Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -
            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 5.17K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Embroidered Book

            The Embroidered Book (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Heartfield, Kate

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $28.00
            • Save $7.00
            • In Stock At Supplier

            A sweeping historical epic with a thread of magic, perfect for readers of THE FAMILIARS, THE BINDING, and THE MINIATURIST.

            ISBN 9780008380601
            Released NZ 2 Mar 2022
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            105 In stock at supplier; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            After the Romanovs: Russian exiles in Paris between the wars

            After the Romanovs: Russian exiles in Paris between the wars (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Rappaport, Helen

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $32.80
            • Save $7.20
            • In Stock At Supplier

            Paris has always been a city of cultural excellence, fine wine and food, and the latest fashions. But it has also been a place of refuge for those fleeing persecution - never more so than before and after the Russian Revolution and the fall of the Romanov dynasty. For years, Russ...ian aristocrats had enjoyed all that Belle Epoque Paris had to offer, spending lavishly when they visited. It was a place of artistic experimentation, such as Diaghilev's Ballets Russes. But the brutality of the Bolshevik takeover forced Russians of all types to flee their homeland, sometimes leaving with only the clothes on their backs. Arriving in Paris, former princes could be seen driving taxicabs, while their wives who could sew worked for the fashion houses, their unique Russian style serving as inspiration for designers such as Coco Chanel. Talented intellectuals, artists, poets, philosophers, and writers struggled in exile, eking out a living at menial jobs. Some, like Bunin, Chagall, and Stravinsky, encountered great success in the same Paris that welcomed Americans such as Fitzgerald and Hemingway. Political activists sought to overthrow the Bolshevik regime from afar, while double agents plotted espionage and assassination from both sides. Others became trapped in a cycle of poverty and their all-consuming homesickness for Russia, the homeland they had been forced to abandon. This is their story. 'Full of colourful anecdotes and sharp character sketches, this breezy account of life in exile entertains.' -Publishers Weekly 'Throughout, Helen Rappaport , a consummate historian, displays her deep research into the era, the city, and its denizens. A culturally vibrant account of Russians uprooted to Paris during a tumultuous time.' -Kirkus Reviews A thorough and extremely well-researched examination of the Russian experience in Paris before and after the Bolshevik uprising on 1917 ... those interested in exploring a variety of unique perspectives on the Russian Revolution will find a
            Read more

            ISBN 9781922585349
            Published NZ 29 Mar 2022
            Publisher Scribe Publications
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Russia: Revolution and Civil War 1917-1921
             

            Russia: Revolution and Civil War 1917-1921 (Hardback)

            By Beevor, Antony

            • RRP: $60.00
            • $49.20
            • Save $10.80
            • Pub Date
              31 May 22

            The dramatic story of Russia's revolution and civil war, from Antony Beevor, the bestselling historian and author of the classic Stalingrad

            ISBN 9781474610148
            Released NZ 31 May 2022
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            France: An Adventure History

            France: An Adventure History (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Robb, Graham

            • RRP: $44.99
            • $39.59
            • Save $5.40
            • Back Order Indent title

            An authoritative history of the French nation that can be read for novelistic pleasure, from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Discovery of France and Parisians.

            ISBN 9781529007640
            Released NZ 29 Mar 2022
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Back Order Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            Resistance: The Underground War in Europe, 1939-1945
             

            Resistance: The Underground War in Europe, 1939-1945 (Hardback)

            By Kochanski, Halik

            • RRP: $85.00
            • $68.00
            • Save $17.00
            • Pub Date
              19 Jul 22

