Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Science

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 247K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            12 Huia Birds / 12 Manu Huia
             

            12 Huia Birds / 12 Manu Huia (Hardback, 2nd Multilingual edition)

            By Stokoe, Julian; Illustrated by Eyles, Stacy; Translated by McIver, Lois

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $20.69
            • Save $2.30
            • In Stock At Publisher

            * New bilingual edition, English and Te Reo Maori * Paperback printing at cheaper price point * Original was one of Listener's 50 Best Books for Kids 2016

            ISBN 9780947506780
            Published NZ 13 Jul 2020
            Publisher Oratia Media
            Interest Age 2-6 years
            Language (Maori)
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Kew Gardens Girls: An emotional and sweeping historical novel perfect for fans of Kate Morton
             

            The Kew Gardens Girls: An emotional and sweeping historical novel perfect for fans of Kate Morton (Hardback, Unabridged edition)

            By Lovell, Posy; Read by Aldington, Annie

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $38.99
            • Save $11.00
            • Pub Date
              11 Aug 20

            A wartime saga that highlights the role of women at Kew Gardens, licensed publishing with heritage brand Kew Gardens

            ISBN 9781409193272
            Released NZ 11 Aug 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Science of Goo!: From Saliva and Slime to Frogspawn and Fungus
             

            The Science of Goo!: From Saliva and Slime to Frogspawn and Fungus (Hardback)

            By DK

            • RRP: $17.99
            • $13.49
            • Save $4.50
            • Pub Date
              1 Sep 20

            Get to grips with the glorious world of goop and gunk, from vomit, pus, and snot, to super glue, snail slime, and sticky plants, in this compendium of gunk. If you've ever wondered how much snot you make, how strong a spider's web can be, or why hippos go pink, this is the book f...or you. Blending laugh-out-loud fun with strange but true science, this book explores all manner of gunge, sludge, ooze, and goo! The next book in DK's best selling It Can't Be True! series, It Can't Be True! Goo! is here to give you a new appreciation of the weird and wonderful world of gooey matter, in all its many kinds and wherever it shows up. Fun CGI illustrations and stunning photography will bring goo to life alongside fun trivia and scientific explanations to make you an expert in all things sludgy. Did you know that super glue was first used to treat wounds in WW1? Or that sea cucumbers can vomit their sticky stomach and intestines when threatened, yet still survive? Let It Can't Be True! Goo! be your one-stop shop for everything gooey.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241432303
            Released NZ 1 Sep 2020
            Publisher Dorling Kindersley Publishers
            Interest Age 9-11 years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Nine Pints: A Journey Through the Mysterious, Miraculous World of Blood

            Nine Pints: A Journey Through the Mysterious, Miraculous World of Blood (Paperback)

            By George, Rose

            • RRP: $27.99
            • $21.83
            • Save $6.16
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Most humans contain between nine and twelve pints of blood. Here Rose George, who probably contains nine pints, tells nine different stories about the liquid that sustains us, discovering what it reveals about who we are. In Nepal, she meets girls challenging the taboos surroundi...ng menstruation; in the Canadian prairies, she visits a controversial plasma clinic; in Wales she gets a tour of the UK's only leech farm to learn about the vital role the creatures still play in modern surgery; and in a London hospital she accompanies a medical team revolutionising the way we treat trauma. Nine Pints reveals the richness and wonder of the potent red fluid that courses around our bodies, unseen but miraculous.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781846276149
            Released NZ 4 Sep 2019
            Publisher Granta Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Mammoth Science: The Big Ideas That Explain Our World

            Mammoth Science: The Big Ideas That Explain Our World (Hardback)

