Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -
            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 9.89K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Fifty Years a Feminist
              

            Fifty Years a Feminist (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Kedgley, Sue

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $33.99
            • Save $6.00
            • Ready to ship

            A PIONEERING NEW ZEALAND FEMINIST REFLECTS ON FIFTY YEARS OF FEMINISM

            ISBN 9780995135444
            Published NZ 13 May 2021
            Publisher Massey University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            7 Ready to ship - Allow 3-5 days
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Widowland
             

            Widowland (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Carey, C. J.

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • Pub Date
              8 Jun 21

            An alternative history with a strong feminist twist, perfect for fans of Robert Harris' Fatherland, C. J. Sansom's Dominion and the dystopian novels of Margaret Atwood

            ISBN 9781529411997
            Released NZ 8 Jun 2021
            Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Madam

            Madam (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Wynne, Phoebe

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A contemporary gothic debut with a feminist edge, for fans of Naomi Alderman and Madeleine Miller

            ISBN 9781529408737
            Released NZ 11 May 2021
            Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            154 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Disappearance of Lydia Harvey: A GUARDIAN BOOK OF THE WEEK: A true story of sex, crime and the meaning of justice
              

            The Disappearance of Lydia Harvey: A GUARDIAN BOOK OF THE WEEK: A true story of sex, crime and the meaning of justice (Hardback, Main)

            By Laite, Julia

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.19
            • Save $8.80
            • Pub Date
              1 Jun 21

            An immersive historical account of a fascinating and important untold story.

            ISBN 9781788164429
            Released NZ 1 Jun 2021
            Publisher Profile Books Ltd
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Soul of a Woman
             

            The Soul of a Woman (Hardback)

            By Allende, Isabel

            • RRP: $48.50
            • $36.80
            • Save $11.70
            • Internationally sourced

            The wise, warm, defiant new book from literary legend Isabel Allende - a meditation on power, feminism and what it means to be a woman When I say that I was a feminist in kindergarten, I am not exaggerating. As a child, Isabel Allende watched her mother, abandoned by her husband,... provide for her three small children. As a young woman coming of age in the late 1960s, she rode the first wave of feminism. She has seen what has been accomplished by the movement in the course of her lifetime. And over the course of three marriages, she has learned how to grow as a woman while having a partner, when to step away, and the rewards of embracing one's sexuality. So what do women want? To be safe, to be valued, to live in peace, to have their own resources, to be connected, to have control over their bodies and lives, and above all, to be loved. On all these fronts, there is much work to be done, and this book, Allende hopes, will 'light the torch of our daughters and granddaughters with mine. They will have to live for us, as we lived for our mothers, and carry on with the work still left to be finished.'
            Read more

            ISBN 9781526630810
            Released NZ 2 Mar 2021
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Daughters of Sparta: A tale of secrets, betrayal and revenge from mythology's most vilified women
             

            Daughters of Sparta: A tale of secrets, betrayal and revenge from mythology's most vilified women (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Heywood, Claire

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • Pub Date
              29 Jun 21

            The story of the Siege of Troy from the infamous Helen and her sister Klytemnestra's points of view - a tale of secrets, love and tragedy from the women behind mythology's most devastating war.

            ISBN 9781529333671
            Released NZ 29 Jun 2021
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Glossy: The inside story of Vogue

            Glossy: The inside story of Vogue (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Miralles, Nina-Sophia

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • Back Order Indent title

            The Story of the World's Greatest Fashion Bible, Vogue magazine.

            ISBN 9781529415049
            Released NZ 30 Mar 2021
            Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Back Order Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            The Secret to Superhuman Strength
             

            The Secret to Superhuman Strength (Hardback)

            By Bechdel, Alison

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $31.20
            • Save $8.80
            • Pub Date
              2 Jul 21

            From the author of Fun Home, a profound graphic memoir of Bechdel's lifelong love affair with exercise, set against a hilarious chronicle of fitness fads in our times Comics and cultural superstar Alison Bechdel delivers a deeply layered story of her fascination, from childhood t...o adulthood, with every fitness craze to come down the pike: from Jack LaLanne in the 60s ('Outlandish jumpsuit! Cantaloupe-sized guns!') to the existential oddness of present-day spin class. Readers will see their athletic or semi-active pasts flash before their eyes through an ever-evolving panoply of running shoes, bicycles, skis, and sundry other gear. But the more Bechdel tries to improve herself, the more her self appears to be the thing in her way. She turns for enlightenment to Eastern philosophers and literary figures, including Beat writer Jack Kerouac, whose search for self-transcendence in the great outdoors appears in moving conversation with the author's own. This gifted artist and not-getting-any-younger exerciser comes to a soulful conclusion. The secret to superhuman strength lies not in six-pack abs, but in something much less clearly defined: facing her own non-transcendent but all-important interdependence with others. A heartrendingly comic chronicle for our times.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780224101905
            Released NZ 2 Jul 2021
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The First Woman: Shortlisted for the Jhalak Prize, 2021
             

            The First Woman: Shortlisted for the Jhalak Prize, 2021 (Hardback)

            By Makumbi, Jennifer Nansubuga

            • RRP: $54.99
            • $41.70
            • Save $13.29
            • Internationally sourced

            A powerful feminist folktale rooted in Ugandan mythology

            ISBN 9781786077882
            Released NZ 2 Feb 2021
            Publisher Oneworld Publications
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Power of Knitting: Stitching Together Our Lives in a Fractured World

            The Power of Knitting: Stitching Together Our Lives in a Fractured World (Hardback)

            By Napoleoni, Loretta

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $27.75
            • Save $9.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Published in Swedish as Att sticka feor livet by Mondial and in Italian as Sul filodi lana by Mondadori, in 2019 --Copyright page.

            ISBN 9780593087190
            Released NZ 19 Jan 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            56 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 9.89K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›