Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Technology: General Issues

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 53.3K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Cubed: The Puzzle of Us All
             

            Cubed: The Puzzle of Us All (Hardback)

            By Rubik, Erno

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.19
            • Save $8.80
            • Pub Date
              8 Dec 20

            The first and only book by Erno Rubik, exploring everything his greatest invention - the Rubik's Cube - has taught him about creativity

            ISBN 9781474613118
            Released NZ 8 Dec 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Series The Legacy Trilogy
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            A Human'S Guide to the Future

            A Human'S Guide to the Future (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Nguyen, Dr Dr Jordan

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            An optimistic guide to the creative possibilities of technology by biomedical engineer and inventor Dr Jordan Nguyen, for fans of Yuval Noah Harari and Brian Cox.

            ISBN 9781760780029
            Published NZ 29 Sep 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Online Afterlives
             

            Online Afterlives (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Sisto, Davide; Translated by McClellan-Broussard, Bonnie

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $38.00
            • Save $2.00
            • Pub Date
              17 Nov 20

            Original Italian edition: A2018 Bollati Boringhiere editore, Torino --Title page verso.

            ISBN 9780262539395
            Released NZ 17 Nov 2020
            Publisher MIT Press Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Analogia: The Entangled Destinies of Nature, Human Beings and Machines
             

            Analogia: The Entangled Destinies of Nature, Human Beings and Machines (Hardback)

            By Dyson, George

            • RRP: $55.00
            • $41.25
            • Save $13.75
            • Pub Date
              17 Nov 20

            In Analogia, technology historian George Dyson presents a startling look back at the analog age and life before the digital revolution and an unsettling vision of what comes next.

            ISBN 9781846147449
            Released NZ 17 Nov 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Naturalist: A Graphic Adaptation
             

            Naturalist: A Graphic Adaptation (Hardback)

            By Wilson, Edward O.; Ottaviani, Jim; Illustrated by Butzer, C. M.

            • RRP: $64.99
            • $64.99
            • Pub Date
              15 Nov 20

            E.O. Wilson's bestselling memoir comes to life in a beautifully illustrated graphic adaptation. A vibrant graphic adaptation of the classic science memoir.

            ISBN 9781610919586
            Released NZ 15 Nov 2020
            Publisher Island Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Decoding the World

            Decoding the World (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Bronson, Po; Gupta, Arvind

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Pre Release Local

            In the wondrous tradition of Sagan, Feynman, Kahneman, Dubner and Levitt, Gladwell - a vision of the future that uses cutting-edge biotech to explore the most challenging mysteries of the 21st century.

            ISBN 9781472278609
            Released NZ 13 Oct 2020
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            All That Remains: A Renowned Forensic Scientist on Death, Mortality, and Solving Crimes
              

            All That Remains: A Renowned Forensic Scientist on Death, Mortality, and Solving Crimes (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Black, Sue

            • RRP: $40.99
            • $34.33
            • Save $6.66
            • Pub Date
              3 Nov 20

            Book of the Year, Saltire Literary Awards A CrimeReads Best True Crime Book of the Month For fans of Caitlin Doughty, Mary Roach, Kathy Reichs, and CSI shows, a renowned forensic scientist on death and mortality. Dame Sue Black is an internationally renowned forensic anthropologi...st and human anatomist. She has lived her life eye to eye with the Grim Reaper, and she writes vividly about it in this book, which is part primer on the basics of identifying human remains, part frank memoir of a woman whose first paying job as a schoolgirl was to apprentice in a butcher shop, and part no-nonsense but deeply humane introduction to the reality of death in our lives. It is a treat for CSI junkies, murder mystery and thriller readers, and anyone seeking a clear-eyed guide to a subject that touches us all. Cutting through hype, romanticism, and cliche, she recounts her first dissection; her own first acquaintance with a loved one's death; the mortal remains in her lab and at burial sites as well as scenes of violence, murder, and criminal dismemberment; and about investigating mass fatalities due to war, accident, or natural disaster, such as the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. She uses key cases to reveal how forensic science has developed and what her work has taught her about human nature. Acclaimed by bestselling crime writers and fellow scientists alike, All That Remains is neither sad nor macabre. While Professor Black tells of tragedy, she also infuses her stories with a wicked sense of humor and much common sense.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781950691913
            Released NZ 3 Nov 2020
            Publisher Arcade Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 3 Nov 2020
            View details for this title
            Megatech: Technology in 2050

            Megatech: Technology in 2050 (Paperback, Main)

            Edited by Franklin, Daniel

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $5.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Taking the long view of the big technology trends that will shape our lives and the future of the planet in the decades ahead.

            ISBN 9781781259726
            Released NZ 21 Feb 2018
            Publisher Profile Books Ltd
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Language (English)
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Inventor Lab: Awesome Builds for Smart Makers
             

            Inventor Lab: Awesome Builds for Smart Makers (Hardback)

            By DK; Foreword by Rogers, Dr Lucy

            • RRP: $30.00
            • $22.50
            • Save $7.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            This DK children's book aged 9-15 is brimming with more than 20 exciting, educational activities and projects that focus on electronics and technology. Keep your siblings out of your room with a brilliant bedroom buzzer, power a propellor motorboat, build your own bristlebot, mak...e a matchbox microphone, and construct a crane by following step-by-step instructions and using affordable equipment. Super Tech Lab will engage budding scientists and engineers as they experiment, invent, trial, and test technology, electronics, and mechanics at home. Simple steps with clear photographs take readers through the stages of each low-cost project, with fact-filled panels to explain the science behind each one, and to fascinate them with real-world examples. With an increasing focus across school curricula on encouraging children to enjoy and explore STEM subjects (science, technology, engineering, and maths), Super Tech Lab is the perfect companion for any inquisitive child with an interest in how the worlds of science experiments and technology work, and why.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241343517
            Released NZ 6 Aug 2019
            Publisher Dorling Kindersley Publishers
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Auckland Society of Model Engineers 1926-2012
              

            The Auckland Society of Model Engineers 1926-2012 (Paperback)

            By Lane, Murray

            • RRP: $130.99
            • $130.99
            • Available

            A very detailed history of the Auckland Society of Model Engineers club over the time line of 1926 to 2012

            ISBN 9780473532864
            Published NZ 2 Oct 2020
            Publisher NZ / SP Author Self Published
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available from publisher, allow 2-4 weeks for delivery
            View details for this title
            Total 53.3K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›