Wheelers Books

The Silver Hand

The Silver Hand
 

This brand new, thrilling adventure from bestselling 'Horrible Histories' author Terry Deary brings the closing days of the First World War to life. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne. It's 1918 and the Great War is entering its final phase. In northern France, y... read full description below.

This title can only be ordered as part of Wheelers ePlatform - a library lending platform for schools and public libraries.

Log in with an ePlatform enabled account.

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781472929495
Barcode 9781472929495
Published 10 May 2018 by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Available in EPUB format
Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
Language en
Author(s) By Deary, Terry
Series Flashbacks
Availability Wheelers ePlatform

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781472929495
ISBN-10 1472929497
Stock Available
Status Wheelers ePlatform
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Imprint Bloomsbury Education
Publication Date 10 May 2018
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format EPUB ebook
Author(s) By Deary, Terry
Series Flashbacks
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
First Readers
Adventure Stories
Historical Fiction
Warfare, Defence & Peace Studies
War Stories
Number of Pages 280
Dimensions Not specified
Weight Not specified - defaults to 0g
Interest Age 9-11 years
Reading Age 9-11 years
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 920822

Description of this Electronic Book

This brand new, thrilling adventure from bestselling 'Horrible Histories' author Terry Deary brings the closing days of the First World War to life. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne. It's 1918 and the Great War is entering its final phase. In northern France, young Aimee has just found out that her mother is part of a spy network working with the British. After reluctantly befriending Marius, a German boy who has been left behind by his countrymen, she must try to help him get back behind German lines while evading a traitor she has helped to discover. This page-turning adventure sheds new light on the First World War and will have readers gripped from start to finish. Book band: Dark Blue

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Horrible Histories author Terry Deary tells the story of the last year of the First World War. Set in France, this fast-paced adventure features a young French girl, a young German boy and a traitor with a silver hand. Packed full of historical detail, it's a real page turner.

^ top

Author's Bio

Terry Deary is the author of over 300 fiction and non-fiction books, which have been published in 32 languages. His historical fiction for older children Tudor Terror has been praised as 'a marvellous blend of fact and fiction' (School Librarian). His non-fiction has been consistently in the best-seller lists since 1994. His Horrible Histories celebrated their 15th anniversary in 2008, having sold over 10 million copies worldwide and been adapted as television series, theatre tours and museum exhibitions. Terry Deary was voted 'Outstanding children's non-fiction author of the 20th Century' by Books for Keeps magazine.

^ top