Bregman, Rutger

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $5.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER 'A beacon of hope for a frighted world' DANNY DORLING 'This is the book we need right now' TELEGRAPH 'It'd be no surprise if it proved to be the Sapiens of 2020' GUARDIAN It's a belief that unites the left and right, psychologists and philosophers, wri...ters and historians. It drives the headlines that surround us and the laws that touch our lives. From Machiavelli to Hobbes, Freud to Dawkins, the roots of this belief have sunk deep into Western thought. Human beings, we're taught, are by nature selfish and governed by self-interest. Humankind makes a new argument: that it is realistic, as well as revolutionary, to assume that people are good. By thinking the worst of others, we bring out the worst in our politics and economics too. In this major book, internationally bestselling author Rutger Bregman takes some of the world's most famous studies and events and reframes them, providing a new perspective on the last 200,000 years of human history. From the real-life Lord of the Flies to the Blitz, a Siberian fox farm to an infamous New York murder, Stanley Milgram's Yale shock machine to the Stanford prison experiment, Bregman shows how believing in human kindness and altruism can be a new way to think - and act as the foundation for achieving true change in our society. It is time for a new view of human nature.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781408898956
            Released NZ 1 Jun 2021
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Platform: The Radical Legacy of the Polynesian Panthers: 2020
             

            The Platform: The Radical Legacy of the Polynesian Panthers: 2020 (Paperback)

            By Anae, Melani

            • RRP: $14.99
            • $11.99
            • Save $3.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In a book that is both deeply personal and highly political, Melani Anae recalls the radical activism of Auckland's Polynesian Panthers - the movement modelled on the US Black Panther Party 'but without guns'.

            ISBN 9781988587431
            Published NZ 23 Oct 2020
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series BWB Texts
            Availability
            698 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 303K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›