            Across the whole of Nazi-ruled Europe the experience of occupation was sharply varied. Some countries - such as Denmark - were allowed to run themselves within tight limits. Others - such as France - were constrained not only by military occupation but by open collaboration. In a... historical moment when Nazi victory seemed permanent and irreversible, the question 'why resist?' was therefore augmented by 'who was the enemy?'. Resistance is an extraordinarily powerful, humane and haunting account of how and why all across Nazi-occupied Europe some people decided to resist the Third Reich. This could range from open partisan warfare in the occupied Soviet Union to dangerous acts of insurrection in the Netherlands or Norway. Some of these resistance movements were entirely home-grown, others supported by the Allies. Like no other book, Resistance shows the reader just how difficult such actions were. How could small bands of individuals undertake tasks which could lead not just to their own deaths but those of their families and their entire communities? Filled with powerful and often little-known stories, Halik Kochanski's major new book is a fascinating examination of the convoluted challenges faced by those prepared to resist the Germans, ordinary people who carried out exceptional acts of defiance.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241004289
            Released NZ 19 Jul 2022
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            In the Midst of Civilized Europe: The Pogroms of 1918-1921 and the Onset of the Holocaust

            In the Midst of Civilized Europe: The Pogroms of 1918-1921 and the Onset of the Holocaust (Hardback)

            By Veidlinger, Jeffrey

            • RRP: $70.00
            • $61.60
            • Save $8.40
            • To Order

            A riveting account of a forgotten holocaust: the slaughter of over one hundred thousand Ukrainian Jews in the aftermath of the Russian Revolution.

            ISBN 9781509867448
            Released NZ 25 Jan 2022
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            In the Midst of Civilized Europe: The Pogroms of 1918-1921 and the Onset of the Holocaust

            In the Midst of Civilized Europe: The Pogroms of 1918-1921 and the Onset of the Holocaust (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Veidlinger, Jeffrey

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $35.19
            • Save $4.80
            • Back Order Indent title

            A riveting account of a forgotten holocaust: the slaughter of over one hundred thousand Ukrainian Jews in the aftermath of the Russian Revolution.

            ISBN 9781509867462
            Released NZ 25 Jan 2022
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Back Order Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            A Short History of the Russian Revolution: Revised Edition
             

            A Short History of the Russian Revolution: Revised Edition (Trade Paperback / Paperback, 2nd edition)

            By Swain, Professor Emeritus Geoffrey

            • RRP: $49.51
            • $49.51
            • Internationally sourced

            First published in Great Britain --Title page verso.

            ISBN 9781350153837
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Series Short Histories
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Rebels Against the Raj: Western Fighters for India's Freedom
             

            Rebels Against the Raj: Western Fighters for India's Freedom (Hardback)

            By Guha, Ramachandra

            • RRP: $59.99
            • $47.99
            • Save $12.00
            • Pub Date
              1 Jun 22

            An extraordinary history of resistance and the fight for Indian independence from Ramachandra Guha.

            ISBN 9780008498764
            Released NZ 1 Jun 2022
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Heiress, Rebel, Vigilante, Bomber: The Extraordinary Life of Rose Dugdale
             

            Heiress, Rebel, Vigilante, Bomber: The Extraordinary Life of Rose Dugdale (Hardback)

            By O'Driscoll, Sean

            • RRP: $50.00
            • $40.00
            • Save $10.00
            • Pub Date
              1 Jul 22

            She grew up in a Chelsea townhouse and on a Devon estate. In 1958, she was presented to the Queen at Buckingham Palace as a debutante. At Oxford, she trained as an academic economist and had a love affair with a female professor (who was herself on the rebound from Iris Murdoch).... At thirty, having earned her doctorate, she commenced giving her inheritance away to the poor. In 1972, the deadliest year of the Northern Irish Troubles, she travelled to Ireland and joined the IRA. Sean O'Driscoll's Heiress, Rebel, Vigilante, Bomber tells the astonishing story of Rose Dugdale, who went on to become a committed terrorist, participating in a major art heist and a bombing raid on a police station; who kept a pregnancy secret for nine months in prison and gave birth there; and who ended up at the heart of the IRA's bomb-making operation during its deadly final spasms in the 1990s. Heiress, Rebel, Vigilante, Bomber is both the page-turning biography of a remarkable woman and a groundbreaking account of the inner workings of a terrorist organization.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781844885558
            Released NZ 1 Jul 2022
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 5.17K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›