            Illustrated by Macaulay, David; By DK

            • RRP: $30.00
            • $22.50
            • Save $7.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            David Macaulay's troupe of curious mammoths lead you through the basics of physics, biology, and chemistry in this unconventional and highly original guide to science. From the interior of an atom to the solar system and beyond, the mammoths seek to understand the science! These ...intrepid science demonstrators will go to incredible lengths to educate and entertain. They wrestle with magnets to understand their powerful force, make mammoth models of different materials explore what gives them mass, and step into a X-ray machine to reveal the bones beneath their woolly exterior. Observing and recording the mammoth's behaviour is bestselling illustrator David Macaulay, whose How Machines Work won the Royal Society Young People's Book Prize in 2016. Renowned for his ability to explain complex ideas with simple genius, Macaulay captures the oddball humour of his subject matter, making Macaulay's Mammoth Science the perfect introduction to scientific principles for the young and the young-at-heart.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241381045
            Released NZ 4 Aug 2020
            Publisher Dorling Kindersley Publishers
            Interest Age 9-11 years
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Hex

            Hex (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Dinerstein Knight, Rebecca

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $25.73
            • Save $7.26
            • In Stock At Publisher

            `Wise, funny, suspenseful' JONATHAN SAFRAN FOER 'Reads like a botanist's cross-breeding of The Secret History and Department of Speculation' EMMA STRAUB 'Hex is some dark and joyous witchery' LAUREN GROFF Nell Barber, an expelled PhD candidate in Biological Science, is exploring ...the fine line between poison and antidote, working alone to set a speed record for the detoxification of poisonous plants. Her mentor, Dr. Joan Kallas, is the hero of Nell's heart. Nell frequently finds herself standing in the doorway to Joan's office despite herself, mesmerized by Joan's elegance, success, and spiritual force. Surrounded by Nell's ex, her best friend, her best friend's boyfriend, and Joan's buffoonish husband, the two scientists are tangled together at the center of a web of illicit relationships, grudges, and obsessions. All six are burdened by desire and ambition, and as they collide on the university campus, their attractions set in motion a domino effect of affairs and heartbreak. Meanwhile, Nell slowly fills her empty apartment with poisonous plants to study, and she begins to keep a series of notebooks, all dedicated to Joan. She logs her research and how she spends her days, but the notebooks ultimately become a painstaking map of love. In a dazzling and unforgettable voice, Rebecca Dinerstein Knight has written a spellbinding novel of emotional and intellectual intensity.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781526611413
            Released NZ 2 Jul 2020
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Shouting Zeros and Ones: Digital technology, ethics and policy in New Zealand: 2020
              

            Shouting Zeros and Ones: Digital technology, ethics and policy in New Zealand: 2020 (Paperback)

            Edited by Chen, Andrew

            • RRP: $14.99
            • $11.99
            • Save $3.00
            • Pub Date
              10 Aug 20

            New Zealand authors delve into the hidden impacts of technology on society and on individuals: deepfakes and democracy, indigenous data sovereignty, digital inclusion, the environmental impacts of globalised data and the drive to combat online fascism.

            ISBN 9781988587387
            Published NZ 10 Aug 2020
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series BWB Texts
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Who Ate the First Oyster?: The Extraordinary People Behind the Greatest Firsts in History

            Who Ate the First Oyster?: The Extraordinary People Behind the Greatest Firsts in History (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Cassidy, Cody

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The Extraordinary People Behind the Greatest Firsts in History

            ISBN 9781472277237
            Released NZ 7 Jul 2020
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            COVID-19: The Pandemic that Never Should Have Happened, and How to Stop the Next One
             

            COVID-19: The Pandemic that Never Should Have Happened, and How to Stop the Next One (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By MacKenzie, Debora

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Pub Date
              11 Aug 20

            An accessible, authoritative book about the coronavirus pandemic by a leading journalist on the subject

            ISBN 9780349128368
            Released NZ 11 Aug 2020
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Invincible: How we can train our hearts to beat stress and achieve success
             

            Invincible: How we can train our hearts to beat stress and achieve success (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Lagos, Dr Leah

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Pub Date
              11 Aug 20

            A scientifically proven program to alter the body's physical response to stress - working specifically with heart rate - from a preeminent expert in peak performance training.

            ISBN 9781409184386
            Released NZ 11 Aug 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 247K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›