Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Ethnic Studies

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 75.3K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Tikanga: An Introduction to Te Ao Maori
             

            Tikanga: An Introduction to Te Ao Maori (Paperback)

            By Opai, Keri

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $35.99
            • Save $4.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A unique explanation of the Maori world for Pakeha, and for Maori people wishing to learn more about tikanga. With simple lucidity and great expertise, Keri Opai shares the spirit and meaning of what it is to be Maori in the 21st century, dispelling myths and misconceptions and p...roviding a solid introduction to the Maori way of life.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781990003172
            Published NZ 11 Nov 2021
            Publisher Upstart Press Ltd
            Interest Age Adults / General
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            We Are Not Like Them

            We Are Not Like Them (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Pride, Christine; Piazza, Jo

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $29.69
            • Save $3.30
            • In Stock At Publisher

            THE MOST IMPORTANT NOVEL YOU'LL READ THIS YEAR Not every story is black and white.

            ISBN 9780008334574
            Released NZ 13 Oct 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers (S2)
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            95 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Mauri Ora
             

            Mauri Ora (Hardback)

            By Alsop, Peter; Kupenga, Te Raumawhitu

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Pearls of wisdom contained in proverbs - whakatauk I - have been gifted from generation to generation as an intrinsic part of the Maori world. As powerful metaphors, they combine analogy and cultural history in the most economical of words. Short and insightful, they surprise, en...gendering reflection, learning and personal growth. Mauri Ora links whakatauk I to key personal virtues idealised across cultures and generations. The virtues - wisdom, courage, compassion, integrity, self-mastery and belief - stem from the science of positive psychology; the study of how to live a better life. Illustrated throughout with wonderful photographs from an old world, this book draws on traditional wisdom to provide a recipe for personal effectiveness and leadership, and a rewarding connection of Maori knowledge to contemporary thinking about personal happiness and fulfilment.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780947503147
            Published NZ 24 Oct 2016
            Publisher Potton & Burton
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (English and Te Reo Maori)
            Availability
            891 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Black and Blue: A Memoir of Racism and Resilience
             

            Black and Blue: A Memoir of Racism and Resilience (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Gorrie, Veronica

            • RRP: $38.99
            • $30.58
            • Save $8.41
            • Backorder US

            The story of an Aboriginal woman who worked as a police officer and fought for justice both within and beyond the Australian police force.

            ISBN 9781950354757
            Publisher Scribe Us
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (on backorder); allow 4-8 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Survival of Maori as a People: A Collection of Papers by Emeritus Professor Whatarangi Winiata
             

            The Survival of Maori as a People: A Collection of Papers by Emeritus Professor Whatarangi Winiata (Paperback)

            By Winiata, Whatarangi; Luke, Daphne

            • RRP: $65.00
            • $52.00
            • Save $13.00
            • Available At Publisher

            This collection brings together over forty years of thought and comment by Dr Whatarangi Winiata on Maori spirituality, social development, education and political affairs. Each chapter discusses the importance and impact of Maori management of Maori matters and the ongoing pur...suit of tino rangatiratanga in all areas of life. Dr Winiata has worked to achieve Maori development, wellbeing and attainment of aspirations over decades: driving the iwi development programme Whakatupuranga Rua Mano that led to the foundation of the first contemporary wananga, Te Wananga o Raukawa; being key in restructuring the working of Te Hahi Mihingare; galvanising the New Zealand Maori Council to hold the Crown accountable over fisheries, forestry, language and broadcasting; and co-founding the Maori Party with Dame Tariana Turia and Sir Pita Sharples. These papers, curated by Dr Winiata and Daphne Luke, provide an analysis of recent Maori experience, pursuit of self-determination and history of Aotearoa.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775504016
            Published NZ 15 Jul 2021
            Publisher Huia Publishers
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois

