Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -
            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 1.95K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Bobby Girls' Secrets: Book Two in the gritty, uplifting WW1 series about the first ever female police officers
             

            The Bobby Girls' Secrets: Book Two in the gritty, uplifting WW1 series about the first ever female police officers (Paperback)

            By Bell, Johanna

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $5.50
            • Pub Date
              11 Aug 20

            The second book in an uplifting, lively saga series centered around women entering the world of policing for the first time, set at the outbreak of the First World War.

            ISBN 9781529330861
            Released NZ 11 Aug 2020
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Series The Bobby Girls
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Crossing the Line: Lessons From a Life on Duty
             

            Crossing the Line: Lessons From a Life on Duty (Hardback)

            By Sutherland, John

            • RRP: $60.00
            • $46.80
            • Save $13.20
            • Pub Date
              11 Aug 20

            A thought-provoking look at the biggest challenges facing society through the unique lens of an experienced police officer and hostage negotiator

            ISBN 9781474612364
            Released NZ 11 Aug 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Chokehold: Policing Black Men
             

            Chokehold: Policing Black Men (Hardback)

            By Butler, Paul

            • RRP: $59.50
            • $59.50
            • Internationally sourced

            Cops, politicians, and ordinary people are afraid of black men. The result is the Chokehold: laws and practices that treat every African American man like a thug. In this explosive new book, an African American former federal prosecutor shows that the system is working exactly th...e way it s supposed to. Black men are always under watch, and police violence is widespread all with the support of judges and politicians. In his no-holds-barred style, Butler, whose scholarship has been featured on 60 Minutes, uses new data to demonstrate that white men commit the majority of violent crime in the United States. For example, a white woman is ten times more likely to be raped by a white male acquaintance than be the victim of a violent crime perpetrated by a black man. Butler also frankly discusses the problem of black on black violence and how to keep communities safer without relying as much on police. Chokehold powerfully demonstrates why current efforts to reform law enforcement will not create lasting change. Butler s controversial recommendations about how to crash the system, and when it s better for a black man to plead guilty even if he s innocent are sure to be game-changers in the national debate about policing, criminal justice, and race relations.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781595589057
            Released NZ 11 Jul 2017
            Publisher The New Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The End of Policing
             

            The End of Policing (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Vitale, Alex

            • RRP: $38.99
            • $31.19
            • Save $7.80
            • Reprinting locally

            The problem is not overpolicing, it is policing itself Recent years have seen an explosion of protest and concern about police brutality and repression--especially after months of violent protest erupted in Ferguson, Missouri following the police killing of Mike Brown. Much of th...e conversation has focused on calls for enhancing police accountability, increasing police diversity, improving police training, and emphasizing community policing. Unfortunately, none of these is likely to produce results, because they fail to get at the core of the problem. The problem is policing itself--the dramatic expansion of the police role over the last 40 years. This book attempts to jog public discussion of policing by revealing the tainted origins of modern policing as a tool of social control and demonstrating how the expanded role of the police is inconsistent with community empowerment, social justice--even public safety. Drawing on first-hand research from across the globe, Alex Vitale shows how the implementation of alternatives to policing, like drug legalization, regulation, and harm reduction instead of the policing of drugs, has led to reductions in crime, spending, and injustice.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781784782924
            Released NZ 18 Sep 2018
            Publisher Verso Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Reprinting locally, In Stock Internationally
            View details for this title
            A Higher Loyalty: Truth, Lies, and Leadership

            A Higher Loyalty: Truth, Lies, and Leadership (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Comey, James B., Jr.

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A chronicle of never-before-told experiences from some of the highest-stakes situations of Comey's career.

            ISBN 9781529000832
            Released NZ 18 Apr 2018
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Bobby Girls: Book One in a gritty, uplifting new WW1 series about Britain's first ever female police officers

            The Bobby Girls: Book One in a gritty, uplifting new WW1 series about Britain's first ever female police officers (Paperback)

            By Bell, Johanna

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $5.50
            • To Order

            A gritty, uplifting new saga series about the first ever female police officers, set at the outbreak of the First World War - perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Daisy Styles and Call the Midwife. ***More information coming soon***

            ISBN 9781529330854
            Released NZ 26 Dec 2019
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Series The Bobby Girls
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Invisible No More
             

            Invisible No More (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Ritchie, Andrea

            • RRP: $44.99
            • $44.99
            • Backorder US

            An eye-opening account of how women of color are uniquely impacted by policing and state-sanctioned violence.

            ISBN 9780807088982
            Released NZ 20 Aug 2017
            Publisher Beacon Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (on backorder); allow 4-8 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Life of a Scilly Sergeant
             

            The Life of a Scilly Sergeant (Paperback)

            By Taylor, Colin

            • Imp. $32.50
            • $26.00
            • Save $6.50
            • No availability locally

            Features Sergeant Colin Taylor, who made it his purpose to keep the streets of Scilly free from drunk anchor thieves, Balance Board riders and other culprits, mostly drunken, intent on breaking the law. This book offers a first hand account of how he did it. It charts the day to ...day trials and tribulations of a small-island police officer.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781784755157
            Released NZ 15 Feb 2017
            Publisher Cornerstone
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
            View details for this title
            Babes in the Wood: Two girls murdered. A guilty man walks free. Can the police get justice?
             

            Babes in the Wood: Two girls murdered. A guilty man walks free. Can the police get justice? (Paperback)

            By Bartlett, Graham; With James, Peter

            • RRP: $29.50
            • $26.55
            • Save $2.95
            • Internationally sourced

            The powerful, gripping first-hand account of Brighton's Babes in the Wood murders from long-serving detective Graham Bartlett with bestselling author Peter James.

            ISBN 9781529025569
            Released NZ 25 Feb 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Counterfeit Deterrent Features for the Next-Generation Currency Design

            Counterfeit Deterrent Features for the Next-Generation Currency Design (Paperback)

            By Research Council, National; Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences; Materials Advisory Board, National; Commission on Engineering and Technical Systems; Committee on Next-Generation Currency Design

            • RRP: $69.00
            • $65.55
            • Save $3.45
            • Available At Publisher

            Redesign of US banknotes is necessary in order to incorporate features aimed at discouraging counterfeiting using advanced copiers-scanners-printers. This volume evaluates a large number of such features while recommending a national strategy for anticipating and responding to co...unterfeiting threats.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780309050289
            Released NZ 15 Jan 1993
            Publisher FOOTPRINT BOOKS
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 1.95K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›