Wheelers Books

The Liverpool Nightingales

The Liverpool Nightingales
 

A heart-warming and moving tale of courage and friendship set in Victorian Liverpool, for fans of Call the Midwife, Daisy Styles and Nadine Dorries. 'Deftly written and moving' Woman's Own __________ Liverpool, 1870One act of kindness will change a young woman's life forever . . ... read full description below.

This title can only be ordered as part of Wheelers ePlatform - a library lending platform for schools and public libraries.

Log in with an ePlatform enabled account.

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781405936613
Published 21 February 2019 by Penguin
Available in EPUB format
Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
Language en
Author(s) By Eastham, Kate
Series The Nursing Series
Availability Wheelers ePlatform

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781405936613
ISBN-10
Stock Available
Status Wheelers ePlatform
Publisher Penguin
Imprint Penguin
Publication Date 21 February 2019
Publication Country
Format EPUB ebook
Author(s) By Eastham, Kate
Series The Nursing Series
Category Romantic Fiction
Sagas
Historical Fiction
Nursing
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Not specified
Weight Not specified - defaults to 0g
Interest Age 16+ years
Reading Age 16+ years
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 993707

Description of this Electronic Book

A heart-warming and moving tale of courage and friendship set in Victorian Liverpool, for fans of Call the Midwife, Daisy Styles and Nadine Dorries. 'Deftly written and moving' Woman's Own __________ Liverpool, 1870One act of kindness will change a young woman's life forever . . . On the dirty backstreets of Liverpool, housemaid Maud Linklater witnesses an appalling accident. Rushing young chimney-sweep Alfie to hospital, she helps nurse the boy on the overcrowded ward - and finds herself with a new job. Maud cannot believe her luck at joining trainees Alice and Eddy at the new Nurses' Training School and they form the closest of bonds. Then one day Alfie is abducted. Maud and the girls know the alleyways and slums of Liverpool are no place for a lost little boy. Can these determined women find Alfie before it's too late?'A heartwarming and tear-inducing tale with wonderfully realistic characters' Woman

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Kate Eastham trained as a nurse and midwife on the Nightingale wards of Preston Royal Infirmary. She has well over thirty years of experience working in hospital, residential and hospice care. Born and bred in Lancashire, she is married with three grown-up children and one grandchild. Always reading, she went on to gain a degree in English Literature and was inspired to write after researching the history of nursing and her own family history, with its roots in Liverpool, northern mill towns and rural Lancashire.

^ top