Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Refugees & Political Asylum

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 1.55K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Boy At the Back of the Class

            The Boy At the Back of the Class (Paperback)

            By Rauf, Onjali Q.; Illustrated by Curnick, Pippa

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.99
            • Save $4.00
            • In Stock At Supplier

            WONDER meets Walliams meets TWO WEEKS WITH THE QUEEN - told through the eyes of an 8-year old child, this is a heart-warming and funny story about the refugee crisis and how simple it actually is to show kindness in a world that doesn't always make sense...

            ISBN 9781510105010
            Released NZ 10 Jul 2018
            Publisher Hachette Children's Books
            Interest Age 9-11 years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            After the Tampa
             

            After the Tampa (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Nazari, Abbas

            • RRP: $36.99
            • $28.85
            • Save $8.14
            • In Stock At Supplier

            The heart-rending story of a seven-year-old 'Tampa' refugee who grew up to become a Fulbright scholar, highlighting the plight and potential of refugees everywhere.

            ISBN 9781988547640
            Published NZ 17 Aug 2021
            Publisher Allen & Unwin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Hard Road Out: One Woman's Escape from North Korea
             

            The Hard Road Out: One Woman's Escape from North Korea (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Park, Jihyun; Chai, Seh-lynn; Translated by Baldwin, Sarah

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Pub Date
              6 Jul 22

            The harrowing story of a woman who escaped famine and terror in North Korea, not once but twice.

            ISBN 9780008541415
            Released NZ 6 Jul 2022
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (English)
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Island of Extraordinary Captives: A True Story of an Artist, a Spy and a Wartime Scandal

            The Island of Extraordinary Captives: A True Story of an Artist, a Spy and a Wartime Scandal (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Parkin, Simon

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • In Stock At Supplier

            A gripping untold war story: using exclusive new archive material, letters and diaries, this is the story of the prisoners of war in internment camps during the Second World War.

            ISBN 9781529347197
            Released NZ 8 Feb 2022
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            467 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Nomad Century: How to Survive the Climate Upheaval
               

            Nomad Century: How to Survive the Climate Upheaval (Hardback)

            By Vince, Gaia

            • RRP: $64.99
            • $51.93
            • Save $13.06
            • Pub Date
              25 Aug 22

            A tremendous upheaval is coming this century: with every degree of temperature increase, roughly a billion people will be pushed outside the zone in which humans have lived for thousands of years. While we can and should do everything we can to mitigate the impact of climate chan...ge, the brutal truth is that huge swathes of the world are becoming uninhabitable. From Bangladesh to Sudan to the southern and western United States, and in cities from Cardiff to New Orleans to Shanghai, the quadruple threat of drought, heat, wildfires and flooding will uproot billions of people. Mass migration will remake the world in the 21st century, either by accident, or design - and as Royal Society Science Prize-winning science journalist Gaia Vince shows us, far better the latter. In this galvanizing and persuasive call to arms, Vince demonstrates how we can manage the coming climate migration. But the vital, counter-intuitive message of this book is that migration is not the problem - it's the solution. Not only will billions of people have no choice but to relocate, but advanced countries are facing demographic crises due to shrinking, ageing populations and the resulting labour shortages. Drawing on a wealth of eye-opening data, Vince describes how migration demonstrably brings tremendous benefits not only to migrants themselves, but to host countries, who benefit economically as well as culturally. A borderless world is not something to fear: in fact a World Bank study suggested that it would triple global GDP. As Vince shows us, we will increasingly be moving north, into the Arctic circle, and to countries like Canada, Greenland and Russia that will only benefit from rising temperatures and increased populations. While the planetary emergency of climate change is finally getting the attention it deserves, the inevitability of mass migration has been largely ignored. In Nomad Century, Vince provides, for the first time, an examination of the most pressing question facing humani
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241522318
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 25 Aug 2022
            View details for this title
            Butterfly: From Refugee to Olympian, My Story of Rescue, Hope and Triumph
             

            Butterfly: From Refugee to Olympian, My Story of Rescue, Hope and Triumph (Paperback)

            By Mardini, Yusra

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.99
            • Save $5.00
            • Pub Date
              12 Jul 22

            The awe-inspiring true story of Yusra Mardini, Syrian refugee and Olympic swimmer

            ISBN 9781509881697
            Released NZ 12 Jul 2022
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            My Fourth Time, We Drowned: Seeking Refuge on the World's Deadliest Migration Route

            My Fourth Time, We Drowned: Seeking Refuge on the World's Deadliest Migration Route (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Hayden, Sally

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $25.73
            • Save $7.26
            • In Stock At Supplier

            Hi sister Sally, we need your help,' the message read. 'We are under bad condition in Libya prison. If you have time, I will tell you all the story.

            ISBN 9780008445584
            Released NZ 1 May 2022
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            567 In stock at supplier; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Stoning: The crime debut of the year THE TIMES
              

            The Stoning: The crime debut of the year THE TIMES (Paperback)

            By Papathanasiou, Peter

            • RRP: $29.50
            • $25.94
            • Save $3.56
            • Pub Date
              7 Jul 22

            A pacy, twisting noir debut - the investigation into the brutal death of a women in a small Outback town

            ISBN 9781529416992
            Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 7 Jul 2022
            View details for this title
            The Naked Don't Fear the Water: A Journey Through the Refugee Underground

            The Naked Don't Fear the Water: A Journey Through the Refugee Underground (Paperback)

            By Aikins, Matthieu

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $27.05
            • Save $5.94
            • In Stock At Supplier

            In this extraordinary book, an acclaimed young war reporter chronicles a dangerous journey on the smuggler's road to Europe, accompanying his friend, an Afghan refugee, in search of a better future.

            ISBN 9781913097851
            Released NZ 17 May 2022
            Publisher Fitzcarraldo Editions
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            9 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            What Strange Paradise
              

            What Strange Paradise (Paperback)

            By Akkad, Omar El

            • RRP: $29.50
            • $23.34
            • Save $6.16
            • Pub Date
              18 Aug 22

            For fans of Exit West and The Underground Railroad and from the widely acclaimed author of American War comes a profoundly moving novel examining the global refugee crisis through a child's lens.

            ISBN 9781529069495
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 18 Aug 2022
            View details for this title
            Total 1.55K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›