            The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Jeffers, Honoree Fanonne

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $26.25
            • Save $8.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            'This sweeping, brilliant and beautiful narrative is at once a love song to Black girlhood, family, history, joy, pain ... and so much more. In Jeffers' deft hands, the story of race and love in America becomes the great American novel' Jacqueline Woodson, author of Red at the Bo...ne and Another Brooklyn
            Read more

            ISBN 9780008516482
            Released NZ 1 Sep 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Indigenous Women's Voices: 20 Years on from Linda Tuhiwai Smith's Decolonizing Methodologies
              

            Indigenous Women's Voices: 20 Years on from Linda Tuhiwai Smith's Decolonizing Methodologies (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            Edited by Lee, Emma; Evans, Jen; Foreword by Smith, Linda Tuhiwai

            • RRP: $43.99
            • $34.31
            • Save $9.68
            • Pub Date
              24 Mar 22

            Indigenous essays in honour of Linda Tuhiwai Smith celebrate the positive, shifting ground of how Indigenous writers are shaping the post-colonial research world

            ISBN 9781786998422
            Released NZ 24 Mar 2022
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Tikanga Maori: Living by Maori Values
             

            Tikanga Maori: Living by Maori Values (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Revised edition)

            By Mead, Hirini Moko

            Tikanga Maori is the authoritative and accessible introduction to understanding the correct Maori ways of doing things as they were done in the past, as they are done in the present - and as they may yet be.

            ISBN 9781775502227
            Published NZ 30 Nov 2016
            Publisher Huia Publishers
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Reprinting
            View details for this title
            Dark and Shallow Lies
              

            Dark and Shallow Lies (Paperback)

            By Myers Sain, Ginny

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $21.83
            • Save $1.16
            • Internationally sourced

            A bone-chillingly atmospheric thriller for young adults, full of twists and turns with a simmering supernatural undercurrent. Perfect for fans of Holly Jackson, Karen McManus and Della Owens' Where the Crawdads Sing

            ISBN 9780008494780
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Tangata o le Moana: New Zealand and the People of the Pacific
              

            Tangata o le Moana: New Zealand and the People of the Pacific (Paperback)

            By Mallon, Sean; Edited by Mahina-Tuai, Kolokesa; Salesa, Damon Ieremia

            • RRP: $79.99
            • $71.99
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            This illustrated history tells the amazing story of Pacific people and their relationships with, and contributions to, New Zealand society. In a great feat of exploration and migration, Pacific Islanders became the first people to step foot on these shores some 800 years ago. Tod...ay, New Zealand is home to the largest population of Pacific Islanders anywhere in the world, and New Zealand has a long history with the other islands of the Pacific, their people and their cultures. Yet how many New Zealanders consider themselves Pacific Islanders, despite this shared geography and past? How many know the amazing history of New Zealands Pacific people? Tangata o le Moana is the first book to present that history. It tells the stories of Pacific people past and present, in all areas of life on the street, on the sports field, in the recording studio, on the political stage, and beyond. There are highs, and there are lows from the dawn raids of the 1970s to Tana Umaga becoming first Samoan captain of the All Blacks. And alongside tales of legendary figures like Kupe and historical figures like the navigator priest Tupaia, there are previously untold stories, too like the first-person accounts of Pacific people who visited and settled here in the 1800s, at a time when New Zealands leaders dreamed of creating their own empire in the Pacific, or the Pacific Islands soldiers who fought and died for New Zealand in the two world wars. Across fifteen chapters written by leading historians and writers, every aspect of New Zealands relationship with Pacific people is covered from migration to tourism, economics to politics, sport to the arts. Drawing on diverse sources and handsomely illustrated with specially commissioned maps, historical and contemporary photos, archival documents and images of evocative museum objects, Tangata o le Moana presents a very colourful, deeply human record of the story of New Zealand as a Pacific place
            Read more

            ISBN 9781877385728
            Published NZ 20 Apr 2012
            Publisher Te Papa Press
            Interest Age 14+ years
            Availability
            246 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 75.3K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›