Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Social Sciences

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 1.19M jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Protest!: Shaping Aotearoa
              

            Protest!: Shaping Aotearoa (Paperback)

            By Hager, Mandy

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $32.00
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A selected history of the protests in New Zealand that shape modern day Aotearoa, starting with the early 1800s, through to anti-nuclear and land rights. Mandy Hager looks at the background, the structure of the protest and how it affected attitudes. Includes a brief look at the ...Pacific Islands claims for independence.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780995117693
            Published NZ 12 Aug 2021
            Publisher OneTree House Ltd
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Atua: Maori Gods and Heroes
             

            Atua: Maori Gods and Heroes (Hardback)

            By Bishop, Gavin

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $30.00
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Gavin Bishop's stunning, once-in-a-generation compendium introduces readers to the pantheon of Maori gods, demigods and heroes, and explores Aotearoa's most exciting legends from the Creation to the Migration. Meet the gods, demigods and heroes of the Maori people of Aotearoa in ...this breathtaking, large-scale illustrated book for children. Before the beginning there was nothing. No sound, no air, no colour - nothing. TE KORE, NOTHING. No one knows how long this nothing lasted because there was no time. However, in this great nothing there was a sense of waiting. Something was about to happen. Meet the gods, demigods and heroes of the Maori world, and explore Aotearoa's exciting legends from the Creation to the Migration. Fascinating, beautiful and informative, this once-in-a-generation compendium deserves a place on every bookshelf.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143775690
            Published NZ 31 Aug 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 5-12 years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Tikanga
             

            Tikanga (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Tipene, Francis; Tipene, Kaiora

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The stars of The Casketeers on how to live a fulfilling life, rich with tikanga. Following on from the bestseller Life as a Casketeer, Francis and Kaiora Tipene share how they bring the traditional values of tikanga Maori into day-to-day living. Known for their warm hearts, grace... and humour, the stars of the wildly popular Netflix series The Casketeers share more of their life experiences juggling five sons, three businesses, a television show and a life filled with joy, spirituality and happiness.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775541752
            Published NZ 2 Jun 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            614 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            After the Tampa
             

            After the Tampa (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Nazari, Abbas

            • RRP: $36.99
            • $27.74
            • Save $9.25
            • Temporarily out of stock

            The heart-rending story of a seven-year-old 'Tampa' refugee who grew up to become a Fulbright scholar, highlighting the plight and potential of refugees everywhere.

            ISBN 9781988547640
            Published NZ 17 Aug 2021
            Publisher Allen & Unwin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            Labour Saving: A Memoir
             

            Labour Saving: A Memoir (Hardback)

            By Cullen, Michael

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $37.49
            • Save $12.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A fascinating and in-depth insight into the extraordinary career of one of our most important politicians, who was instrumental in shaping the development of Aotearoa New Zealand.

            ISBN 9781988547855
            Published NZ 1 Jun 2021
            Publisher Allen & Unwin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Tikanga: An Introduction to Te Ao Maori
               

            Tikanga: An Introduction to Te Ao Maori (Paperback)

            By Opai, Keri

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $35.99
            • Save $4.00
            • Pub Date
              11 Nov 21

            A unique explanation of the Maori world for Pakeha, and for Maori people wishing to learn more about tikanga. With simple lucidity and great expertise, Keri Opai shares the spirit and meaning of what it is to be Maori in the 21st century, dispelling myths and misconceptions and p...roviding a solid introduction to the Maori way of life.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781990003172
            Published NZ 11 Nov 2021
            Publisher Upstart Press Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            1 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Jacinda Ardern: Leading With Empathy
             

            Jacinda Ardern: Leading With Empathy (Hardback)

            By Vani, Supriya; Harte, Carl A.

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A comprehensively researched biography, covering at the feminist narrative and many influences that have made Jacinda Ardern the globally admired leader she is.

            ISBN 9781743797211
            Published NZ 2 Jun 2021
            Publisher Hardie Grant Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Mana Whakatipu: Ngai Tahu leader Mark Solomon on leadership and life
             

            Mana Whakatipu: Ngai Tahu leader Mark Solomon on leadership and life (Hardback)

            By Solomon, Mark; With Revington, Mark

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $29.75
            • Save $5.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In 1998, just as South Island iwi Ngai Tahu was about to sign its Treaty of Waitangi settlement with the government - justice of sorts after seven generations of seeking redress - a former foundryman stepped into the pivotal role of kaiwhakahaere or chair of Te Runanga o Ngai T...ahu - the tribal council of Ngai Tahu. Mark Solomon stood at the head of his iwi at a critical moment and can be credited with the astute stewardship of the settlement that has today made Ngai Tahu a major player in the economy and given it long sought-after self determination. Bold, energetic and visionary, for 18 years Solomon forged a courageous and determined course. Now, in this direct memoir, Ta Mark reflects on his life, on the people who influenced him, on what it means to lead, and the future for both Ngai Tahu and Aotearoa New Zealand.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780995135437
            Published NZ 12 Aug 2021
            Publisher Massey University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            He Atua, He Tangata: The World of Maori Mythology
              

            He Atua, He Tangata: The World of Maori Mythology (Hardback, 3rd Enhanced edition)

            By Reed, A. W.; Edited by Calman, Ross

            • RRP: $59.99
            • $53.99
            • Save $6.00
            • Pub Date
              6 Oct 21

            Esteemed editor Ross Calman (Ngati Raukawa, Ngati Toa, Kai Tahu) further revises the Reed Book of Maori Mythology to blend story, source and commentary into a captivating collection. Published in a distinguished hardback, this work will provide a valuable source of reading and re...ference for years to come.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780947506889
            Published NZ 6 Oct 2021
            Publisher Oratia Media
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize

            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Harris, Nathan

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A powerful novel of life after slavery in the vein of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

            ISBN 9781472274380
            Released NZ 13 Jul 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            56 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 1.19M jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›